The Melting Pot Reviews | Glassdoor

The Melting Pot Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 356 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very long hours for a restaurant, particularly around the holidays(in 18 reviews)

  • "Side work takes an extra hour compared to other restaurants (cheap labor)(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dishwasher in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The boss was awesome friendly staff good pay

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to work until 1 in the morning but still not complaining

    Advice to Management

    New dishwasher and new floors for the kitchen

    The Melting Pot2019-06-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Management review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management staff team to work with and for.

    Cons

    Owners are invested in other organizations and management lacks guidance sometimes.

    The Melting Pot2019-07-07
  3. "Disappointed and surprised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospitality Specialist in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Most coworkers are cool -Free salad every shift -50% off merch -50% off meal for two per month -Good work experience -.75% tip share

    Cons

    -"On the job training" aka we don't want to/don't know how to take the time to train you properly -Two relaxed managers and two uptight ones makes for an unbalanced work environment -Hosts don't get enough hours and sometimes we get let off early due to overscheduling (I've worked 2 hour shifts) -No tip share for lunch, left up to servers to share their tips and some don't

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with each other and with your employees! Listen to what employees are saying. Train us properly so that mistakes don't happen all the time.

    The Melting Pot2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Needs better management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Server in Bellevue, WA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great job, as a server you have relatively few (4 ish) tables at a time and you can really get to know your tables and get great tips.

      Cons

      Management (june 2019) pretty poor. Franchiser is not helpful and has previously been known to under-pay.

      Advice to Management

      See cons

      The Melting Pot2019-06-28
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Expo 

        I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time

        Pros

        Flexible hours for students that have classes

        Cons

        Hours may vary depending on time of year and day

        The Melting Pot2019-05-28
      • "great company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Baton Rouge, LA
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        flexible schedule, great management, clear vision, mission, and principles.

        Cons

        compensation based on tips, no always stable income.

        The Melting Pot2019-05-24
      • "It’s what you make out of it"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Server/Waiter in La Jolla, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        You really learn how important teamwork is. I have also really improved my public speaking since I’d be stuck with a table for about 2 hours each.

        Cons

        Since there is 4 courses, one tables feels like 4. If you don’t have a great staff on, then you’re literally screwed. Also, if a table doesn’t tip, then you still have to tip out the kitchen, bussers, and hosts. Tip outs should be based on how much tips you get versus total sales.

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your staff & promote team work more. We feel unheard and unappreciated.

        The Melting Pot2019-06-02
      • "Unfairness"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Server 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good money if you work the weekends,

        Cons

        Long story short. Depends on which location you’re at, but the one I’m in definitely shows favoritism when it comes to sections, hosts give good tables to their favorite servers, for example, I was given a big party and because of jealousy, my name was crossed off the list in rotation during the shift and my manager came up to me, luckily, and asked if I crossed my own name out so I can go home early. That was completely...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Give EVERY server a chance to prove themselves with bigger parties, not just the ones who have been there a long time, keep an eye out for skipping in rotation, be fair with the cover count so servers aren’t overwhelmed with too many tables or underwhelmed with too little tables. Make sure everyone is doing their part in being on time and helping out.

        The Melting Pot2019-05-11
      • "One of my favorite jobs"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Server/Waiter in West Baton Rouge, LA

          I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Good work atmosphere, good management

          Cons

          Lots of prep, long hours

          The Melting Pot2019-04-23
        • "Good to get by for some cash"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          It’s a job if you just need some money

          Cons

          No benefits at all for restaurant employees

          Advice to Management

          Figure out a way to pay employees better at restaurants since there are no benefits and you charge way too much for food

          The Melting Pot2019-05-05
        Found 356 reviews