The RealReal "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

The RealReal Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
36%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
The RealReal Founder & CEO Julie Wainwright
Julie Wainwright
217 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch/Free bagels once a week(in 29 reviews)

  • "Hands on experience with all different luxury designers(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "It feels like all the worst parts of high school(in 24 reviews)

  • "MANAGEMENT (they always talk about internal promotions but so far I've only seen external hiring for upper management/higher positions i(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Ideal for Recent Grads or Someone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copy Writer 

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time

    Pros

    I will always point out the positive in anything prior to pointing out the negative. Here at The RealReal it’s an way place to learn about key industry trends consindering it’s necessary to stay abreast on certain things as a copywriter. They do feed you weekly and provide bagels every Friday.

    Cons

    The downsides to working here, I’ll just list them below; • underpaid • copywriters are not valued( so if you do get job here just make sure it’s in management) that is the only way the company will respect you and care about what you have to say. • there is constant change every week. • promoting people who are not qualified • lack of communication from upper management • the company does not set you up for success within the company. They don’t anticipate copywriters to want to move out of the role and if so expect to be in that role for a very long time.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-02-26

    The RealReal Response

    February 28, 2019

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback, we truly appreciate the opportunity to do better. We value all of our employees and aim to support their growth within the company. Our HR team in Brisbane/Secaucus is there to support you in every way with concerns or to better understand the growing potential from Copywriting. Thank you again!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Operational mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Manager in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    See some interesting products come into inventory. I'm an advocate for recycling and sustainability.

    Cons

    Lots of turnover with operations. Leadership is rarely even at the warehouse. Meanwhile we are trying to cobble together various inventory and warehouse systems to help "automate" a supply chain that is massively human capital intensive and cannot be handled by machines. Upper management has no grasp of this reality and blames the constant service shortfalls on ops when in fact they've set totally unattainable goals and made unrealistic promises to customers and probably their bankers too. The whole business model is totally flawed. It is painfully obvious at the ops level, hence the low morale and insanely high turnover. Lower level turnover has gotten really bad lately as management has cut wages from $25 to $15 to save money when they realized they we can’t automate and handle increasing volumes as they’d hoped. At one point last year it was rumored internally that we were going to close down. I’ve worked at multiple logistics companies and RealReal is an unfixable mess.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-09-27
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Do not work here!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consignor Relations in Brisbane, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bagels, and the agents I worked with were great.

    Cons

    HR, Upper management is not knowledgeable, unorganized, and the pay is not competitive, no room for growth.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-08-22
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Bad Habits, Bad Eggs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Retail environment, free standing stores

    Cons

    Lunches often no provided, rude upper management, take advantage of employees times. Get the offer the verbal tell you in writing before signing on. Leadership gets defensive when asked questions. Consignments are labeled with a post it and then shoved into a room with zero care. They are then shoved into a non a/c controlled van. There is zero care taken with your items. I have seen Hermes and Chanel bags under heavy boxes with no care. Fine jewelry missing, unlabeled or just lay around desk drawers with no idea where it belongs. Customers are lied to. They over book appointments for consignors with no ability to actually help people when they arrive. You are being set up to be over worked, under paid and frankly it is like working with a bunch of people who are talking about you behind your back. You will receive no coaching. A training in the form of slide shows you'll be interrupting alone with no facilitator, you'll hit the floor and be told they are a start up. It is a lot of smoke and mirrors go look into jobs at the gap.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-06-06
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Extremely.... meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time

    Pros

    - The people! - $50 monthly food credit - Schedule (4 10 hour days) - Do not have to deal with customers

    Cons

    - MANAGEMENT (they always talk about internal promotions but so far I've only seen external hiring for upper management/higher positions i.e seniors/leads, not very personable at ALL, hypocritical) - nepotism - HIGH TURNOVER - tell people what they can/can not do during their break

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2018-12-28

    The RealReal Response

    January 3, 2019

    Thank you so much for your feedback as we are always looking for opportunities to grow and develop. We truly value our employees career growth and our HR team has worked hard to build career paths for our employees specifically at Brisbane. We would recommend sitting with your hiring manager to voice these concerns, and develop a personal growth plan. Thank you for all that you do!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Decent Pay, The Best Co-workers, but Outrageous Hours and Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photographer in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The redeeming quality of The RealReal, at least in the photo department is that you will meet the best people. Your coworkers are supportive and fun, which is especially needed with how hard upper management pushes you to reach quotas. Your leads will do the best they can for you. The pay is also decent. Having benefits as photographer is a nice touch. It's also interesting to be around and see a lot of designer clothes, shoes, and accs.

    Cons

    The expectations are very high here. Upper management have a lot of pressure to maintain and keep up with quotas, and the production teams are directly effected because of it. It's hard to not feel like a number in the system here, at least in view of management. Its hard to maintain a healthy work-life balance when working here. Overtime is mandatory and can get exhausting.

