The RealReal "free lunch" Reviews | Glassdoor

The RealReal Employee Reviews about "free lunch"

Updated Feb 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
36%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
The RealReal Founder & CEO Julie Wainwright
Julie Wainwright
217 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch/Free bagels once a week(in 29 reviews)

  • "Hands on experience with all different luxury designers(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "It feels like all the worst parts of high school(in 24 reviews)

  • "MANAGEMENT (they always talk about internal promotions but so far I've only seen external hiring for upper management/higher positions i(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free lunch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "they know how to treat their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Help Desk Technician in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They give free lunch Mondays and pizza once every month

    Cons

    I don't have nothing negative to say about the company

    The RealReal2019-08-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Best of Luck."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You can have your phone with you throughout the day. - Work independently (post training). - If you focus on hitting your quota, no one will bother you. - Free lunch/Free bagels once a week. - Decent benefits package.

    Cons

    - Poorly lead management. - Managers smoking on duty, never around to help. - Terrible HR department. - High turnover rates. - No consistency with rules/regulations. - Favoritism with promotions. - No sense of team. - Fake merchandise. - Fluctuating work hours dependent on product flow. - Low pay. - Long hours. - High work-injury rate. - Unhealthy food options in cafeteria. - Higher ups with poor social skills (they don’t know how to talk to people).

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2020-02-08
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Not a forever job. Keep looking. Only work here if you know the managers personally."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Fashion Copywriter in Secaucus, NJ
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal

    Pros

    You will learn how to play the game of “sucking up” to be promoted! Being educated and bringing knowledge to the industry is not needed. It’s more about who your friends with and what boss your kissing up to during that time! YES... Friday and Saturday you get free bagels. Monday’s free lunch Cupcakes and pizza once a month BUT... when it is free food day the cafeteria is a total zoo. Most definitely is a safety hazard with the numbers of people fighting over a seat... I’d much rather have more money or a better management team then free food....

    Cons

    At first it seems like a pretty good job that can potentially become a career. After a few weeks you are expected to hit a ridiculous goal. I promise your eyes, back, and shoulders will be killing you after 6 months. Everyday for 8+ or 10+ hours you sit at your tight desk with terrible lighting and process items all day long. The goal is constantly being raised for no reason. Because of this, it forces copywriters to rush to hit the goal causing mistakes and sloppy work. ( That’s why Therealreal.com is a mess and filled with grammatical errors ) Not every item goes through the authentication department.... like they market... MOST of the product is being “authenticated” by a team of copywriters that only have experience in a retail store. Most of these people have 0 training in luxury fashion besides the 50 slideshows that are constantly being emailed to them from the authentication managers. On top of authenticating every single item, you will be expected to price and add collection information if you can find it on GOOGLE... The management team is a bunch of childhood besties; especially the directors. You literally have no one to confide in when things aren’t right. You will be treated unfair after you open up. Promotions and raises are made up out of thin air and given to uneducated/ unqualified individuals.... Promotions overall are handed out based on ‘enthusiasm, style and grace’ rather than knowledge and what that person brings to the table... and that’s just in the copywriting department, the receiving team is another problem.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-09-20
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Not Great At All"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, that's about it.

    Cons

    Awful atmosphere, petty management, it was overall a sad a demoralizing place.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-09-19
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Copywriter-Secaucus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriting in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch once a week

    Cons

    There are holes in the ceiling of the women's bathroom. There is little to no opportunity for growth. Your responsibilities will increase ten fold, but you will receive the minimum raise every review.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-06-04
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Thumbs Down!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch 3 times a week, health benefits and overtime opportunities

    Cons

    PTO system, Poor office culture and environment

    The RealReal2019-06-02
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great Industry Job and Opportunity; Management structure needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Photo Production Assistant in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, great networking opportunities, learning valuable and translatable knowledge, the photo team stuck together; teamwork was very strong and supportive. Generous and mandatory overtime and an incentive percentage program are opportunities to make more money. Great benefits and perks.

    Cons

    Company is a revolving door. Class action suit waiting to happen if they don't listen to the needs of their employees. Paying NJ state taxes if you commute from neighboring states. Too many changes in upper level management. Management can play favorites/politics sometimes.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-04-22

    The RealReal Response

    May 1, 2019

    Hello! Thank you so much for your constructive review as we truly appreciate your words & suggestions. We would absolutely welcome to speak with you 1:1 to make sure we understand your concerns and advice to build further engagement. Thank you again for the work you do and choosing to be part of our company!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunches. Shuttle to train. Good flexible hours.

    Cons

    Long hours with a lot of work.

    The RealReal2019-03-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Solid job, very repetitive work in most positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Secaucus, NJ
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty laidback environment, used to have free lunches but the companies growing a lot. Co workers are friendly and helpful. Benefits are pretty good

    Cons

    Little room for actual advancement. Once your in the role of a specific position it's hard to deviate

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2018-02-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving Lead in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started with the company in 2015 as a Fashion receiver, with the mindset that i wanted to grow with the company. Within two years of hard work and dedication i did just that. I went from a Fashion receiver to a Senior receiver to a Receiving Lead in 2 years. There's always opportunity here for growth, you just have to speak up and work hard. I even left the company for a month for personal reasons and was hired back with no problem! TRR also offers Free lunch 2 days during the week, Shuttles to and from the train stations for employees who us public transportation, 401k plans , Great benefit packages and Paid holidays off. The people here are really nice and helpful. What i like most about the company is your involved in what is going in. They have live meetings with the entire company where CEO is informing us whats happening with the company so you will always be aware of change and why it's happening. If your into Luxury fashion and want a place to work with growth...This is the place to be!

    Cons

    No more free lunch everyday.

    The RealReal2018-01-05

    The RealReal Response

    January 5, 2018Head of People

    So happy to hear your TRR story. Love that you left and came back, and now took the time to write this!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 29 reviews