The Mosaic Company Reviews | Glassdoor

The Mosaic Company Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 149 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Joc O’Rourke
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company and good benefits(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great mobility and training opportunities, good pay for industry(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "No Cons, outsanding place to work(in 4 reviews)

  • "we are in the south and that good ole boy network is still hanging around, some things are better left alone(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working for Mosaic has been great! The company really does have a very high regard for saftey."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mosaic Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Rewards for achieving goals within the company.

    Cons

    Hiring management from outside the company.

    Advice to Management

    You have allot of great talent that has been dedicated to you so promote within, we actually know how to run the business.

    The Mosaic Company2019-03-23
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mosaic Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, great bonuses, benefits and relocation

    Cons

    They will place you in a position and at a place without asking your input. They just give you a start date. Inadequate training, yet high expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Stop moving everyone around !!

    The Mosaic Company2019-07-10
  3. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 

    I have been working at The Mosaic Company full-time

    Pros

    Culture, pay, benefits, lots of promotional opportunities

    Cons

    Hours, layoffs but honestly it's the best company I've worked for by far.

    The Mosaic Company2019-06-25
  4. "Interesting work and great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mosaic Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mosaic offers the opportunity to work on interesting challenges with some incredibly talented people.

    Cons

    The inherent challenges in a commodity business.

    Advice to Management

    None

    The Mosaic Company2019-06-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Leadership has been dazed and confused for a while now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mosaic Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The 9/80 schedule is nice, vacation is good, and pay isn't bad. Some of the work is interesting. Florida just got some sorely needed new leadership.

    Cons

    It seems like the very expensive consultants we pay do just about nothing besides waste leadership's time. We spend lots of money on new technology and ideas just to throw it at a wall and see if it sticks. Reactive not proactive management. Bean counters at corporate make irrational decisions that cost the company millions because they ignore their operations people.

    Advice to Management

    Fire the consultants, stop trying to "transform" the business, and stop lying to people. Let middle managers, supervisors, and operators do their jobs without breathing down their necks. Listen to GMs rather than accountants. Stick to your business plan, and start being proactive instead of reactive.

    The Mosaic Company2019-07-03
  6. "Do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Mosaic Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, but people take advantage of it

    Cons

    Limited growth potential and reactionary work instead of strategic focus. Lack of engagement.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    The Mosaic Company2019-05-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EHS Specialist in Lithia, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mosaic Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay Retirement Benefits Most leadership is open to new ideas

    Cons

    Company has lost its way, no identity and leadership revolving door, new initiatives every 6-12 months with just a different name, lots of people leaving and leadership can't figure out why (look in a mirror)

    The Mosaic Company2019-04-13
  8. "Bias/disrespectful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mosaic Company full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, hours. Stability . They care about employees and there

    Cons

    They only hire family members, with no experience except waitressing. Or they hire Co OP's with degrees. Sad but how is it like that? Anyone can reD pizometers. It's not rocket science. When your working, you shouldn't have to dodge out of the way of a Land Managmen Specialist way. I personally saw her videoing while driving in the mine on her phone. I recommend someone, but because he/she had little to no experience,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Drill down on the health and safety management from four corners. Very careless driving, not to mention, not one bit of care for human life. Our goal is 0 incidents. Some of us would like to keep it that way. Tryto hire people with no experience. It's not fair to only hire family members with no experience. There are hard working people that may want a change in employment, to expand themselves. But being snooty,...

    Show More
    The Mosaic Company2019-05-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Decent job lots of data pulling for interns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineering Co-Op 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mosaic Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with overall You’ll learn how fertilizer is made 🙄 Can learn a lot of you ask the right questions

    Cons

    Almost everyone was great except for my direct supervisor. Just seemed to use any excuse possible to let his/her anger out on me. Instructions are pretty vague and while they encouraged questions they “had 300 emails on their desk and I was wasting their time.”

    Advice to Management

    Better train people who are not currently in leadership positions but will assume leadership of interns, specifically on how to be an effective leader.

    The Mosaic Company2019-02-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Mosaic Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for but my manager in MBS was very difficult to build a working relationship with. He spoke very rudely to me and made me feel like I was dumb. They should give this guy more people leader training in dealing with different types of employees.

    Cons

    Give people leaders more training on workin effectively with employees

    The Mosaic Company2019-02-25
Found 149 reviews