The Paper Store Reviews | Glassdoor

The Paper Store Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 145 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Tom Anderson
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "employee discount, flexible hours, quaint work environment, good people(in 10 reviews)

  • "TPS is a very comfortable place to work and we always welcome new employees with open arms(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is the pettiest I've ever seen(in 11 reviews)

  • "2 full time employees from my store were reduced to 15 hours a week with no notice(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Phenomenal Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Team Leader in Warwick, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Paper Store full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working for a retailer that understands the balance of change in an evolving climate is exceptionally rewarding. I have worked in some form of retail my entire career. From big box to specialty, hard lines to soft lines, consumable to non-consumable in all aspects, associate, sales professional, operations coordinator, buyer, mid-manager, store manager, area manager. I will be celebrating 25 years of being a retail guru,...

    Show More

    Cons

    When I figure them out I will be sure to post.

    Advice to Management

    Remain approachable, keep listening to us in the field, we continue to make great changes to help support the work we do in stores.

    The Paper Store2019-03-04

    The Paper Store Response

    April 10, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are very happy to be part of your professional happily ever after!

  2. "good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Jewelry Sales Associate in Medford, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Paper Store part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work environment, flexible schedule

    Cons

    nota lot of room to grown

    The Paper Store2019-06-25
  3. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Nashua, NH

    I worked at The Paper Store part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility Considerate Coworkers Busy environment Many different tasks Good compensation

    Cons

    distance if not from the Nashua Area

    The Paper Store2019-05-27

    The Paper Store Response

    May 28, 2019HR Manager

    It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your job and co-workers in Nashua. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

  4. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ramsey, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Paper Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company values Upbeat atmosphere

    Cons

    Too much of same product Need Upgrade tech

    The Paper Store2019-05-09

    The Paper Store Response

    May 10, 2019HR Manager

    Hello, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed working at our Ramsey location. There are benefits to working for a small, family owned business and one of them is great company values. We sincerely appreciate the feedback. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Retail Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hadley, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Paper Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    making money scheduling is easy and coworkers

    Cons

    retail jobs are usually very boring

    Advice to Management

    be nicer

    The Paper Store2019-05-06
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at The Paper Store part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good management and coworkers, friendly enviornment

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      The Paper Store2019-04-08

      The Paper Store Response

      April 10, 2019HR Manager

      It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your time with TPS and especially your coworkers and managers. Thank you for taking the time write a review.

    • "Helpful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Paper Store part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great staff and welcoming to new employees.

      Cons

      No cons, and a great place to work!

      The Paper Store2019-04-07

      The Paper Store Response

      April 10, 2019HR Manager

      We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

    • "Alright."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at The Paper Store part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Fun environment, co-workers are friendly, easy job

        Cons

        When it’s out of season it can get slow, you won’t get many hours.

        The Paper Store2019-03-28

        The Paper Store Response

        April 10, 2019HR Manager

        Thank you for the feedback. There are certain times of the year when business is slower and therefore, there are less hours available to schedule. We understand that can be difficult for our part-time employees. We are glad to hear that overall, you enjoyed working at The Paper Store ...

        Show More
      • "Overall not a bad first job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Key Holder/Lead 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at The Paper Store part-time

        Pros

        Good first retail job

        Cons

        Some of the local managers / merchandisers tended to be cliquey. While it was a good first retail job, I would NOT want to continue working my way up the ladder to a high position.

        The Paper Store2019-03-10

        The Paper Store Response

        April 10, 2019HR Manager

        We are happy to hear that The Paper Store worked out well for your first retail job. We are always striving to improve and appreciate your feedback as well. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

      • Helpful (3)

        "Love this place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Sales Associate in Canton, CT
          Recommends

          I worked at The Paper Store part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          positive work environment, reasonable hours, good upper-management

          Cons

          Inconsistent with hours, sometimes disorganized

          The Paper Store2019-03-01

          The Paper Store Response

          April 10, 2019HR Manager

          Thank you for the feedback. There are certain times of the year when business is slower and therefore, there are less hours available to schedule. We understand that can be difficult for our part-time employees. We are glad to hear that overall, you enjoyed working in our Canton, ...

          Show More
        Found 145 reviews