The Nature Conservancy Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 432 of over 564 reviews

4.3
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Nature Conservancy CEO Jennifer Morris
Jennifer Morris
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "They encourage work life balance and career development(in 50 reviews)

  • "Great conservation organization dedicated to land management(in 43 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "People supporting day-to-day operations can feel very far removed from the conservation work on the ground(in 15 reviews)

  • "efforts to foster work-life balance)(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Global Environmental NGO

      May 20, 2021 - Chief Scientist/Director of Science in Duluth, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      TNC offers great benefits, has an outstanding mission and solid organizational values. They take pride in their ethical standards and are committed to "living their values."

      Cons

      Like many environmental NGOs, TNC is working on becoming a more diverse and inclusive organization, but it is early on this journey.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Nature Conservancy Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so happy to hear that your enjoying your career with TNC and value our commitment to living our values and diversity. TNC has focused on the importance of how we work is as important as what work we do. Our GDEI team aims to develop our staff's cultural competencies and build on our DEI foundation across the globe. We appreciate your positive feedback.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Competent and compassionate staff

      May 12, 2021 - Donor Relations Manager in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with experts, passionate and dedicated staff, helpful coworkers, compassionate management

      Cons

      Can be silos with each state/country having separate operating units with overall efforts at the national and international level as well

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Nature Conservancy Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're excited to hear that you're enjoying your career at TNC and enjoy working with supportive colleagues. TNC values working as one conservancy because collaborative efforts are essential to our success. We also recognize that our global organization is decentralized with multiple business units across the world. We appreciate your input and welcome any additional feedback.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good

      Jun 14, 2021 - Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helpful and I liked my coworkers

      Cons

      Didn’t pay me at all

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Nice

      Jun 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great mission, lots of employees

      Cons

      Large organization, HQ separation from local offices

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Nature Conservancy Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience working at TNC! Feel free to contact us with any additional feedback.

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Ok

      Jun 3, 2021 - Program Coordinator II in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work is often rewarding

      Cons

      The executive leadership not good

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Nature Conservancy Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're happy to hear that you feel rewarded in the work you do! Our people are the core of our work and we truly value the dedication to our mission. We would like to hear more about your experience and discuss your concerns about leadership. Please contact us at recruiting@tnc.org.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people devoted to mission

      May 4, 2021 - Marketing Assistant in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, commitment to mission

      Cons

      Hiring process is slow, some teams are understaffed

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Nature Conservancy Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re pleased to hear that you feel supported in your work life balance. How we work is as important to as what work we do. In the past months we’ve updated our recruiting procedures to improve hiring speed and invested in resources for additional recruiting support. We appreciate your input and welcome any additional feedback.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      great place

      Apr 29, 2021 - Chief Financial Officer (CFO) in Bowie, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great company to work at

      Cons

      nothing but good things to say

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Nature Conservancy Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you're enjoying your experience here. Please email us at recruiting@tnc.org with any further feedback.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Apr 9, 2021 - Director in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Cause, Plenty of Influence, Motivated Team

      Cons

      Somewhat hierarchical structure and limited ability to respond quickly to external opportunities. Career advancement opportunities can be limited.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Nature Conservancy Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re happy to hear that you are motivated by our mission. TNC has recruiting policies to ensure a culture that’s committed to promoting from within. It’s important to us as an organization that our employees have sufficient time acknowledge opportunities. Please contact us at recruiting@tnc.org as we would like to hear more about your experience and ways to improve.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Good mission does not equal great culture

      Jan 11, 2021 - Communications 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large organization that has influence and resources, some really good people who care about conservation, good pay and benefits compared to other nonprofits

      Cons

      Extremely risk averse which can lead to paralysis when it comes to moving new initiatives forward, not open to new ideas or challenging status quo, behind the curve in addressing equity issues for BIPOC and women staff, ineffective managers abound yet have too much control, favoritism culture, very limited upward mobility, doesn’t address issues brought to leadership

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Nature Conservancy Response

      Manager, Talent Acquisition Operations

      Thanks for writing your review. We’re passionate about strengthening our culture and and living our values of Commitment to Diversity and Respect for People, Communities, and Cultures. We may not be where we want to be as an organization yet and acknowledge this is a time of growth. Please contact us directly at recruiting@tnc.org so that we can learn more about your experience.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work, great culture, great mission

      Apr 9, 2021 - Fundraiser 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, great people to work with

      Cons

      Haven’t found any cons yet

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Nature Conservancy Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're very happy to hear your enjoying your experience at here! TNC values work-life balance and it's great to hear that you feel supported in your workplace. If you have any additional feedback, please email us at recruiting@tnc.org.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 432 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Nature Conservancy Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Nature Conservancy? Share Your Experiences

    The Nature Conservancy logo
    or