The Perfume Shop Reviews | Glassdoor

The Perfume Shop Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
The Perfume Shop CEO Gill Smith
Gill Smith
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lovely colleagues, amazing incentives and staff discount, enjoyed the atmosphere(in 12 reviews)

  • "Freebies, friendly team, targets to reach which is motivating(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Exciting, fast-paced work environment. No two days are the same!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Perfume Shop

    Pros

    Medium size company with a small head office, very hands on, you will learn a lot in a short amount of time. Good people to work with, you will get to know everyone.

    Cons

    The location of the head office is probably the biggest challenge. Also not being able to take time off over the Christmas period.

    The Perfume Shop2014-06-12
  2. "Part time sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Perfume Shop

    Pros

    -Great work colleagues at my store -Easy product to sell, most customers know what they want and come for the prices

    Cons

    -Low pay -Not many opportunities to progress beyond store manager level -Lack of variety in the type of work at the store level

    Advice to Management

    Store management was fine, not much contact with levels further up the chain though this may have been because I was part-time

    The Perfume Shop2016-09-20
  3. "Great to work for when the company is doing well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Perfume Shop part-time

    Pros

    Great Incentives and 6 weeks holidays a year

    Cons

    Hours totally diverse every week

    The Perfume Shop2019-10-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company To Kickstart Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Romford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Perfume Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enthusiastic, Fun, Engaging, Career Boosting

    Cons

    Rude Customers, Long Days, Slow

    Advice to Management

    Keep Up The Good Work

    The Perfume Shop2019-10-01
  5. "Helpful and friendly atmosphere throughout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fragrance Consultant 

    I worked at The Perfume Shop part-time

    Pros

    Very friendly staff, everyone very helpful, good pay & lots of benefits

    Cons

    Hours can be a bit muddled

    The Perfume Shop2019-10-03
  6. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Perfume Shop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing staff Friendly environment Fun place to work Pay is good Opportunity to progress

    Cons

    There is none! I love my job!

    The Perfume Shop2019-09-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "sales assistant job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at The Perfume Shop part-time

    Pros

    nice team to work with in shop, but people higher than managers didnt care about staff below.

    Cons

    Understaffed, staff had to work different shops due to this too.

    The Perfume Shop2019-09-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Had a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Temp Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Perfume Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely colleagues, amazing incentives and staff discount, enjoyed the atmosphere

    Cons

    None to fault for this work place

    The Perfume Shop2019-09-12
  9. "Bad experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Perfume Shop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff Sales/discounts, people are generally nice

    Cons

    Horrible building. Management in this certain department are extremely incompetent and lack interpersonal skills, there is poor organisation, lack of development, culture is a fear based one. high turnover, unhappy staff. Junior staff members are mistreated. A lot of favouritism occurs. Low salaries, unrealistic company targets. a lot of contractors as nobody wants to be a permanent member. I could go on... forever.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clear defined roles for each staff member, recruit staff in a timely manner, offer support for staff in need of development especially the younger ones. Create a more supportive environment. Pay industry rates. Working late does not make a good employee, it just means you are inefficient. Allow flexible working/ work from home.

    The Perfume Shop2019-09-07
  10. "Nasty environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Perfume Shop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incentives Smelling nice That’s about it

    Cons

    Terrible salary Management would change your shifts without notifying you and would also take shifts away from you Store managers are bullies and all gossip amongst each other Far too much is expected of you Junior staff always made to work at weekends with no rotations

    The Perfume Shop2019-09-15
Found 144 reviews