    The RealReal2018-08-27
  7. Helpful (15)

    "Completely horrifying and depressing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Manager in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good health insurance and PTO

    Cons

    This place is like a dark dungeon with no natural light, poor air circulation, and bathrooms that flood and smell like decomposing bodies. The corporate culture is similar to that of high school but worse. There are very few in upper management positions that have actual experience to make them qualified. Don’t waste your time with this dump!

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2018-08-28
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, free snacks, working with luxury items

    Cons

    Majority of upper management is unqualified, have been promoted by seniority instead of business acumen. Physical labor carrying upwards of 30lbs of clothing a day, many people in the office complain of back and neck pain. Negative employees, seems no one is happy to be there. Salary is not aligned with workload.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2018-03-08
  9. Helpful (27)

    "A company full of micromanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Account Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You meet a couple really great, hardworking people.

    Cons

    Let me start by stating that please take those negative reviews seriously, and that the positive reviews may have been written by management to balance it's low score. Please make sure to read this thoroughly especially if you're considering going into sales for this company. -PTO that was once offered was retracted and can now only take the time off if you have accrued it. So you cannot take a long vacation until you've been at that company for 6 months. Not able to take unpaid time off, and will get written up if you call out for more than one day, even if it's for a doctor's appointment. -Cannot take time off for a doctor's appointment, even if it's for 2 hours. If you don't have the PTO accrued, they'll treat it as if you were to call out sick. Not allowed to use unpaid time off for doctor's appointments without consequences. -Director coming in at 10am and leaving before 4pm most days. Will take time off for family but won't allow the same for their employees. -Negative atmosphere, no one is happy and is just being treated like a robot, not caring about the well-being of their employees and their families. They will threaten you with your job if you call out sick for more than one day. -Unequal pay, some sales people are making significantly less in commission than others -No free snacks, food (other than bagels on Friday). They have a third party set up shop in the office where you have to pay for any food or snacks via machine. They only provide tea, coffee, milk, and water (water cooler doesn't even give cold water, only room temperature) -They reprimand you if you go to upper management or HR for assistance -Most sales teams in any company can be loud, but you will get in trouble if you are even a little loud on the phone, but executives can scream and clap as loud as they want. -Zero praise for hard work, they just make you work harder and expects you to do more. They don't value their employees. -Directors were once copywriters for the company, having zero previous experience in management and sales. Not appreciative of the hard work their employees do and will be condescending to them. Also will be very passive if any major issues arise (including serious ones brought to HR). They also have this bullying tactic that they use on their employees to make them unapproachable. They have families but won't allow their employees to call out if their children are sick, but will take the day off if their significant others are sick. -Directors were once copywriters for the company, having zero previous experience in management and sales. Not appreciative of the hard work their employees do and will be condescending to them. Also will be very passive if any major issues arise (including serious ones brought to HR). They also have this bullying tactic that they use on their employees to make them unapproachable. They have families but won't allow their employees to call out if their children are sick, but will take the day off if their significant others are sick. -No sales training, only trained by other team members. -Very much a "burn and churn" atmosphere both in HQ and in the warehouses. -Very cliquey and a lot of favoritism. Management will allow some people to get away with things that others would get in trouble for. -CEO and other executives are trying on outfits in the bathroom instead of running the business. -They don't even provide you with the basic supplies. I had to wait 3 months to even get a cabinet at my desk. I had to take it from someone when they were leaving the company.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2018-02-14
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Run While You Still Can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My fellow co-workers are the only thing that keeps me going in this place. They are amazing, hardworking, genuine, and creative people.

    Cons

    Oh boy where to start. Working at TheRealReal is like having all the life sucked out of you. There is absolutely ZERO work/life balance here as there is REQUIRED overtime, not just once a month as they tell you in the interview, but practically every day. Getting to leave at your scheduled end time is a damn miracle. The pay is abysmal for northern NJ so you feel like you need to work overtime to survive. You only get one 30 min break for the entire time you're there, which is unethical. The work itself is "easy" as in you don't really need prior experience, but it is HARD work. It's very physically intense and you will be mentally and physically exhausted by the end of your shift. The expectations for this job are positively ridiculous. The managers work you to the bone and push their employees so hard that I've witnessed several of my coworkers have breakdowns at work. The minimum quota they have in your contract is a joke as the managers will set up their own daily goals for you to hit instead, which can be up to twice as high. You are not allowed to leave until you hit these goals, even if you've been there for 10+ hours with only 1 thirty min break. There is no separation between "sick time", PTO, or vacation time, which I had never experienced before, as even as a part-time retail employee I had separate sick days. Upper management is unapproachable and treats their workers like children. They will micromanage you and if you dare ask questions or speak up about anything they will talk down and belittle you. HR is a different beast. One of my coworkers had a fellow employee make degrading and sexual remarks to her and when she went to HR they asked what she had done to provoke him. UNBELIEVABLE. After that incident, I have refused to talk to HR about anything as I can see they truly have no respect for the employees of this company. These are just some of the reasons this company has so many 1 star reviews and such a high turnover rate. I will not be surprised if this company goes under sooner rather then later.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2018-01-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 20 reviews