The Melting Pot "good money" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Melting Pot Employee Reviews about "good money"

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 366 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
81 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very long hours for a restaurant, particularly around the holidays(in 18 reviews)

  • "Side work takes an extra hour compared to other restaurants (cheap labor)(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good money"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Unfairness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money if you work the weekends,

    Cons

    Long story short. Depends on which location you’re at, but the one I’m in definitely shows favoritism when it comes to sections, hosts give good tables to their favorite servers, for example, I was given a big party and because of jealousy, my name was crossed off the list in rotation during the shift and my manager came up to me, luckily, and asked if I crossed my own name out so I can go home early. That was completely uncalled for. That’s the same as stealing since there were tables I missed out on. The hostess told me who the server was that did it and she allowed it to happen. I told the manager at the time and he didn’t do much to discipline the server. I just lost respect for management in that sense. At this time, I feel managers are too passive aggressive. Professionalism and fairness is lacking. Hosts and bartenders should also be disciplined based on their share of work and tardiness. I have seen too many times where they aren’t pulling their weight and servers have to do extra while we tip them out. Ridiculous. When it comes to promotions and deals, there’s too many.

    Continue reading
    The Melting Pot2019-05-11
  2. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, but good money

    Cons

    Very physically challenging serving job

    Continue reading
    The Melting Pot2019-01-10
  3. "Good money, flexible hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a solid part-time job for me when I was in school. You can make good money without having to work many hours.

    Cons

    I didn't like working late at night. No benefits other than hourly wage and tip out. Only allowed 1 salad to eat per shift.

    Continue reading
    The Melting Pot2019-01-03
  4. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Melting Pot

    Pros

    Make good money and great management

    Cons

    Brings in low class customers

    Continue reading
    The Melting Pot2018-11-29
  5. "Awful owners."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server in Brookfield, WI
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money, higher bills, and more interaction with guests.

    Cons

    Bad atmosphere, extremely stressful, and managers are unprofessional.

    Continue reading
    The Melting Pot2017-11-01
  6. "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time

    Pros

    Good hours and good money

    Cons

    A lot of work compared to other restaruants

    Continue reading
    The Melting Pot2017-08-29
  7. "Great company bad owners."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sever in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great concept for a restaurant. Wonderful atmosphere and opportunity to make good money as a server.

    Cons

    The owners of the Chicago land area are awful. They would storm into the kitchen and literally yell at management in front of the whole staff. They would shame employees by posting up negative reviews for everyone to see. Just not very professional.

    Continue reading
    The Melting Pot2017-06-14
  8. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Arlington, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money and they work with your school schedule.

    Cons

    Very stressful! Your tables are there for at least 2-3 hours and management is crazy. Made servers cry! You get a salad for a break and thats it and it must be eaten before your shift. Will never work for a boss like that ever again.

    Continue reading
    The Melting Pot2016-12-08
  9. "Melting Pot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money to be made, philanthropic company, the company does incentivize seniority and hard work

    Cons

    It is a really remanding restaurant job, sometimes it feels very corporate

    Continue reading
    The Melting Pot2016-12-02
  10. "It's good to be at a place where even a bad tip is still $20."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot

    Pros

    Great company that cares about what is happening in their stores. If you're gonna work at a restaurant then this is where you want to be. It's good to be at a place where even a bad tip is still $20. Easy money and good money compared to most restaurants. I've worked here 4 years and can definitely say this is a great place and compony to be at and work for.

    Cons

    As other reviews have mentioned, business is very seasonal. However, as long as you don't take the cut on those slow days you'll still make money.

    Continue reading
    The Melting Pot2016-11-07
Found 366 reviews