The Nature Conservancy "non profit" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Nature Conservancy Employee Reviews about "non profit"

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Nature Conservancy Interim CEO Sally Jewell (no image)
Sally Jewell
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Awesome work/life balance (35 hour work week)(in 43 reviews)

  • "Large conservation organization working on a lot of initiatives provides ample opportunity to learn and grow(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "People supporting day-to-day operations can feel very far removed from the conservation work on the ground(in 15 reviews)

  • "Still a non-profit, so you have to be patient with the pace of change(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "non profit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people, hard working, good cause and mission, flexible

    Cons

    Non profit salaries, office locations

    The Nature Conservancy2019-10-11
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff dedicated to a great cause, flexible working hours, zero micro-management, good salary (for a non-profit), TONS of optional training available. People are happy here! I just love it.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of would be that they do no offer a lot of vacation time off when you first start and it is not negotiable (2 weeks).

    Advice to Management

    Increase the vacation time to 3 weeks to start and 4 weeks after 2 years - increase up to 6 weeks off as an employee's time at TNC grows.

    The Nature Conservancy2019-08-22
  3. "Work with the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Bozeman, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked in the national and international non-profit world for 25 years and can say without a doubt that The Nature Conservancy has some of the very brightest minds in the world passionately addressing the key issue of our times - how to regain our connection with the Natural World.

    Cons

    As the world's largest environmental organization it is sometimes difficult to be nimble

    The Nature Conservancy2019-04-03
  4. "Doing Good for the World and For Yourself!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employee-focused environment, smart and talented people to work with. Admirable and estimable leaders whom I'm proud to work for. Genuinely caring environment. Hard work and competency is rewarded. Waking up every day knowing you're doing your part to save the planet - it's really hard to put a price on that.

    Cons

    Because it's a non-profit the pay could be better. But this company tends to attract people who are motivated by values and doing good, vs. all things monetary.

    Advice to Management

    Keep administering and implementing the results of the People Survey. Keep opportunities for training and Chapter/Departmental retreats going. Keep taking time out of important meetings to acknowledge individual contributions. Keep doing whatever you need to do to keep the cash flowing so we can continue to do great things for the planet and stay employed. Have a strategy to reach out to younger donors to replace... the older ones.

    Show More
    The Nature Conservancy2018-05-21
  5. "Mission-driven, very large matrixed organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits package; competitive salaries - particularly for non-profit sector;

    Cons

    some high levels of bureaucracy but great colleagues

    The Nature Conservancy2018-03-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Stands out among environmental non-profits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous 

    I worked at The Nature Conservancy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The willingness to take an economic approach to environmentalism brings more people into the fold. It's nice to be part of a non-profit which already has the means to affect big change.

    Cons

    Still a non-profit, so you have to be patient with the pace of change.

    The Nature Conservancy2018-01-27
  7. "Wonderful Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Restoration Technician in Markham, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Nature Conservancy

    Pros

    Doing very important work. The employees are generally passionate about what they do, which is very important.

    Cons

    It is a non-profit, so the salaries cannot always compete with the for profit guys.

    The Nature Conservancy2017-09-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great mission, office culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work towards a meaningful mission with talented, intelligent, interesting, and hard-working co-workers and volunteers. Room for advancement and strong professional development opportunities, lots of on the job learning resources. Good pay and benefits for an environmental non-profit. Great work environment.

    Cons

    Pay not competitive with for-profit work, working for a mission you believe in can make it challenging to find your work life balance depending on the individual.

    The Nature Conservancy2016-12-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Conservation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Nature Conservancy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    mission-driven and global impact large non-profit with fairly deep pockets staff are driven by the mission and people are great to work with

    Cons

    decentralized lots of pressure on staff to do more inability to really prioritize

    The Nature Conservancy2016-08-30
  10. "Fast-paced and rewarding work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Nature Conservancy

    Pros

    The people that work here are kind and all share a common goal. The atmosphere was welcoming, fast-paced, and encouraged collaboration between groups. The office was beautiful and was generally a happy place.

    Cons

    As a non-profit, its large size means that sometimes tradition or bureaucratic inertia outweighs newer approaches to conservation.

    The Nature Conservancy2016-04-26
Found 24 reviews