The Ottawa Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

The Ottawa Hospital Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Ottawa Hospital CEO  Jack Kitts
Jack Kitts
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "Healthy Work environment - Pleasant and helpful colleagues(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great people who care about what they are doing(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "You need a lot of years to secure permanent full time with the Union(in 9 reviews)

  • "Staff and resource cuts are used to justify increased workloads/poor moral - easier for poor management to hide(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Summer Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Student in Ottawa, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Extremely friendly staff, beautiful facilities & surrounded by beautiful nature.

    Cons

    Little inconvenient to commute to and fro

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    The Ottawa Hospital2015-09-24
  2. "TOH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Orderly 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay, teaching hospital, lots of learning opportunities

    Cons

    Some floor have terrible staff

    Advice to Management

    Treat aides and orderly like people and not number

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-04-09
  3. "A Huge corporate Family and a Great Place to be Proud to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -A variety of experiences if you prove your performance. - Leadership is trying to steer this giant ship towards better service and better patient care everyday. -Compensation is excellent -A lot of pride with so many accomplishments at the centre

    Cons

    - Sometimes it feels too big if you are looking for an environment that feels more like a small team. -Getting parking can be a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on.

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-08-20
  4. "Very good hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital

    Pros

    I loved working in this hospital. The work environment was good.

    Cons

    nothing negative to say. I enjoyed working there.

    The Ottawa Hospital2013-10-20
  5. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Hours. People. Place. Tasks.

    Cons

    There are only Cons If you see cons

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-07
  6. "A good job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Orderly in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Flexible shifts and lots of potential to move around in the Union

    Cons

    You need a lot of years to secure permanent full time with the Union

    Advice to Management

    None

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-18
  7. "Doing the Best that they Can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, Emergency in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits & HOOP Pension. Excellent place to learn Emergency Medicine. Friendly staff, very supportive colleagues.

    Cons

    It is a very stressful environment & can be verbally abusive . Must be able to remain a calm human being, and not take things personally

    Advice to Management

    Implement a no personal computer time. Retrain your PSW's . Have worked as a PSW in several ER's . Ours are the worst and have pushed away most of our good ones . Like the open door policy & seeing management on the floor saying hi to staff.

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-08
  8. "Awesome benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits pension people access to gym employee discounts and services

    Cons

    Pay is not the greatest in HR

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-08
  9. "Amazing work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing place, so awesome, would like my kids to work their

    Cons

    Not enough pay as wanted

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-08-18
  10. "Good Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staffing Assistant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Healthy Work environment - Pleasant and helpful colleagues

    Cons

    Workload - Instability - Odd work hours

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-08-09
Found 129 reviews