The Palo Alto Medical Foundation Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
The Palo Alto Medical Foundation CEO Richard Slavin
Richard Slavin
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits, medical, dental, vision(in 23 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, great patient care and pleasant people to work with(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons working with PAMF(in 12 reviews)

  • "there is no cons, good place to work(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Palo Alto Medical Foundation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful support staff and physicians.

    Cons

    Deep levels of management and it's difficult to get to know them.

    The Palo Alto Medical Foundation2020-01-23
  2. "isr"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diagnostic Imaging Representative in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Palo Alto Medical Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, time, competitive, quality of life

    Cons

    nothing that i can think of

    The Palo Alto Medical Foundation2020-05-15
  3. "Overall a good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Palo Alto Medical Foundation part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The staff, benefits, and pay

    Cons

    No union in place for nurses

    The Palo Alto Medical Foundation2020-05-15
  4. "Best managers so far"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Palo Alto Medical Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great vibe from all mangers

    Cons

    They need to weed out the weak and the ones that don't have the drive or passion for healthcare.

    The Palo Alto Medical Foundation2020-03-25
  5. "Well-managed, competitive employer with decent benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Palo Alto Medical Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, good management, respectful work environment

    Cons

    Sometimes understaffed for expected patient load, very corporate environment (acronyms, anyone?), not much room for creativity, absolutely excruciating yearly review process that feels disconnected to the actual job.

    Continue reading
    The Palo Alto Medical Foundation2020-02-17
  6. ""What do you mean this doesn't make sense to you??""

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Palo Alto Medical Foundation full-time

    Pros

    the pay is better than anything else comparable in the area

    Cons

    "What do you mean this doesn't make sense to you??" the actual words said to me by the preceptor in my first couple of weeks. i almost wrote a lengthy description of my experience there, but that sentence is enough. it's gone downhill from there. i had to take a stress leave and it has not improved. this experience has completely marred my entire Healthcare career.

    Continue reading
    The Palo Alto Medical Foundation2020-02-29
  7. "The most toxic environment ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Palo Alto Medical Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, close to home

    Cons

    disorganized training, miscommunication among leadership

    Continue reading
    The Palo Alto Medical Foundation2020-02-10
  8. "Nice Entry Level Position"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Patient Service Representative 

    I have been working at The Palo Alto Medical Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are great and coworkers are friendly!

    Cons

    Pay is not as competitive compared to the other major healthcare providers in the area.

    The Palo Alto Medical Foundation2020-01-04
  9. "Medical Assistant at PAMF"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in Sunnyvale, CA

    I worked at The Palo Alto Medical Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I worked with were great and the benefits were good.

    Cons

    They really overwork you as an MA specially in the dept I was in. There was also some favoritism.

    The Palo Alto Medical Foundation2019-12-22
  10. "Not what I was expecting"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Service Representative in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Palo Alto Medical Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People you work with, networking, things you learn, a good place for starting healthcare employees, EPO insurance is good

    Cons

    Insurance sucks if you aren't EPO. Your copays are high, high deductibles, not good at all. All of my doctors are at UCSF and I've been there for years and because I want to continue care there, I have to choose the worst benefits plan. The pay is too low for what I do. Most of my money goes to health insurance premiums and I'm one person covering for two positions. It's not worth it at all.

    Continue reading
    The Palo Alto Medical Foundation2019-12-07
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 228 Reviews