The Ottawa Hospital Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

The Ottawa Hospital Clerk Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
16%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Ottawa Hospital CEO  Jack Kitts
Jack Kitts
5 Ratings
  1. "Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have a Union that will protect just about anyone and third party benefits aren’t bad

    Cons

    Mental health leave is gone, pay is terrible, zero advancement, patients are cattle, patient privacy/safety is deplorable

    Continue reading
    The Ottawa Hospital2018-09-16
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Benefits but "no frills" culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Records Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, vacation and Union "protection".

    Cons

    Budget cutting culture, so lean staffing and supplies. Heavy workloads for front-line staff with little sympathy from upper management. Few opportunities for training and advancement. Bilingual staff have more opportunities. Not much fun in the workplace.

    Continue reading
    The Ottawa Hospital2017-12-20
  3. "Got me through university!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Clerk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great compensation and very flexible hours as a casual clerk helped me survive the work/life/study balance during university. Have always felt very supported by my immediate managers, and I've been lucky enough to have a great group of coworkers. No real perks to the job, but staff appreciation is a core value of TOH, so I'd consider that a pro.

    Cons

    French is imperative if you want to get on permanently (though I only need to use it maybe once a year). Career advancement is dependent on seniority and not job performance.

    Continue reading
    The Ottawa Hospital2017-08-30
  4. "Not Supportive of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    centralized location, close to everything

    Cons

    Pay doesn't match the workload... so support. Management cover for certain staff...

    Continue reading
    The Ottawa Hospital2017-09-19
  5. "Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment, kind bosses, appreciates employees, clean space, team environment, paid breaks

    Cons

    boring work, very tedious, have to jump through many hoops to begin the job

    Continue reading
    The Ottawa Hospital2017-03-30
  6. "The Organization needs to focus more on developing careers for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Medical Records Clerk in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the pay is rather decent

    Cons

    Hard to grow your career, you dont get promoted upward, you only move from side to side.

    The Ottawa Hospital2016-09-02
  7. "The Ottawa General Hospital Review -Volunteer position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a big organized institution, the Ottawa hospital, with all its departments and services. You can enjoy volunteering at the General Hospital and make patients and visitors happy by helping them, and feeling you're part of the community.

    Cons

    You can feel bored at the front desk sometimes, when the hospital is not busy or you don't have much things to do.

    Continue reading
    The Ottawa Hospital2016-06-02
  8. "clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Health Records Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital

    Pros

    the pay, I don't mind my job

    Cons

    having to work evening shift

    The Ottawa Hospital2016-03-13
  9. "I'm so proud to work for TOH as helping our needy patients brings joy and satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time

    Pros

    stable workplace and great people to work with TOH pays up to 93% of my salary for maternity leave.

    Cons

    having to work (paid) extra hour or so occasionally due to workload.

    Continue reading
    The Ottawa Hospital2015-05-12
Found 9 reviews