The Queen Mary Reviews | Glassdoor

The Queen Mary Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
The Queen Mary CEO John Murphy (no image)
John Murphy
7 Ratings
  1. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Queen Mary full-time

    Pros

    Historic, great people, fast paced.

    Cons

    I have none at this time.

    The Queen Mary2018-11-10
  2. "Waste of Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Queen Mary full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Only reason why I stayed there for two years was the people were great to work with.

    Cons

    managment makes extra "bonus" at events while worker sit in the sun for 8 hours straight.

    The Queen Mary2019-06-10
  3. "A Historic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Queen Mary full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Since it is a hotel, they feed you everyday - You meet amazing people - Fascinating history

    Cons

    - Nepotism tends to happen - Pay tends to be at the lower end of the industry

    The Queen Mary2019-02-04
  4. "Dark Harbor -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bartender 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Queen Mary part-time

    Pros

    Tips in addition to minimum wage. 4 free tickets to attend the Dark Harbor event. Good job experience.

    Cons

    Completely disorganized and no sense of direction. The manager has good intentions for her team, but there is minimal to no training. In order to know what you are doing in your role, it's best to ask your coworkers who have worked the event a previous year. Bartenders/Bar attendants are responsible for setting-up and closing down their bars. When ice or alcohol was running low, it would take more than 20 minutes for bar backs to bring supplies. Angry customers all the time and for good reason! Alcohol in VIP section was bottom shelf and overall not adequately staffed...being yelled at was common. How can we run out of alcohol every night, we can't do our jobs right!

    Continue reading
    The Queen Mary2018-11-04
  5. "Parking lot attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Queen Mary part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Parking Attendants are union which is good

    Cons

    Can’t trust HR. Managers are very inappropriate with there female coworkers. Working at Queen Mary is like being in the series the walking dead. Everyone is out for them selves and you never know who’s goos turn on you.

    The Queen Mary2018-09-07
  6. "Usher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Usher in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Queen Mary part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours and cool location

    Cons

    Some of the management were bad, but not all of them. Some of the employees that are hired as temps are bad as well. Since they know their jobs will end in a few months, they carry a "I don't care" attitude about everything.

    Continue reading
    The Queen Mary2018-08-20
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Queen Mary full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Perks, team is all very welcoming

    Cons

    Can’t think of anything at this time

    Continue reading
    The Queen Mary2018-07-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "management is horrific"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulltime in Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Queen Mary full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good staff, only reason this place is still running

    Cons

    Management is horrible, they abuse of employees , lie about company policies , and are unqualified to lead, provide no help to staff

    Continue reading
    The Queen Mary2018-07-06
  9. "Ticketing Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ticket Agent in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Queen Mary full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely Flexible Hours ( great for students)

    Cons

    No room for growth You Must work Holidays, No Excuse Guidelines and rules Constantly changing Pay Stays the same ( Union Based) Conflict of Interest with employees and Management Long Hours During Hallowen and Christmas Season.

    The Queen Mary2018-04-10
  10. "Human Resource Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Queen Mary part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule Opportunity to learn Friendliness of everyone

    Cons

    I don't have anything negative to say, I enjoy working here.

    The Queen Mary2017-12-04
Found 21 reviews