The Melting Pot Server Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Server Assistant

The Melting Pot Server Assistant Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
2 Ratings
  1. "Host and Sever's Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server's Assistant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Melting Pot for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great staff and great management - flexible - cold kitchen (cooking is done at the table) - great tips!!

    Cons

    none! Do your job and do it right and it will be rewarding.

    The Melting Pot2017-01-20
  2. "Same old"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server Assistant in Fredericksburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot for less than a year

    Pros

    Tips can be very nice.

    Cons

    management is tough and mean.

    Advice to Management

    relax

    The Melting Pot2018-06-04
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot

    Pros

    The company was family owned and operated. Learn to develop good personal skills while mixing cheeses at people's tables. You can make your work schedule flexible from week to week.

    Cons

    Depending on the type of event, the hours can be long (restaurant industry in general). I can not think of many cons. The employees were great and so was the management.

    The Melting Pot2016-02-28
  4. "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server Assistant in Littleton, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Short quick hours with good tips for someone still in high school.

    Cons

    Long hours on feet sometimes with no real breaks

    The Melting Pot2015-08-25
  5. "My Time at The Melting Pot, Overall good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server's Assistant in Beachwood, OH

    I worked at The Melting Pot for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Staff, people to work with.You can make really good money in tips, even as a Server's Assistant.

    Cons

    Very dim lighting, making it hard to see. Also due to the culture of the restaurant it can get extremely hot at times because every table has a hot plate and the majority of the food is cooked right at the table. Also a significant amount you have to learn in order to handle all your responsibilities there.

    The Melting Pot2015-08-24
  6. "Just another job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server Assistant/Server in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good food and atmosphere Everything else really comes down to what melting pot you're working at. I worked at the one in Albany and one in Poughkeepsie. Albany was fast paced and busy, decent money, exceptional management who are committed to the restaurant, a really good example of how restaurants should be run. The Poughkeepsie Mleting Pot was a joke. Useless manager, slow pace; I was sent home a number of times shortly...

    Show More

    Cons

    None really, pretty easy job, quality food in a quality establishment. All the rest is subject to location. Server Assistants can become servers after a period of roughly 5 months, kind of a long time although I do believe it to be a good experience. Taking pots of hot oil back to the kitchen is can be scary / dangerous.

    Advice to Management

    Dont hire pot smoking man-children to run your establishments like you did in Poughkeepsie.

    The Melting Pot2014-08-01
  7. "You have to work fast and hard at times but the pay is good for a part time job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server Assistant in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, Dont have to be 18, Fun work environment

    Cons

    Servers demanding of you, Late nights

    Advice to Management

    Be sypathetic of a mistake once in a while

    The Melting Pot2013-02-21
  8. "great job if you're not a Server's Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot

    Pros

    -decent pay - good if you're looking for a fast-paced environment

    Cons

    -have to keep track of your hours or you'll get underpaid -Server's are rude to you -You only get 1 salad break but if someone asks you to do something, your break is over.

    The Melting Pot2016-08-01
  9. "My experience at the melting pot was decent until my boss started trying to own me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server Assistant in
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot

    Pros

    Part time allowed for me to usually attend school when I needed to. Great pay especially for a bus boy

    Cons

    Not alot of down time. Also and it requires alot of hard work due and cleaning and clearing tables which tend to be covered in cheese and chocolate

    Advice to Management

    Treat the staff appropriately just because you arnt pur say at the table with a customer doesn't mean you can act poorly when handling your employees they are your number one asset

    The Melting Pot2011-09-30
Found 9 reviews