The Ottawa Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

The Ottawa Hospital Reviews

Updated Oct 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Ottawa Hospital CEO  Jack Kitts
Jack Kitts
72 Ratings
  1. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Structured, challenging, opportunity, great people and teams

    Cons

    Lack of empathy and support towards workload, understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Well being needs to be implemented

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-12-13
  2. "Housekeeping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time

    Pros

    Money, hours, less workload, nice bus

    Cons

    Call anytime, sometimes hectic, loads of talks

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-11-24
  3. "Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have a Union that will protect just about anyone and third party benefits aren’t bad

    Cons

    Mental health leave is gone, pay is terrible, zero advancement, patients are cattle, patient privacy/safety is deplorable

    Advice to Management

    Stop worrying what the public thinks and worry about your employees. The public thinks very little of you anyways.

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-09-16
  4. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, supportive management

    Cons

    Little room for growth

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-09-09
  5. "Contract Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Contract Officer in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to learn public sector procurement process, applicable laws and regulations

    Cons

    i haven't found any yet

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-09-07
  6. "The Jury is still out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time

    Pros

    It all depends on the campus you work at

    Cons

    Management- not effective, hard to get things done.

    Advice to Management

    Solutions are way easier than they make it

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-08-28
  7. "Allied health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in

    Cons

    Old buildings needs to be updated

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-07-14
  8. "Good but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO, wants to change culture and attract talent, nice people to work with, respectful colleagues, great pension, very good benefits, some good perks, closed at Christmas for a few days and office closure at 2 pm on Friday during the months of July & August, work from home options are available

    Cons

    Salary is low, building is old and sickly with asbestos, parking is limited and need to park off sight. Organization does not seem to be prepared with update to date and current processes for new staff. Difficult on accepting change, or building a new environment, advancement for growth is sparce

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-07-13
  9. "Hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN W/Degree in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is a commitment for improvement.

    Cons

    Difficulty getting parking and vacation

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-07-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Heart Breaking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It seemed that they cared about me, and some did their best to accommodate me. Some of my trainers seemed friendly and patient.

    Cons

    Trainer on my first day was very abrupt and rude. Some are not patient with new hires, especially those with disabilities.

    Advice to Management

    Please be patient with those who have mental health issues. Accommodate as best you can, and give them a fair shot. I'm heart broken how this turned out as everything got off on the wrong foot. First impressions are huge to me, and if after my first training shift I'm told to quit because I can't handle it? Unfortunately, that sets the tone. I shouldn't have come back and just walked away after the first day.

    The Ottawa Hospital2018-06-09
Found 130 reviews