The Melting Pot Server/Bartender Reviews | Glassdoor

The Melting Pot Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 363 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
80 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dishwasher in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The boss was awesome friendly staff good pay

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to work until 1 in the morning but still not complaining

    Advice to Management

    New dishwasher and new floors for the kitchen

    The Melting Pot2019-06-21
  2. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy going yet well organized environment.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything bad!

    The Melting Pot2019-08-19
  3. "Incredible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, great pay rate, fantastic atmosphere

    Cons

    I don't quite get the hours I would like to have

    Advice to Management

    Some of the best management I've ever had the pleasure of working for(both back and front of house ).

    The Melting Pot2019-08-16
  4. "Great place for a corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LIne 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Felt much more like a person here. Good community. Pay was not minimum wage (But it is for service, since they get tips.)

    Cons

    Working into the AM's sometimes. The place accepts reservations 5 minutes to close

    Advice to Management

    Try not to schedule people's reservations so close to closing hours.

    The Melting Pot2019-08-01
  5. "Good ppa's therefore good compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Irvine, CA

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    open 5 to 10 therefore a more consistent schedule

    Cons

    A lot of work. Be ready to work non stop for the whole shift

    The Melting Pot2019-08-12
  6. "Part Time Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time

    Pros

    - You provide an awesome experience to guests. - You don't get bored serving because it's very interactive. - Gratitude is high.

    Cons

    - Fast-paced. - Extensive training - Lack of guidelines.

    The Melting Pot2019-08-03
  7. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Knoxville, TN
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I liked that we had the option to go home at the beginning of shifts depending on how many covers there were and management was very relaxed and understanding.

    Cons

    Some days they took on too many covers with too little supplies, management was sketchy thought it’s better now, long hours, favoritism, if one person slacked the whole team suffered.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t pick favorites and keep up the good work.

    The Melting Pot2019-07-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Management review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management staff team to work with and for.

    Cons

    Owners are invested in other organizations and management lacks guidance sometimes.

    The Melting Pot2019-07-07
  9. "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Heart of House in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At least 40 hours a week

    Cons

    Get cussed out by serve staff on a regular basis over things you have no control over. Lack of caring management and things are only done correctly when the QC guy comes around. If he made a surprise visit he'd be shocked.

    Advice to Management

    You wouldn't have to continually advertise for staff if you would treat the ones you have like actual human beings.

    The Melting Pot2019-08-14
  10. "Disappointed and surprised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospitality Specialist in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Most coworkers are cool -Free salad every shift -50% off merch -50% off meal for two per month -Good work experience -.75% tip share

    Cons

    -"On the job training" aka we don't want to/don't know how to take the time to train you properly -Two relaxed managers and two uptight ones makes for an unbalanced work environment -Hosts don't get enough hours and sometimes we get let off early due to overscheduling (I've worked 2 hour shifts) -No tip share for lunch, left up to servers to share their tips and some don't

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with each other and with your employees! Listen to what employees are saying. Train us properly so that mistakes don't happen all the time.

    The Melting Pot2019-07-16
Found 363 reviews