The Ottawa Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

The Ottawa Hospital Reviews

Updated 30 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Ottawa Hospital CEO  Jack Kitts
Jack Kitts
73 Ratings
  1. "Emergency Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding work, fast paced, challenging.

    Cons

    some dirty work involved, rude and unexpected behaviour from patients.

    Advice to Management

    n/a.

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-12-01
  2. "phlebotomist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    hours are great people are awesome

    Cons

    very early start time far from my house

    Advice to Management

    none I love my boss /mangement

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-29
  3. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job security with decent health benefits and pension.

    Cons

    So many professional opportunities that require one to be bilingual.

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to your hard working employees, and give credit to them when it’s due, and not to only those that are your “friends”.

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-27
  4. "A good job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Orderly in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Flexible shifts and lots of potential to move around in the Union

    Cons

    You need a lot of years to secure permanent full time with the Union

    Advice to Management

    None

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-18
  5. "Awesome benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits pension people access to gym employee discounts and services

    Cons

    Pay is not the greatest in HR

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-08
  6. "Doing the Best that they Can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, Emergency in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits & HOOP Pension. Excellent place to learn Emergency Medicine. Friendly staff, very supportive colleagues.

    Cons

    It is a very stressful environment & can be verbally abusive . Must be able to remain a calm human being, and not take things personally

    Advice to Management

    Implement a no personal computer time. Retrain your PSW's . Have worked as a PSW in several ER's . Ours are the worst and have pushed away most of our good ones . Like the open door policy & seeing management on the floor saying hi to staff.

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-08
  7. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Hours. People. Place. Tasks.

    Cons

    There are only Cons If you see cons

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-07
  8. "Amazing work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing place, so awesome, would like my kids to work their

    Cons

    Not enough pay as wanted

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-08-18
  9. "Underappreciated and Harassed by Supervisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospital Porter in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Money and work hours

    Cons

    Pay increase to support staff is too little and overdue. Constant oversupervision of front line staff and nitpicking on frivolous issues and work performance by undertrained Supervisors and lazy Managers who support the poor decision making and professional harassment by inexperienced supervisors. Takes over 10 years to become fulltime porter on a minimal basis if lucky . Manager is very prejudiced to hiring... more visible minority workers and takes forever to respond to workers complaints about workplace issues and suppresses worker complaints by targeting that worker.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your Supervisors and managers on Diversity and ethnic relations and how to manage / supervise a diverse ethnic workforce instead of whitewashing everyone because the Managers and Supervisors lack training. Stop harassing your frontline proven workers and aging population of porters. Pay increase long overdue!

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-08-11
  10. "Good Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staffing Assistant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Healthy Work environment - Pleasant and helpful colleagues

    Cons

    Workload - Instability - Odd work hours

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-08-09
Found 132 reviews