The Melting Pot Reviews | Glassdoor

The Melting Pot Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 368 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
84 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very long hours for a restaurant, particularly around the holidays(in 18 reviews)

  • "Side work takes an extra hour compared to other restaurants (cheap labor)(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent dining experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dining Room Manager in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Making connections with patrons to create repeat guests.Strong values. Ability to move up in the company.

    Cons

    Trying to fill quota for guest satisfaction survey.

    Advice to Management

    More time to train the inexperienced servers.

    The Melting Pot2019-09-13
  2. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Framingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    employees worked as a team, managers went above and beyond, and I made good money as well

    Cons

    your clothes may smell like fondue when you leave work

    The Melting Pot2019-09-04
  3. "Also of work, pay depends on your area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Rochester, NY

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    gives you a great foundation to become a really good server because you become accustomed to juggling multiple things at once

    Cons

    clientele can be bad which reflects in the tip if the area isn't great

    The Melting Pot2019-09-16
  4. "PREP/LINE COOK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best job I've ever had

    Cons

    That the Scottsdale location has to close

    The Melting Pot2019-08-23
  5. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy going yet well organized environment.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything bad!

    The Melting Pot2019-08-19
  6. "Incredible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, great pay rate, fantastic atmosphere

    Cons

    I don't quite get the hours I would like to have

    Advice to Management

    Some of the best management I've ever had the pleasure of working for(both back and front of house ).

    The Melting Pot2019-08-16
  7. "Great place for a corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LIne 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Felt much more like a person here. Good community. Pay was not minimum wage (But it is for service, since they get tips.)

    Cons

    Working into the AM's sometimes. The place accepts reservations 5 minutes to close

    Advice to Management

    Try not to schedule people's reservations so close to closing hours.

    The Melting Pot2019-08-01
  8. "Good ppa's therefore good compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Irvine, CA

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    open 5 to 10 therefore a more consistent schedule

    Cons

    A lot of work. Be ready to work non stop for the whole shift

    The Melting Pot2019-08-12
  9. "Part Time Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time

    Pros

    - You provide an awesome experience to guests. - You don't get bored serving because it's very interactive. - Gratitude is high.

    Cons

    - Fast-paced. - Extensive training - Lack of guidelines.

    The Melting Pot2019-08-03
  10. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Knoxville, TN
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I liked that we had the option to go home at the beginning of shifts depending on how many covers there were and management was very relaxed and understanding.

    Cons

    Some days they took on too many covers with too little supplies, management was sketchy thought it’s better now, long hours, favoritism, if one person slacked the whole team suffered.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t pick favorites and keep up the good work.

    The Melting Pot2019-07-29
Found 368 reviews