The Melting Pot Reviews | Glassdoor

The Melting Pot Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
85 Ratings
  1. "Gets the job done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great management Great pay for the industry Flexible schedule Can work part-time or full-time Interactions with customers are better than other restaurants (unique serving style)

    Cons

    Gets very slow in the summer The bar has not been set too high for the staff there

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, but maybe be more picky with hiring

    The Melting Pot2019-09-29
  2. "Just depends on location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time

    Pros

    very clean and its not hard work

    Cons

    manager said you had to earn the right to have a schedule

    The Melting Pot2019-09-25
  3. "Also of work, pay depends on your area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Rochester, NY

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    gives you a great foundation to become a really good server because you become accustomed to juggling multiple things at once

    Cons

    clientele can be bad which reflects in the tip if the area isn't great

    The Melting Pot2019-09-16
  4. "Excellent dining experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dining Room Manager in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Making connections with patrons to create repeat guests.Strong values. Ability to move up in the company.

    Cons

    Trying to fill quota for guest satisfaction survey.

    Advice to Management

    More time to train the inexperienced servers.

    The Melting Pot2019-09-13
  5. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Framingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    employees worked as a team, managers went above and beyond, and I made good money as well

    Cons

    your clothes may smell like fondue when you leave work

    The Melting Pot2019-09-04
  6. "I've worked at all kitchen duties for this restaurant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The greatest work experience, always keeping me busy through 6 to 8 hour shifts. I work along with coworkers to make a great dinning experience every night. I gained abilities to perform tasks that I learned in training.

    Cons

    I found I didn't have the weekly hours i would have liked (40-50). It would have been nice to pick my tasks. I instead was placed in positions on a weekly basis.

    Advice to Management

    The managment i felt was vary well done. i could not criticize their thorough and well made work procedures. I thank them for their admirable work.

    The Melting Pot2019-08-26
  7. "PREP/LINE COOK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best job I've ever had

    Cons

    That the Scottsdale location has to close

    The Melting Pot2019-08-23
  8. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy going yet well organized environment.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything bad!

    The Melting Pot2019-08-19
  9. "Incredible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, great pay rate, fantastic atmosphere

    Cons

    I don't quite get the hours I would like to have

    Advice to Management

    Some of the best management I've ever had the pleasure of working for(both back and front of house ).

    The Melting Pot2019-08-16
  10. "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Heart of House in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At least 40 hours a week

    Cons

    Get cussed out by serve staff on a regular basis over things you have no control over. Lack of caring management and things are only done correctly when the QC guy comes around. If he made a surprise visit he'd be shocked.

    Advice to Management

    You wouldn't have to continually advertise for staff if you would treat the ones you have like actual human beings.

    The Melting Pot2019-08-14
Found 370 reviews