The Record Reviews | Glassdoor

The Record Reviews

Updated May 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
40%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
The Record Chief Executive Officer Kirk Davis
Kirk Davis
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Record part-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed being the ad manager for the record as I gained a lot of experience working with clients.

    Cons

    The only negative is that this job is stipend based so it varies from year to year. Other than that there are no cons.

    Continue reading
    The Record2017-05-22
  2. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial/Library 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Record full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work for , the employees were very nice to work with.

    Cons

    I wish I wouldn't have moved out of state.

    The Record2019-05-13
  3. "INTERN AT RECORD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Record

    Pros

    experience, ability to learn new things

    Cons

    uncomfortable office atmosphere, felt out of place

    Continue reading
    The Record2018-11-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Stockton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Record

    Pros

    AV Dedicated and hardworking sales & editorial (what's left) staff.

    Cons

    Non competitive compensation. Poor leadership at the helm of sales group.

    Continue reading
    The Record2016-05-19
  5. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at The Record

    Pros

    Many of the reporters and editors are topnotch, and collegial. New Jersey is a great place to cover. Never dull.

    Cons

    Low, low salaries. Sometimes it's difficult to break free from the expected way to do things to try something new.

    The Record2016-04-16
  6. "short-lived"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Stockton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Record full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    compensation package is excellent. great location.

    Cons

    measuabled high goals that can not be reached. short-term employment.

    The Record2013-10-30
  7. "Has seen better years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Stockton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at The Record

    Pros

    You have the opportunity to really get out and work with the community, and people in and around the city. Our work touches the lives of individuals and businesses all over the county, and to be a part of everything going on is a wonderful experience.

    Cons

    Amongst the employees there is a fair amount of camaraderie, unfortunately it’s like the camaraderie shared bye prisoners or a hostages during a bank robbery. You all share in a mutual misery and oppression, just hoping to make it through as a group.

    Continue reading
    The Record2010-02-27
  8. "Newspaper Deliverer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Record

    Pros

    Close to home delivery so not much walking required to get to the houses that required the flyers. The job was twice a week with flexible hours to deliver the newspapers.

    Cons

    Lots of houses to deliver to so it took a lot of time. I also sometimes had to deliver flyers in unfavourable conditions.

    The Record2017-02-09
  9. "Copy Chief at The Record"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Copy Chief 
    Recommends

    I worked at The Record

    Pros

    Challenging, interesting, casual environment, competitive pay, pride of staff in doing what it takes to put out work that is more than just good.

    Cons

    long hours, deadline stress, little privacy, a few editors who have unjustifiably big egos which impact their decision making.

    Continue reading
    The Record2010-07-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews