The Refinery Creative Reviews | Glassdoor

The Refinery Creative Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Refinery Creative CEO Adam Waldman (no image)
Adam Waldman
6 Ratings
  1. "Always strives for great creative but not at the expense of its staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Motion Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Refinery Creative full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Treats the staff great, makes them feel unique and valued.

    Cons

    Bursting at the seams, needs more space.

    The Refinery Creative2019-04-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good Place to Learn the Ropes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Refinery Creative

    Pros

    Relatively relaxed work environment. Good place to learn. Quick advancement.

    Cons

    Egos - probably as a result of quick promotions.

    The Refinery Creative2019-01-09
  3. "junior illustrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Refinery Creative full-time

    Pros

    great environment, pet friendly , no ego

    Cons

    long hours, sometimes not a lot of communications

    The Refinery Creative2017-09-28
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Draining. Not worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Refinery Creative

    Pros

    Worked on big name projects, catered lunches every other day , cool office space, free snacks (this is normal for most creative firms). If you love entertainment, you'll love the conversations that occur here.

    Cons

    VERY LONG HOURS, ridiculous requests made frequently, lack of respect from top down, little employee work/life balance and freedom, sometimes toxic work environment, simply put - not worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Try to focus a little more on being innovative rather than just creative :) AND FIX YOUR DARN WEBSITE!

    The Refinery Creative2017-08-22

    The Refinery Creative Response

    August 28, 2017Head of Human Resources

    it is unfortunate that your experience with our company was less than optimal. we urge any employee who feels the management team could improve their communication and/or work process to speak to their manager directly or bring the matter to HR. our longer hours are sometimes dictated by clients or as a result of our dedication to providing the top-notch creative our clients have come to expect and deserve. it is typical of the industry and we continue to strive to manage work assignments so that employees can achieve balance.

    Show Less
  5. "My time at The Refinery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at The Refinery Creative

    Pros

    Amazing people and work environment, they make everyday a blast! Everyone has a purpose and pushes themselves everyday to achieve an amazing final product.

    Cons

    long hours can be a bit draining.

    The Refinery Creative2017-03-17
  6. "Best place I've been in 100 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Refinery Creative full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, nice people, nice people. Good salary, no yelling, good work/life balance, catered lunch twice a week, pet friendly.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    none. keep on doing what you're doing.

    The Refinery Creative2017-03-15
  7. Helpful (6)

    "not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at The Refinery Creative

    Pros

    Nice people, good networking opportunities

    Cons

    Totally unorganized from a business standpoint, low compensation

    The Refinery Creative2016-05-19

    The Refinery Creative Response

    May 20, 2016Director, Human Resources

    we appreciate the feedback and continue to look to improve our efficiency and processes. in addition, we generally remain in the average range of marketplace salaries, but understand that other agencies sometimes outbid us for talent.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Been all over, finally found a home."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Art Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Refinery Creative full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Refinery truly cares about its employees' work/life balance. Yes there can be long hours, as should be expected at a company of this caliber and in this industry. However, for the most part, there is a healthy balance of work/life experience with the added benefits of comped time off, bonuses, company subsidized perks such as massage and family services, company get-togethers etc. Management shows it's... appreciation for the hard work and reciprocates.

    Show More

    Cons

    In some corners of the building (creative directors, upper management, etc...) there can be some bottlenecking and a lack of communication. This comes down to personalities and is not necessarily an easily solvable thing. However it is a truly friendly place to work with almost NO ego and the folks here all seem to truly respect each other. When things break down it is really never personal. That being said, it's... something to keep in mind to either find a workaround for or take in to account when interviewing/working here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I appreciate what you're doing here. It's difficult to wrangle so many folks in such a fast-growing company. My only advice would be to keep putting employees first and they will keep putting good work forth.

    The Refinery Creative2015-12-02
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Refinery Creative

    Pros

    If you love what you do, and love to create cool stuff this is the spot for you. There's always work coming in, so you don't have to deal with downtime or wondering when or where the next job might come from. They do catered lunches and you don't want that its in a great location with tons of places to eat nearby.

    Cons

    The place is split into teams, so if you get picked up by a certain team, you don't get a chance to work on projects that another team is working on.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing.

    The Refinery Creative2015-11-25
  10. Helpful (5)

    "One of the best places to work in the Industry!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Art Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Refinery Creative full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - good creative guidance in each team - Creative Directors are very approachable - great projects come along frequently - high volume of turnaround so many chances of getting a shot at a finish - catered food, good healthcare, easy parking, - fair reimbursement - each team has their own styles and pros and cons

    Cons

    - hours can be long but nothing out of the ordinary for the entertainment industry and still better than many others - sometimes creative process becoming routine can be a problem - fast turn around times and stress happens

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees. Keep communicating that's always important. Push back on the clients if they are ridiculous and unreasonable. And remember that the number one asset in this kind of company are always the people. And keep doing what you're doing.

    The Refinery Creative2015-03-03
Found 15 reviews