The Ottawa Hospital Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

The Ottawa Hospital Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
99%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
The Ottawa Hospital CEO  Jack Kitts
Jack Kitts
11 Ratings
  1. "Doing the Best that they Can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, Emergency in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits & HOOP Pension. Excellent place to learn Emergency Medicine. Friendly staff, very supportive colleagues.

    Cons

    It is a very stressful environment & can be verbally abusive . Must be able to remain a calm human being, and not take things personally

    Advice to Management

    Implement a no personal computer time. Retrain your PSW's . Have worked as a PSW in several ER's . Ours are the worst and have pushed away most of our good ones . Like the open door policy & seeing management on the floor saying hi to staff.

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-08
  2. "Wonderful place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time

    Pros

    It's a super smashing great place to work, ewww I could crush a grape

    Cons

    There is an epicaly rubbish computer system

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the studor group

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-07-30
  3. "Hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN W/Degree in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is a commitment for improvement.

    Cons

    Difficulty getting parking and vacation

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-07-04
  4. "Great work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work opportunities, education opportunities.

    Cons

    Employees have to pay for parking.

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-03-26
  5. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits package Excellent Pension (HOOPP) Organized management Pay scale is appropriate with opportunities for raises

    Cons

    Working as a registered nurse (shifts) is challenging, mentally and physically The required commitment to work two shifts on the weekend, every other weekend, means little work life balance and it can be hard to see family

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-01-18
  6. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An institution that provides highest quality of care with respect, compassion, excellence, innovation, and promote opportunities for learning, experience, and confidence-building

    Cons

    RPNs are not utilized in all active/surgical floors all over TOH

    Advice to Management

    Should utilized all RNs and RPNs in all active/surgical units all over TOH

    The Ottawa Hospital2017-08-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work! Friendly and considerate staff that work very well together! We have a lot of respect for each other and all in full intentions of making our patients feel welcomed and ease their stress.

    Cons

    Need better indications for patients to go to different part of the hospital!

    The Ottawa Hospital2015-09-24
  8. "registered nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Ottawa, ON
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great communication white boards new security

    Cons

    RN shortage pca shortage unsafe workload Making workers feel guilty asking for overtime jack kitts get a 80000 plus bonus and RN get cents as a raise.

    Advice to Management

    support your team by any means necessary. If nurses ask for workload then give it to them. People are made to feel guilty for asking for workload or overtime.

    The Ottawa Hospital2015-09-29
  9. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital

    Pros

    There is a lot of oppertunity for advancement and change. Most of the mananers are great and want you to succeed.

    Cons

    Some manangers DO NOT care about anyone but themselves. Alsway short staffed and sick calls not replaced.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of cutting services and care to patients. Why dont you cut your salaries and amount of stall you have. On weekemds and holidays the hospital runs very well with out all the management. So why is it that during the week the hospital is busting at the seams with mostly adminestration, that is not needed.

    The Ottawa Hospital2015-09-05
  10. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital

    Pros

    I appreciate the TOH model and it's focus on staff at the point of care to ensure better patient care. The implementation of the RACE team.

    Cons

    Still waiting for day parking pass.

    Advice to Management

    None our manager is great, and keeps staff morale high.

    The Ottawa Hospital2015-08-05
Found 19 reviews