The RealReal "luxury" Reviews | Glassdoor

The RealReal Employee Reviews about "luxury"

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
37%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
The RealReal Founder & CEO Julie Wainwright
Julie Wainwright
217 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch/Free bagels once a week(in 29 reviews)

  • "Hands on experience with all different luxury designers(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "It feels like all the worst parts of high school(in 24 reviews)

  • "MANAGEMENT (they always talk about internal promotions but so far I've only seen external hiring for upper management/higher positions i(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "luxury"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving Lead in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started with the company in 2015 as a Fashion receiver, with the mindset that i wanted to grow with the company. Within two years of hard work and dedication i did just that. I went from a Fashion receiver to a Senior receiver to a Receiving Lead in 2 years. There's always opportunity here for growth, you just have to speak up and work hard. I even left the company for a month for personal reasons and was hired back with no problem! TRR also offers Free lunch 2 days during the week, Shuttles to and from the train stations for employees who us public transportation, 401k plans , Great benefit packages and Paid holidays off. The people here are really nice and helpful. What i like most about the company is your involved in what is going in. They have live meetings with the entire company where CEO is informing us whats happening with the company so you will always be aware of change and why it's happening. If your into Luxury fashion and want a place to work with growth...This is the place to be!

    Cons

    No more free lunch everyday.

    The RealReal2018-01-05

    The RealReal Response

    January 5, 2018Head of People

    So happy to hear your TRR story. Love that you left and came back, and now took the time to write this!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (7)

    "The worst work experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Making monthly goals in store gets you a 500$ check once a month (must make the goal) - Surrounded with some of the highest value luxury goods -Some TRR employees are the best of the best (not management)

    Cons

    - Work conditions are horrendous - Management are the biggest flaw of the entire operation - No communication -Write ups for pretty much any reason they desire (if you aren’t kissing butt) -NO PROMOTIONS FROM WITHIN(unless you’re friends with a manager already) -The More work you’re expected to do the less you get paid. Any so many more cons

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-09-08
  3. Helpful (3)

    "A startup with room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn about luxury fashion.

    Cons

    Everybody is overworked and underpaid. Long hours, no holidays. Focus is on quantity over quality.

    The RealReal2019-05-02
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ALM in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stocked kitchen.... seeing awesome one of a kind luxury pieces come in before they are available to the public for sale? I mean the concept is great and I will continue to support the company and buy from them but i wouldnt tell my worst enemy to work there.

    Cons

    Absolutely the worst job position I ever had. Abusive rude managers who were unrealistic and caddy. The job itself is obscene where you are literally schelping designer crap to and from peoples homes like a messenger.... however that is just one facet to this never ending sad job. Unrealistic quotas, petty criticism instead of praise.... and then there is the core group of employees that have been there since the begining of it all and think they are some kind of high school esq elitests. I could go on but I think you get the general gist.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-05-10
  5. "Studio Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Studio in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal

    Pros

    -Comfortable environment -Everyone answered any questions I had and was willing to help -Hands on experience with all different luxury designers -No judgment on not knowing everything about every designer out there ( a plus for an art major interested in fashion) -Employees are all super nice and friendly Overall a great experience!

    Cons

    -Not great portfolio work because your job is mostly organizing and steaming

    The RealReal2019-02-14
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, free snacks, working with luxury items

    Cons

    Majority of upper management is unqualified, have been promoted by seniority instead of business acumen. Physical labor carrying upwards of 30lbs of clothing a day, many people in the office complain of back and neck pain. Negative employees, seems no one is happy to be there. Salary is not aligned with workload.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2018-03-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Luxury Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Luxury Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at TheRealReal for almost a year now. I can honestly say this has been the best place I have ever worked. It's not just all of our love for luxury items, but you can't beat working at a company that truly cares about you. I come into work everyday so excited to be here, and I can't wait to see how much I grow within this company.

    Cons

    I can't think of one con for this company. You have to come into working here that it is a fast pace environment because we are a start up company, which makes working here so exciting. There is constant change and constant test runs for new things, but being a part of that type of culture, while being successful is very exciting.

    The RealReal2017-09-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Sr. Director of Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work for an authentic, growing, start up which is well established and on it's way to becoming a major player in the luxury market.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons at all.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2017-09-07

    The RealReal Response

    September 12, 2017Head of People

    Thanks for your review and you are right, it's all about talent. We've had some bumps, but watch us grow!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Poised on the brink of greatness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal

    Pros

    There is such an impressive group of people who work at TRR. They are all so motivated to do the right thing and grow the business. This company has started a new eCommerce industry in luxury consignment. It is a great time to join the company with its recent funding and pre IPO status.

    Cons

    The company has grown so quickly there is an exciting opportunity to build a great team that will continue to fuel its growth.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2017-08-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is growing - fast. Everyone is busy, and working hard to better the organization as a whole. The RealReal plays a part in a few different industries/categories: Fashion/Retail (Luxury Products), eCommerce, and sustainable products (a way to repurpose/recycle products). Each person hired in does not have to fit into all categories simultaneously, which gives everyone a fair shot to prove themselves in a role they are interested in. On the same note, everyone hired in really does have a specific purpose with their team and overall end goal with the organization, so you really get to see the contributions you make. From the time a consigner hears about us, speaks/meets with us, and their product is put up and sold on the site; there is someone in the process that played a big part in making it happen. You get exposure to all sides of the organization - everyone is involved We get to look at beautiful high end products, and meet/network with great people. Overall, there is a lot of opportunity for career growth and personal advancement.

    Cons

    We move fast - and sometimes that's overwhelming. We are still in start-up mode - again, we move fast, and what's more: you've got to be able to make efficient decisions on your own. Even with all the people we are bringing in, you're still acting as an independent contributor because of the fact that each role is so specific and often crucial in the consumer experience. Structure is still being solidified - in 6 years, we've seen some tremendous growth. To account for the growth, the organization is outgrowing old processes - which sometimes can cause disruption in your day-to-day work flow depending on how long you've been with us. It's normal to see in fast-growing companies, but can be difficult to juggle/manage.

    The RealReal2017-07-21

    The RealReal Response

    August 17, 2017Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write of your experience, and yes, we have growing pains and are always in a learning mode. We welcome feedback, and know we ask a lot of people, and also give a lot of opportunity.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews