The Related Companies Reviews | Glassdoor

The Related Companies Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 187 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Stephen M. Ross
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Decent pay, good benefits, sufficient PTO(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is great and it's allowed me to enjoy my evenings and weekends to myself and my hobbies(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Your hard work never pays off especially due to upper management(in 18 reviews)

  • "Expect to work long hours and weekends whether corporate or non-corporate position(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Inspiring place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is truly exciting working for a company that is, literally, defining the industry. I have never practiced what I do with more talented colleagues or more dedicated, visionary leaders. Pride for what my organization does, and awe for the individuals who make it happen, are often feelings I experience at work.

    Cons

    Because of the need to stay ahead in the industry, sometimes the organization moves too fast for solid coaching and professional development to occur; these occasionally take a back seat to execution.

    Advice to Management

    Look for ways to foster a more solid coaching and professional growth culture in the organization. It is doing well, but in order to get to the next level of cultural strength, this could use some attention.

    The Related Companies2018-12-27
  2. "Great company, all over America, always growing, great benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They truly appreciate your hard work and it is rewarded. The benefits are great. There are loads of opportunities for growth. And they believe in you and give you chances for success.

    Cons

    Sometimes they grow too quickly and don’t have enough employees and it becomes kind of chaotic and overwhelming.

    Advice to Management

    Always ensure good training and don’t have your eyes too big for your stomach.

    The Related Companies2019-06-20
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Related Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Learning environment and great people

    Cons

    really not to speak of

    The Related Companies2019-06-13
  4. "Terrible place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Related Companies full-time

    Pros

    Health benefits, paid weekly, job centrally located

    Cons

    Incompetent management, no formal training process, no path to grow with company.

    Advice to Management

    Find effective managers who know how to manage, train. and be more encouraging toward employees and their career growth.

    The Related Companies2019-06-09
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Assistant in New York, NY

      I worked at The Related Companies part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great People, Fun, Learning, Growth , Happiness

      Cons

      Long hours, repetitive, lots of men, disorganized, boring

      The Related Companies2019-04-09
    • "Great company with vision and growth opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Community Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      work culture, PTO, benefits, training program

      Cons

      low starting pay, length of time for 401k to be fully vested

      Advice to Management

      Seek out feedback from lower level employees, especially maintenance

      The Related Companies2019-04-02
    • "Good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Maintenance Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Related Companies full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      They provide the training, support and what ever is to get the job done.

      Cons

      My experience was positive so none come to mind

      The Related Companies2019-03-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fast paced hospitality with a personal touch"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Concierge in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Great Team -Bonuses during Christmas -Paid time and a half during holidays -PTO is a bit better than average

      Cons

      Difficult to grow professionally and overnights can be challenging.

      Advice to Management

      none.

      The Related Companies2019-03-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Poor corporate management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at The Related Companies

        Pros

        There are no pros for working for this company except when you drive off they’re properties.

        Cons

        Little to NO budget for maintenance repairs or supplies Never pay vendors/contractors No consistency within upper management TAX CREDIT PROPERTIES Hard to keep staff Pay don’t match amount of work obligations Inexperienced personnel in lower class management

        Advice to Management

        Try to keep the good staff members from quitting

        The Related Companies2019-03-26
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Work life balances out with personal life. Pay is amazing.

        Cons

        can’t think of any at the moment

        Advice to Management

        Not everyone is meant to be a manager maybe taking more time to interview and research the person before providing important manger positions

        The Related Companies2019-03-13
      Found 187 reviews