The Nutrition Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The Nutrition Group Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
The Nutrition Group CEO Ed Caswell
Ed Caswell
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Place To Work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Director in Youngstown, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Nutrition Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    TNG is a great organization to work for. The upper management and leadership team truly care about all of the employees from the hourly staff all the way up. Their is tons of room for growth and like to promote from within.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on creating an atmosphere where employees feel valued.

    The Nutrition Group2019-08-10
  2. "Worse Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Nutrition Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get weekends off or work around your kids schedule.

    Cons

    Managers dont care. Was working a week called into managers office and was told to become mire more efficient and quicker. I have worked many years in food service. This manager couldnt explain what i needed to do. All she did was scream and yell at me without any direction. Pay is awful. No breaks not even time to go to bathroom. Wasnt even given time to learn the job or meal system.

    Advice to Management

    Train managers on how to manage employees. Tell them they have to allow employees time to learn their way of doing things without yelling and screaming at you. The turn around is a lot. You can't keep employees there due to managers not explaining what needs to be done.

    The Nutrition Group2019-08-15
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Loved working with different staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker in Niceville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Nutrition Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoy preparing food for kids

    Cons

    Don’t pay employees their worth

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees what their worth

    The Nutrition Group2019-06-30
  5. "The Nutrition Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Office in Irwin, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Nutrition Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere, supportive management who focuses on your creativity and career development, and amazing work-life balance. Everyone is willing to pitch in and go the extra mile. I enjoy my coworkers and my work.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    No advice, keep doing what you're doing!

    The Nutrition Group2019-06-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job & People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Nutrition Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, union job with good pay and summers off.

    Cons

    Don't pay for holidays and this is not a full time position.

    The Nutrition Group2019-05-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Decent job no room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Nutrition Group full-time

    Pros

    I got a paycheck every two weeks, the management gave out bonuses around the holiday season.

    Cons

    Diversity is something seriously lacking within.

    The Nutrition Group2019-03-14
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker 

    I worked at The Nutrition Group part-time

    Pros

    Free lunch no work when there is no school

    Cons

    You don't get paid for the days when schools are closed for holidays or closed due to weather

    The Nutrition Group2019-02-27
  9. "Food Service Director expects the staff to work overtime with out pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in Mars, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Nutrition Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    Yes! Per Food Service Director, work until the duties are done. Did this for 2 weeks until payday and saw not being paid for the overtime. Filed greavance with federal Wage and Hour Division, PA State Labor and Industry and School PSEA Union! We are hiding 94 cans of Government food until the middle and high school needs to serve.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with the staff, pay for overtime, don’t hide large quantities of Government canned goods

    The Nutrition Group2018-09-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Need to pay what employees are worth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Nutrition Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No weekends & most holidays off

    Cons

    Under staffed (always) management worries about their own needs. Pay rate is ridiculous (& raises that’s a joke) lots of Blantant favoritism. Health insurance costs more than I make in a month!!!

    Advice to Management

    worries about their needs only. Management gets bonus - what about the employees who made it possible for you to bonus? This company needs to focus on employees and maybe do some management revamping.

    The Nutrition Group2018-09-13
  11. "Food Service Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Director in Saegertown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Nutrition Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    None I can think of

    Cons

    Upper management is only looking out for the $$$$. No consideration for their employees or clients.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue!

    The Nutrition Group2018-09-13
Found 23 reviews