The Memory Company Reviews | Glassdoor

The Memory Company Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.9
23%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
The Memory Company CEO Charles D Sizemore (no image)
Charles D Sizemore
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a few nice people working here(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great place to work if you're only hoping to keep a job for a couple of months (or less)(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controller in Phenix City, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Memory Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked here for 5 years. We have a very exciting and unique business that I think most people would enjoy.

    Cons

    It has been a real challenge to find talented employees who want to work hard and excel in their position for advancements. It is rather disappointing to see bad reviews from former employees bashing a good company just to make themselves feel better about their own inadequacies.

    Continue reading
    The Memory Company2018-04-10
  2. "DON'T Work For This Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Phenix City, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Memory Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The week week was generally 8:00 - 5:00 and a close commute

    Cons

    This is the most toxic and vile work environment I've ever experienced or witnessed! The owner/CEO's solution to ALL day-to-day typical manufacturing work issues (which he caused in most cases) is to cuss, scream, belittle, overreact and completely bully employees. This company has a turnover rate equal to or more than any fast food chain restaurant and it can be almost 100% completely directly traced back to the owner/CEO. There is about 10 employees in the company that has a tenor greater than 1 year due to the high turnover rate. You have disgruntled depressed entry level inexperienced employees training new employees. Don't consider a position with the company, I wish I would have read the reviews

    Continue reading
    The Memory Company2020-02-18
  3. "This Place is a dump"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Purchasing in Phenix City, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Memory Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Waffle house isnt far away

    Cons

    CEO is an idiot and doesn't know how to run a company. All the negative reviews are true. Run away from this dumpster fire. They are worse than the Braves in the postseason :)

    Continue reading
    The Memory Company2019-10-10
  4. "Idk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Credit Manager 

    I worked at The Memory Company full-time

    Pros

    Quiet, and comfortable. It is okay

    Cons

    Everything is a con.

    Continue reading
    The Memory Company2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "If you can handle daily abuse and B.S."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Memory Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some solid, supportive employees

    Cons

    CEO can be a tyrannical, paranoid, waffling pain in the backside. He may mean well, but impossible to work for if you're not one of his disciples. You're expected to work 7 days a week and from home.

    Continue reading
    The Memory Company2019-03-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Inside Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Memory Company full-time

    Pros

    Great product, in-demand merchandise, good business model

    Cons

    Do Not Work Here! I have a quality education, I work hard and have passion for helping customers and my team. I spent one week with this company and ran. The person who interviewed me for the position quit before I came on-board. The week I was there, the purchasing manager quit via email. The culture is dictated by a toxic CEO who sucks the positive spirit out of the department. Your every move is watched as if you're in a prison. The leadership does not inspire passion and shifts everyone's attention to metrics, statistics and rankings. You are just a tool to get results, forget about doing what you love or having a passion. This boss has no interest in listening to what others have to say in meetings and will cut you off and belittle your contributions. I watched this guy bully others in the department and even his own family members that work for him. The most confusing part is, all the senior leadership is perfectly okay with it. It's like the twilight zone. Do Not Work Here if you are intelligent, talented and work hard.

    Continue reading
    The Memory Company2018-05-22
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Controller lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Memory Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was decent at least

    Cons

    Everything except pay is a con. Controller was probably paid be CEO to write her review or she’s either trying to gain brownie points. As for controller being a gossiper, completely true. Everything I ever heard about everyone working there came from her, including the things I heard about the CEO. She’s a snake in the grass just like he is. If the company is such a great company and the flaws is finding good employees, please tell me why the turnover rate is so high!??? Because you can’t keep the good employees because of the bad management. No need trying to explain yourself and why things don’t run right to the CEO, he won’t believe you anyhow. This place is a dang joke and I still have nightmares about my time there!!

    Continue reading
    The Memory Company2018-04-12
  8. Helpful (11)

    "This Place is a Joke. A sad, terrifying joke."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Memory Company full-time

    Pros

    -Great place to work if you're only hoping to keep a job for a couple of months (or less) -You will learn a lot about how leadership is not supposed to work - If you like having nightmares, even months after leaving a job, this place is for you!

    Cons

    - I worked there for barely 5 months and in my first month alone there were 8 people who quit or were "fired". This should've been my first sign. - The HR lady is the biggest gossip I've ever met. She's an older woman, but you would think she was in high school. She once threw a tantrum about a chair I borrowed from an empty cubicle in her department, temporarily because mine was broken. She gossiped about it right after I left work that day, instead of just coming to me directly. I had to find out from another employee that she was upset about it. She's not respectable at all, but gets very upset when you don't give her the respect she thinks she deserves. - The CEO is seriously messed up. Bipolar maybe? He runs around screaming at everyone when he's having a bad day, and he'll be fake nice when he's in a good mood. He's almost as gossipy as the lady in HR. Funny side story: our department had a group chat on Google to ask questions, etc. When we became good friends, we also talked about some of the insane antics of our "leadership". Long story short, they had been reading the messages of our group chat (they read everything you type on the computer, so be careful). The hilarious part was when the CEO called everyone into his office, one by one, to ask them why I didn't like him. But when he called me into his office, he didn't ask me why I didn't like him. ?¿ That was my last day. After I quit, I smiled and laughed so much on the way home because I felt so much better knowing I wouldn't have to deal with that toxic environment anymore. - CEO also thought all the "leadership" could do no wrong. When the HR lady was airing the dirty laundry of some other employee's personal record, he did nothing. I'm pretty sure discussing an employee's record with another employee (loudly so everyone in the office can hear) is illegal. But nothing will ever be done about it because all the managers and leadership walk on water. -This may just be word of mouth, but I heard from a trustworthy employee who has been there awhile that the reason they have to keep the front door locked is because someone came into the office one time with a weapon and wanted to do some serious harm to the CEO. Again, could be made up, but I wouldn't be surprised if it were true. The way he talks down to people, I was afraid someone would show up looking for him. - the really sad thing is, I haven't worked there in six months but they will know who wrote this review and gossip about it for the next six months because they have nothing better to do. - You can't believe any positive review on here. The managers are the ones who write them. So if you go into an interview and they tell you to not pay attention to the Glassdoor reviews, turn around and run. All these past employees are NOT lying to you. - I promise you, you would have a better experience working in fast food than you would here.

    Continue reading
    The Memory Company2018-02-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth it. Turn around and walk away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Memory Company full-time

    Pros

    * The pay is decent for this area. * You will learn first-hand what toxic leadership is and how NOT to run a company or treat employees. It's a very educational experience.

    Cons

    This place will chew you up and spit you out. The problems in this company start at the top with the CEO. He is a textbook psychopath. He cares only about his own success and his own image. Here are a few of the benefits you can look forward to at The Memory Company: (1) Loud, public beratement for small offenses or because the CEO is having a bad day. (2) Upper level managers are either broken or as twisted as the CEO. (3) You will receive no encouragement, no mentorship, no positive reinforcement, no direction, and no credit for success. (4) You will require a strong antidepressant just to show up and work in this environment on a daily basis.

    Continue reading
    The Memory Company2018-02-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Memory Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stay Away!!! You will be regreting it if you go to work there.

    Cons

    Worst owner you will ever meet. Lies all the time. Master manipulator. For a CEO of a company, he doesn't know how to talk to people. Screaming at you is his best way of communicating.

    Continue reading
    The Memory Company2018-01-11
Found 66 reviews