The Ottawa Hospital "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

The Ottawa Hospital Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
The Ottawa Hospital CEO  Jack Kitts
Jack Kitts
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people who care about what they are doing(in 9 reviews)

  • "Healthy Work environment - Pleasant and helpful colleagues(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "You need a lot of years to secure permanent full time with the Union(in 9 reviews)

  • "Staff and resource cuts are used to justify increased workloads/poor moral - easier for poor management to hide(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Very good hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital

    Pros

    I loved working in this hospital. The work environment was good.

    Cons

    nothing negative to say. I enjoyed working there.

    The Ottawa Hospital2013-10-20
  2. "Good Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staffing Assistant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Healthy Work environment - Pleasant and helpful colleagues

    Cons

    Workload - Instability - Odd work hours

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-08-09
  3. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PSw 

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and staff.

    Cons

    Longer commute than I would have liked.

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-06-15
  4. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Team Oriented Organized Communication Caring Staff Respectful Work Environment

    Cons

    Old Building Staff shouldn't have to pay so much to park Old Equipment Difficult Parking

    The Ottawa Hospital2019-03-27
  5. "Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment, kind bosses, appreciates employees, clean space, team environment, paid breaks

    Cons

    boring work, very tedious, have to jump through many hoops to begin the job

    Advice to Management

    I think its a pretty good work environment for someone beginning a job, or someone who wants a steady job

    The Ottawa Hospital2017-03-30
  6. "Research at TOH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Ontario in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital

    Pros

    I've worked with the company for over 2 years now, and it's a flexible work environment with lots of potential for personal growth

    Cons

    Little chances of moving up (no career advancement opportunities) , no benefits and, cannot afford to keep you permanent.

    Advice to Management

    Place more money into research.

    The Ottawa Hospital2017-02-14
  7. "Flexible and good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at The Ottawa Hospital

    Pros

    Flexible and good working environment, good team spirit and willingness of all employees to assist during busy times, very understanding of family and other commitments.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth, outdated technical systems, hierarchical structure between doctors and other employees

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, and thank you for an excellent experience during my contract period

    The Ottawa Hospital2017-01-09
  8. "HR Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Compassionate employer, great learning environment, challenging work, satisfying, excellent benefits and good overall compensation package. Great working environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes limited due to silos of specialties. Due to size of organization, it is sometimes difficult to affect change.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure to include those who know the job/issue when discussing change, analyzing for gaps, etc.

    The Ottawa Hospital2016-08-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "medical administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at The Ottawa Hospital full-time

    Pros

    It is a great working environment with a wonderful work family at the Eye Institute! Compassionate and caring group of individuals.

    Cons

    It can be very stressful to get certain things done as many people need to be involved and work together as a team to accomplish the end result and sometimes we are understaffed which makes it so difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Please have more support staff available in the clinics to reduce the overall work load and stress levels for everyone.

    The Ottawa Hospital2015-09-20
Found 9 reviews