The Nature Conservancy Reviews | Glassdoor

The Nature Conservancy Reviews

Updated September 18, 2018
253 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Nature Conservancy President and CEO Mark R. Tercek
Mark R. Tercek
138 Ratings

253 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "It is a non-profit, so the salaries cannot always compete with the for profit guys" (in 14 reviews)

  • "While there are plenty of 9-to-5ers, you have no such luxury in Marketing, where work-life balance is difficult" (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Information Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy part-time

    Pros

    Great ethicss, smart employees

    Cons

    None...a great place to work

    The Nature Conservancy Response

    Sep 20, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Coordinator, Recruiting Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to hear your enjoying your experience with TNC. We appreciate your positive input and congratulations on your successful career!


  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Outside every day, variety of jobs to do. No day was the same.

    Cons

    Staff meetings taking me out of the woods.

    The Nature Conservancy Response

    Sep 7, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Coordinator, Recruiting Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your experience and no day was the same. We appreciate your feedback!

  3. "Such a cool organization! Perfect for my personal goals and professional career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I am overjoyed to have joined TNC. They literally have an evidence-based framework with an ambitious goal to help save the world, and I am excited for how my work will contribute to that. They have fair compensation, amazing benefits and perks, and a fantastic framework for approaching conservation and community development that benefits both nature and people. It's a great mix of science and community practice. And professional development is totally integrated into the yearly review process, which I love. Bottom line: my friends and family are absolutely sick of hearing me gush about my perfect new job!

    Cons

    I can't really think of any at this time, except the fact that I sometimes I want to keep working outside of the normal work hours--which is more about my need to set boundaries.

    Advice to Management

    Truly implement the Strong Voices, Active Choices community practitioner framework throughout global TNC to become an even better organization.

    The Nature Conservancy Response

    Sep 7, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Coordinator, Recruiting Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are excited to hear you are enjoying the work you do and how it contributes to helping the planet. The Nature Conservancy values our conservation... More


  4. "Best conservation organization in the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at The Nature Conservancy full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Inspiring mission; a true get-it-done organization; smart and passionate colleagues; great salary, vacation, benefits; potential for work in other locales including international. I resigned from TNC after 10 years to change careers but if I ever went back to the environmental field, TNC would still be my #1 choice, hands-down.

    Cons

    Very few. Work life balance is an issue for many given individuals' passion and ambitious organizational goals. However, I believe it is up to the individual to set boundaries for him/herself. Sometimes there is a gap in management skills needed vs. skills possessed.

    The Nature Conservancy Response

    Sep 20, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Coordinator, Recruiting Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your positive feedback and efforts toward our mission. We are very lucky to have such passionate employees. We are sure to promote a... More


  5. "Challenging, Engaging and Meaningful Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Director in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Welcoming staff with diverse expertise and experience. Feels good to do meaningful work with a staff of very smart people.

    Cons

    With every complex organization comes challenging organizational structures. Simplifying things will go a long way.

    Advice to Management

    Continue bringing in new perspectives - think outside the box.

    The Nature Conservancy Response

    Jul 30, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Coordinator, Recruiting Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are pleased to know that you are doing meaningful work with such a talented team. Promoting diversity and creative thinking is important to us as... More


  6. "A strong organization accomplishing great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director of Philanthropy
    Current Employee - Associate Director of Philanthropy
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    My job at TNC is the best one I have ever had. The people and culture are top notch. The scale and scope of the work that is being accomplished across the world is incredible. The on-boarding and training are very thorough. TNC has its operation down to a science.

    Cons

    Being such a large organization with multiple offices has pros and cons. One of the cons is things taking a little while to get done or communications being misinterpreted. This is my first time working remotely so learning how to operate out of a virtual office is challenging, but TNC gives you everything you need to be successful when working remotely.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the transparency and reinforcing a culture that values a work/life balance and the importance of experiencing our work first hand by getting out in the field.

    The Nature Conservancy Response

    Jul 30, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Coordinator, Recruiting Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to know you enjoy the people and the impactful work you do. We will continue to be transparent and promote work/life balance. These... More


  7. "global impact world class perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Nature Conservancy full-time

    Pros

    global impact of their work makes you feel like you are making a difference.
    THe perks of the job like professional development and technical training plus access to technology and funding is huge in conservation

    Cons

    some of the politics required to maintain federal funding levels may be difficult for people who have a very strong moral leaning. there is also cultural differences across the organization and some privilege imbalances especially between predominantly white American counterparts and local partners in other countries.

    Advice to Management

    place more value on the ideas and suggestions of local employees in small island developing states and focus on sustainable job development to reduce layoffs, which happen regularly.

  8. "IT Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Technician in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - IT Technician in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work/Life balance.
    Lots of training opportunities,
    Staff is welcoming and appreciative of every IT work,
    The IT Department is constantly moving forward, the systems are not old or obsolete,
    Gender diversity in Management positions and opportunities for learning from other fields.

    Cons

    Hiring process was about four months long, other than that no cons*

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the great work!

    The Nature Conservancy Response

    Jul 30, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Coordinator, Recruiting Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you are taking advantage of the training opportunities and, your department is constantly being... More


  9. "Best decision I ever made!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Development Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people, the mission, the work culture. The people are the best I’ve ever worked with. For a non-profit, they have decent pay and incredible benefits. That may have to do with the fact that I work in San Francisco, but I’m still impressed. Very much a 9-5 work culture, and your off-work time is very much respected. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    A few typical non-profit pains, but still surpasses my previous for-profit job by a mile (which says a lot about TNC).

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency, we really appreciate it! Bumping up the entry-level pay would be nice, too.

    The Nature Conservancy Response

    Jul 30, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Coordinator, Recruiting Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to know that you are satisfied with the benefits provided and our value for work life balance. It’s important to us as an organization... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "TNC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Conservation in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Director of Conservation in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I work in a state program and love it. Where else can you really make a difference in the conservation world?

    Cons

    World Office leadership is disconnected from reality. But as long as you lay low, and stay off their radar, all is cool. And if you work for a regional or higher office - it seems like you could have your job eliminated at a moment's notice

    Advice to Management

    Understand what your local support base is really expecting from you. Set global priorities without upsetting the local base of support.

    The Nature Conservancy Response

    Aug 2, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Coordinator, Recruiting Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your work and, have been making an impact for all these years. When decisions are made by leadership many... More


Showing 253 of 309 reviews
Reset Filters