The Melting Pot Reviews | Glassdoor

The Melting Pot Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 362 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
80 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Proceed with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Upscale environment, occasionally good compensation (tips). Co-workers were a blast.

    Cons

    Very long hours for a restaurant, particularly around the holidays. Toxic management at times. Tips earned are heavily dependent on managers' opinion of you-regardless of how strong a server you are. You could work a ten-hour shift and have three two-tops for the night (they will rarely cut servers off the floor in the event of a "possible" rush later in the evening, which rarely happens due to the nature of the dining...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My input was ignored for years...why waste my breath now?

    The Melting Pot2019-01-23
  2. "Good money, flexible hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a solid part-time job for me when I was in school. You can make good money without having to work many hours.

    Cons

    I didn't like working late at night. No benefits other than hourly wage and tip out. Only allowed 1 salad to eat per shift.

    Advice to Management

    Some managers were great. Others thought too highly of themselves. I would advise management to look for more opportunities to help out servers even when they don't ask. This would create higher job satisfaction and better customer service coming from servers.

    The Melting Pot2019-01-03
  3. "OK job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You learn a lot from there and it makes you a stronger server for when you get a job somewhere else.

    Cons

    they are always changing things around confusing all of the staff

    The Melting Pot2019-01-17
  4. "Online training for hospitality smh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Food during training and learning recipes

    Cons

    All of your training is online. That training format doesn’t work for the food and beverage industry.

    Advice to Management

    Please re-evaluate your training program

    The Melting Pot2019-02-02
  5. "Trash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good clientele Decent money made

    Cons

    Managers are trash Power hungry

    Advice to Management

    Be less trash

    The Melting Pot2019-02-01
  6. "Why did I stay so long?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% Discount on food One of the best group of coworkers ive ever experienced

    Cons

    Management, work/life balance , terrible pay for workload, no respect.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that even though you run a business, your employees aren’t robots. Pay your employees better. The owner is a fantastic manager.

    The Melting Pot2019-01-10
  7. "Worst restaurant-the place is unsanitary and the managers are rude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros. The money is not worth it.

    Cons

    -The owners are extremely rude and nasty people. They walk around yelling and slamming stuff whenever they are upset -They servers use unsanitary practices. Putting glass cups in the ice machine to scoop ice. They grab the bread and all the sides for the fondue with their hands. They are supposed to use a scoop but they don’t. -the owners make you clean the kitchen to prepare for the health inspectors visit. For whatever...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better. All of them!

    The Melting Pot2019-01-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time

    Pros

    flexible hours, friendly staff, great management

    Cons

    potential late nights, no set out time

    The Melting Pot2018-12-16
  9. "Great place to work for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts on food, decent pay, hours are short and work is easy.

    Cons

    Not really any cons outside of I wish I was in a job that was using my degree.

    The Melting Pot2018-12-15
  10. "Kitchen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time

    Pros

    Great staff, good hours, laid back atmosphere

    Cons

    Underpaid, understaffed, constantly busy with multiple activities, high stress

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the BOH and pay your staff more than minimum wage when you can afford to take a vacation to Canada every weekend

    The Melting Pot2019-01-11
Found 362 reviews