The Red Door Reviews | Glassdoor

The Red Door Reviews

Updated October 5, 2017
126 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
W. Todd Walter
56 Ratings

126 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Poor management and corporate structure (in 11 reviews)

  • Front desk stands up all day and can be physically demanding (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Red Door full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I started working at The Red Door as a Guest Service Representative when a new location opened near my home a few years ago. I immediately was drawn to the culture and my coworkers. I have never worked in a salon or spa before with such helpful coworkers and hands on management. Since the beginning I was always asked where I saw myself within the company and that spoke volumes to me. I was promoted to Guest Service Manager under 2 years and then promoted to Assistant General Manager after another few years. I was able to work at a few different locations since 4 locations were so close together. I loved learning what each location had to offer and teach me.
    The in spa benefits are amazing!!
    Working for a corporation has so many wonderful benefits but my favorite is that there are expert professionals in the field. If I ever had a question that I did not know how to answer, I always felt comfortable calling or emailing corporate.

    Cons

    Working in the retail/beauty/wellness/hospitality industry has you working most weekends and holidays but that is also expected. Flexible schedules allow you to switch working days if you need off for an event.

    Advice to Management

    Continue keeping up with the trends while upholding Elizabeth Arden's legacy

    The Red Door Response

    Sep 5, 2017

    Thank you for your wonderful review about us. It is excellent to hear how you continued to work hard to grow your career and succeeded!
    We are open 7 days a week to provide the best services for... More


  2. "GSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Red Door full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Co workers are great and nice

    Cons

    Pay is terrible and the work is long

  3. "Rewarding Career at The Red Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate
    Current Employee - Corporate
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Red Door full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Wonderful group of hardworking, talented individuals throughout the company. Opportunities for advancement if you are willing to put in the work. Great benefits and discounts. Flexible management who understand work/life balance.

    Cons

    Bonus program needs updating;

    Advice to Management

    Increase structure and alignment of upper management

    The Red Door Response

    Sep 1, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Red Door. It is a pleasure to see that you have been with us for over 10 years! As a company, we pride ourselves on work/life balance and part of... More


  4. "Nail Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nail Technician in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Nail Technician in Chicago, IL

    I worked at The Red Door full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    /"

    Pay Culture Team members Reputation Locations

    Cons

    I don't have any cons about this company

    The Red Door Response

    Sep 1, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts on the pros of working for The Red Door!


  5. "Full of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Garden City, NY
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Garden City, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Red Door full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Where to start...coworkers are great, the company offers training, support and opportunities for growth. I feel strongly that this company can lead to years of job satisfaction. Great discounts and wonderful technicans that give great services with a smile. Beautiful place to work. Flexible schedule & good benefits.

    Cons

    Of course hard work is necessary in order to get recognized in any position. No real cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging and supporting your workers. Those who take advantage of all your opportunities will and of course recognition goes a long way.

    The Red Door Response

    Sep 1, 2017

    Thank you for your honest review about us! Training, support and opportunities for growth are very important to us to offer as a company and we are glad to see that you recognize it. Putting in... More


  6. "Good place to start working within the customer service field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Representative in Fairfax, VA
    Former Employee - Guest Service Representative in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The staff and team are great people. You can learn a lot of transferable skills. Management is understanding of work-life balance.

    Cons

    It's the retail and customer service field. Front desk stands up all day and can be physically demanding. Environment is stressful although it's where other people come to relieve stress.

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    The Red Door Response

    Sep 1, 2017

    Thank you for writing a review about The Red Door by Elizabeth Arden on Glassdoor. If you are looking for a career in the hospitality, beauty or wellness industry we are a great place to start and... More


  7. "Nail tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nail Technician in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Nail Technician in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Red Door (More than a year)

    Pros

    Steady clients and pay. High commission

    Cons

    Too much drama among employees

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible with vacation schedule

    The Red Door Response

    Sep 1, 2017

    Thank you for reviewing The Red Door in Washington, DC. Guest satisfaction is very important to us so it is wonderful to hear that you have built your book with returning guests!

  8. "was great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Red Door full-time

    Pros

    was awesome place to work

    Cons

    not sure, but was great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    professional

    The Red Door Response

    Sep 1, 2017

    Thank you for reviewing us on Glassdoor. We appreciate your feedback and love to hear that you enjoyed working with us. Opportunities are always available and we hope to cross paths again!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Love the culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Red Door full-time

    Pros

    Love the people I work with and my supervisor is supportive and cares about me!

    Cons

    would like to make more money, but I know a number of people who have left for more money and ended up missing the Red Door work culture so it wasn't worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep carefully recruiting new associates so that we keep our great culture and team oriented work environment!

    The Red Door Response

    Sep 1, 2017

    Thank you for your wonderful review about The Red Door! We pride ourselves on creating and maintaining a beautiful and positive culture just like Elizabeth Arden started back in 1910.


  10. "GSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at The Red Door part-time

    Pros

    Services and product discounts are good

    Cons

    Pay is low and no raises

    The Red Door Response

    Sep 1, 2017

    Thank you for writing about your experience with us. We appreciate all feedback and strive to be the best we can be to our guests and employees.


Showing 126 of 127 reviews
Reset Filters