The Related Companies Reviews | Glassdoor

The Related Companies Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 186 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Stephen M. Ross
56 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Assistant in New York, NY

      I worked at The Related Companies part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great People, Fun, Learning, Growth , Happiness

      Cons

      Long hours, repetitive, lots of men, disorganized, boring

      The Related Companies2019-04-09
    • Helpful (5)

      "Inspiring place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      It is truly exciting working for a company that is, literally, defining the industry. I have never practiced what I do with more talented colleagues or more dedicated, visionary leaders. Pride for what my organization does, and awe for the individuals who make it happen, are often feelings I experience at work.

      Cons

      Because of the need to stay ahead in the industry, sometimes the organization moves too fast for solid coaching and professional development to occur; these occasionally take a back seat to execution.

      Advice to Management

      Look for ways to foster a more solid coaching and professional growth culture in the organization. It is doing well, but in order to get to the next level of cultural strength, this could use some attention.

      The Related Companies2018-12-27
    • "All-around Excellence"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Leasing Coordinator in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working for Related has truly been an amazing learning experience. Starting from a temp position, I was able to work my way to a permanent role and everyone along the way has been super helpful to achieve this. It is a very inclusive environment filled with hard working employees eager to learn and contribute to its success. Highly recommend to everyone.

      Cons

      I can't think of any.

      The Related Companies2018-12-19
    • "Portfolio Management Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Incredible exposure to many facets of the RE industry with some of the brightest professionals, who are eager to share their knowledge and talk about their experiences. Enthusiastic senior management whom truly believe in their projects/undertakings. Hands-on experience at the most ground-breaking developments in the region/world. Very understanding with religious/family obligations.

      Cons

      None that I can think of, my experience has been spectacular

      The Related Companies2018-12-14
    • "Amazing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Benefits, role models, competitive salary/ commission, and training encompass Related. They have you covered.

      Cons

      Not much. Disconnect between higher-ups and entry level is small. To my knowledge of course(:

      The Related Companies2018-12-14
    • "New employee in Human Resources"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Human Resources in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Everyone is extremely friendly and welcoming. Always willing to help however they which is nice when you are starting a new job and have a lot of questions and uncertainty on how things are done.

      Cons

      Just starting out here at Related I am yet to find any cons but it's very fast paced which can take some getting used to at first!

      The Related Companies2018-12-14
    • "A great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Associate in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great growth opportunities, excellent benefits (Equinox!), and competitive salary

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      The Related Companies2018-12-14
    • "Cleaning , make sure cleanliness surroundings the building..maintain security inspection of the building and grounds.."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Porter/Security in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Related Companies full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Best company, good people to work with

      Cons

      To work hard perform your duty

      Advice to Management

      Yes

      The Related Companies2018-09-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "Best company I've ever worked for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Leasing Consultant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pay is considered one of, if not the best within the industry. It is a very business/result-driven company that will reward you greatly if you put in the work. Great support system as well from everyone that I work with from the cleaning staff to the VP of the company. The opportunity to grow within the company is limitless and I am the perfect example for this. I started off as a part-time concierge with Related while...

      Show More

      Cons

      The amount of work and responsibilities could be overwhelming at times. Most companies will have different people handling specific roles and responsibilities. But at Related, at least where I work, we are all expected to do or at least try to handle/assist with everything. For example, I would often have to handle/assist with management duties such as addressing resident issues, billing, invoices, etc. With all that...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Nothing for now.

      The Related Companies2018-09-07
    • "Internship Program"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Project Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Related Companies full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I interned at Related over the summer of 2017, and part-time while I finished my undergraduate degree close-by. The Summer Internship Program was a great introduction to the company and culture of real estate development in New York City. Throughout the program, the intern class was highly engaged professionally, intellectually, and even socially. A series of individual upper-level executives across all facets of the...

      Show More

      Cons

      New York is really hot in the summer, especially in a suit and tie. The technology support group takes a while to respond and take action.

      Advice to Management

      I love the company-wide emails giving props to exceptional achievements of individuals and groups within the company.

      The Related Companies2018-08-24
    Found 186 reviews