The Ottawa Hospital "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Ottawa Hospital Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
87%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
The Ottawa Hospital CEO  Jack Kitts
Jack Kitts
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people who care about what they are doing(in 9 reviews)

  • "Healthy Work environment - Pleasant and helpful colleagues(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "You need a lot of years to secure permanent full time with the Union(in 9 reviews)

  • "Staff and resource cuts are used to justify increased workloads/poor moral - easier for poor management to hide(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A good job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Orderly in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Flexible shifts and lots of potential to move around in the Union

    Cons

    You need a lot of years to secure permanent full time with the Union

    Advice to Management

    None

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-10-18
  2. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension plan is perfect for the staff.

    Cons

    Thales a long time to become full time.

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-03-29
  3. "Good place to work, but it takes years to get full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Good wages - Best Pension in Ottawa - Easy work

    Cons

    - Hard to obtain full-time employment -All positions are granted based on seniority - Poor management

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the demands of your staff, they are the frontline workers of the hospital and they have the best idea of what takes place behind closed doors.

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-02-26
  4. "Great team, love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Impatient Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, awesome supportive team of nurses, physicians, and PCAs, reasonable hours, possibility for pension and benefits, ability to move around to different positions.

    Cons

    Glass ceiling and red tape for anyone looking to move up in their career, if you're not an RN or MD, a lot of opportunities are not open to you. Often takes a long time to get to full-time status in a union position, especially if you don't speak French. If you're not bilingual, expect to be severely held back when it comes to finding positions with guaranteed hours.

    Advice to Management

    Smaller nurse-to-patient ratios would optimize level of patient care and job satisfaction for nursing staff. Turnover and extended stress leave are expensive and harmful to corporate culture.

    The Ottawa Hospital2017-08-08
  5. "Rehabilitation worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Rehabilitation Worker in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In the Rehab Center of the Ottawa Hospital, my colleagues are wonderful, helpful, caring, truly a little family. The pay is fair, so are the benefits. I have heard others complain of management etc, but I have not had any negative experiences.

    Cons

    There have been cuts made in the past few years, which means it is harder to get full-time work.

    Advice to Management

    From my experience, keep up the good work!

    The Ottawa Hospital2017-07-26
  6. "Great people, great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers, awesome caring environment, new and clean facilities, provides a great experience for people to continue learning, helpful staff.

    Cons

    No current opportunity to go full time, shifts often run later than scheduled, feel rushed at times to get through everything scheduled.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more oppurtunities for full-time work, extra staff in some departments would be good.

    The Ottawa Hospital2016-01-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Admin Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Ottawa
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital

    Pros

    Great culture, flexible and understanding staff, great support system

    Cons

    Management a bit disconnected, no full time employment, huge budget cuts

    The Ottawa Hospital2015-07-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "We are the number one rehab center in Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Practical Nurse in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital

    Pros

    Our patients are well looked after.

    Cons

    Hard to get a full time position.

    Advice to Management

    Hire full time to prevent burnout and overtime pay outs.

    The Ottawa Hospital2015-05-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very stable environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - There are a lot of options to move around to change specialties or enter into management roles. - 24 hour food options - RACE team is very reliable and accountable - Many renovations lately to modernize the units - Bed-specific electronic blood pressure machines at the bedside - Omnicel electronic drug cabinet - Staffing workers genuinely try to grant time off if possible

    Cons

    - Poor funding priorities (concierge to hold elevators open as a full-time position? I feel like that could be a volunteer position and not an extra weight on our massive debt...) - Change takes a LONG time to be in effect because it's such a massive company - Still paper charting - Beds keep opening and closing causing staffing issues

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Notice how much sick time there has been hospital-wide? You're burning us out. Stop trimming the support services and replacing them with things much more convenient for yourselves.

    The Ottawa Hospital2015-05-14
Found 9 reviews