The Melting Pot "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Melting Pot Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 362 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very long hours for a restaurant, particularly around the holidays(in 18 reviews)

  • "Side work takes an extra hour compared to other restaurants (cheap labor)(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "One of my favorite jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in West Baton Rouge, LA

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work atmosphere, good management

    Cons

    Lots of prep, long hours

    The Melting Pot2019-04-23
  2. "Not Ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met good people, 1/2 off items, big emphasis on crew gatherings.

    Cons

    Absolutely no benefits, minimum wage, extremely long hours or lack there of.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to respect people as people and not as slaves.

    The Melting Pot2019-04-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Proceed with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Upscale environment, occasionally good compensation (tips). Co-workers were a blast.

    Cons

    Very long hours for a restaurant, particularly around the holidays. Toxic management at times. Tips earned are heavily dependent on managers' opinion of you-regardless of how strong a server you are. You could work a ten-hour shift and have three two-tops for the night (they will rarely cut servers off the floor in the event of a "possible" rush later in the evening, which rarely...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My input was ignored for years...why waste my breath now?

    The Melting Pot2019-01-23
  4. "Melting Pot Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, management and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Long hours, especially on weekends

    The Melting Pot2018-11-29
  5. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, good food, understanding of part time

    Cons

    Very strict, long hours, so-so management

    The Melting Pot2018-03-12
  6. "Avoid this location!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've seen other reviews saying the Melting Pot's other locations are great. But my main advice is to stay away from THIS location.

    Cons

    This location could have so much potential, but unfortunately management doesn't treat their staff with respect and has given up. This has been going on for years and even with respectful suggestions on how to make it a more effective environment, they don't seem to care. This is clear with the SUPER high turnover--a new class of servers almost every few weeks (they don't stick around). The amount of work (not only serving,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen and respect your employees! For the amount of work servers do--it's crazy. Hire another kitchen person to cut down on the work the servers have to do in the kitchen. They are NOT paid enough for the amount of work. That's why the turnover is so high, because new servers are hired and shocked at how much extra work is involved for the little pay!

    The Melting Pot2018-02-27
  7. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Melting Pot was a different kind of dining experience where you could really have the time to build relationships with the customers as well as your fellow team members. The place started as a destination spot and grew to something much more.

    Cons

    Long hours and high turnover with the wait staff was the only real con because it's hard to find good help and experience in the food service industry.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the turnover of staff and that will translate to the consistency of the servie and overall dining experience.

    The Melting Pot2017-11-03
  8. "Server/Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Whippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management, opportunities to learn bar tending and managing. 50% off of food and opportunities to earn free money to eat there with.

    Cons

    Ridiculous amounts of side work, long hours, inconsistent tips

    Advice to Management

    Hire cleaning crews to decrease amounts of side work required of servers

    The Melting Pot2017-09-25
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training is really good and the management is well-trained. There are ample resources to really learn about work ethic and restaurant management.

    Cons

    There is a lot of work and the staff don't always listen. I suppose that comes with restaurant jobs, but it can be frustrating, especially with long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Put your stars in their place If you see someone has done really well make sur eto reward them and put them in positions to succeed. You can lose good talent if you don't do this.

    The Melting Pot2017-05-31
  10. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Arlington, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free food, great job training, lots of alcohol

    Cons

    harassment and inappropriate comments, favoritism from management, unethical punishment, really long hours

    Advice to Management

    Franchise owned doesn't mean you can abuse your staff members.

    The Melting Pot2017-05-03
Found 362 reviews