The Pekoe Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The Pekoe Group Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Pekoe Group full-time

    Pros

    Great environment working with fun people in theatre - who could ask for anything more!

    Cons

    I don't have any to share.

    The Pekoe Group2018-04-02
  2. "Save Yourself The Trouble...Don't Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advertising in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Pekoe Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seeing mostly off-broadway shows. You can see the same ones if you get tickets on TDF for $30.

    Cons

    -Verbal and psychological abuse of employees on a daily basis, in front of everyone -Making at least $10,000 under industry median -Poor management because everyone on staff is 25 -Office gossip and cliques -Lack of communication -Lack of diversity

    Advice to Management

    Everyone on staff hates this place, so fix your morale problem by compensating fairly and being less shady.

    The Pekoe Group2018-12-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Amanda Pekoe, for whom The Pekoe Group is named and who is the public face of the company, is a malevolent psychopath"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Pekoe Group full-time

    Pros

    It paid me money that went into my bank account, with which I could pay rent (barely) and put food in my mouth.

    Cons

    Amanda screamed at me regularly, belittled me in front of the whole staff, and growled at me like a dog when I wasn't able to read her mind or do things for which I wasn't trained. I worked in a tiny office with no windows, separated from the rest of the office by the conference room, under a huge blow-up of her entry in International Who's Who. Working here will make you never want to participate in the theater again,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a therapist and leave the business.

    The Pekoe Group2018-11-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "There are Better Employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Pekoe Group full-time

    Pros

    Free snacks and building amenitities

    Cons

    Lots of yelling from management. Talking down to employees. Uneccessarily high stress situations. A lot of wanna-be-corporate mentalility. Constant states of panic from leaders.

    The Pekoe Group2018-05-18
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Leaving was a good choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advertising Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Pekoe Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I liked my role and getting to put my hands in a lot of different pots

    Cons

    It was like being a part of mean girls. Wearing colors on specific days and being judged constantly by your appearance, what you ate, what you did outside of work. Felt more like Amanda's puppet than getting to be myself. Pay was terrible and I worked hours on end.... and not because I love the Broadway industry. Overworked with little reward.

    The Pekoe Group2018-01-25
  6. "I've heard it gotten better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Pekoe Group full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers were nice. I liked most of our clients and shows we worked out. Had some perks like free show tickets and snacks in the office.

    Cons

    Long hours, low pay. Very little benefits. Sometimes it seemed that no matter what we did, nothing pleased the management team. It's a reason why there was so many turnover during that time period.

    Advice to Management

    It seems like it's gotten better now. That the management team calmed down and really started to trust its staff. So whatever changed, it was for the better.

    The Pekoe Group2017-02-05
  7. "Graphic design intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous 

    I worked at The Pekoe Group

    Pros

    Lot's of work with varied material. Fun environment.

    Cons

    Never got to finish through a solo project from start to finish.

    The Pekoe Group2016-11-14
  8. "Fun and Passionate about Theater"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Pekoe Group full-time

    Pros

    A small company with big ambitions. Working with the team shows that everyone involved is very passionate about theater, marketing, and finding new ways to get the word out. The company is fun and the team is enjoyable to work with and offers lots of knowledge and experience.

    Cons

    Work environment can feel hectic and stressful: projects will often come in extremely last minute and end up being rushed out the door to meet a deadline. Management can sometimes be a bit abrasive to talk to, making it difficult to request feedback or ask questions.

    The Pekoe Group2015-08-12
  9. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Pekoe Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free tickets to shows that we currently are designing for, and it is a small company so we avoid the red tape

    Cons

    Since it's a small company, there's little room for recognition amongst bigger compeittors

    The Pekoe Group2015-08-09
  10. "Seemed fine at first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Pekoe Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free tickets to a broadway show.

    Cons

    If they are looking for a graphic designer don't think that you'll be doing anything creative, you're simply just someone who knows Photoshop, they will tell you exactly what you need to do like a robot. Laughably low pay Told that no talking was allowed, even tho both managers were allowed to talk to each other the part-timers weren't allowed to butt-in to their conversations.

    Advice to Management

    Pay designers a bit more and treat them like human beings.

    The Pekoe Group2015-04-30
Found 10 reviews