The Melting Pot Reviews | Glassdoor

The Melting Pot Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 366 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
81 Ratings
  1. "Kitchen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time

    Pros

    Great staff, good hours, laid back atmosphere

    Cons

    Underpaid, understaffed, constantly busy with multiple activities, high stress

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the BOH and pay your staff more than minimum wage when you can afford to take a vacation to Canada every weekend

    The Melting Pot2019-01-11
  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Melting Pot

    Pros

    Make good money and great management

    Cons

    Brings in low class customers

    The Melting Pot2018-11-29
  3. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time

    Pros

    Hours and tips are decent

    Cons

    People and staff can be a challenge

    The Melting Pot2018-12-12
  4. "Melting Pot Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, management and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Long hours, especially on weekends

    The Melting Pot2018-11-29
  5. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, good environment, nice clientele

    Cons

    Server does a lot for the tables so it can get overwhelming at times when busy.

    The Melting Pot2018-11-15
  6. "Dishonest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None at all not worth it

    Cons

    70 hour work weeks, no benefits, micro managed, very poor ownership

    Advice to Management

    Sell

    The Melting Pot2018-12-13
  7. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Once you learn the menu, the food is great, and you get to get paid to learn how to make chocolate/cheese fondue. Great position to have while in college due to the hours and the pay.

    Cons

    Management could be a little more compassionate towards employees, perhaps increasing workplace morale.

    The Melting Pot2018-10-16
  8. "The Melting Pot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time

    Pros

    Have the possibility to make great tips. 4 course meals are about 50$/person

    Cons

    Working, weekends and holidays, tip share

    The Melting Pot2018-10-10
  9. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot full-time

    Pros

    It was great, I loved it so mucj

    Cons

    Kinda slow but it was okay too

    The Melting Pot2018-09-29
  10. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting to open with a new team and an awesome assistant manager

    Cons

    Horrible pay, forgot to pay staff multiple times, brought on a payroll manager who was so condescending and rude that every staff memeber has complained about her. You’re given different answers from management and the owner. Our schedules were never respected. When people would ask if they could change to be a server etc. she would be rude and say no. She admitted that she is not hiring male hostess because she wanted...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, the owner refuses to see that the problem is himself, his new payroll manager and the unprofessionalism in the establishment, not the servers or hostesses

    The Melting Pot2018-11-04
Found 366 reviews