The Roanoke Times Reviews | Glassdoor

The Roanoke Times Reviews

Updated May 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
13%
Approve of CEO
Joy Sylvester-Johnson
16 Ratings
  1. "Class B CDL Delivery Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Roanoke Times for less than a year

    Pros

    People were fair, great to work for, paid well

    Cons

    Night time hour shift work

    The Roanoke Times2017-07-22
  2. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Roanoke Times full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Met alot of good people

    Cons

    No raises, management were clueless morons..

    The Roanoke Times2019-05-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Roanoke Times full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, the job was nothing but lies.

    Cons

    From the very outset there was nothing but lies. I applied for a District Manager's position in the Roanoke area. I was told the position was a desk job. However, I soon found myself being sent all over the region, expected to deliver news papers when the newspaper carriers didn't want to do their job. I found myself driving a thousand miles a week, burning out my vehicle. This was the worst job I've ever had.

    The Roanoke Times2018-12-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Dying industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Roanoke Times full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers and co-workers were nice. Normal 9 to 5 most of the time.

    Cons

    Dying industry, quotas too high, commissions too low, many threats

    Advice to Management

    Establish realistic goals

    The Roanoke Times2018-10-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Worst year of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Roanoke Times full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers were nice and I enjoyed getting to know them.

    Cons

    Management was completely incompetent. Too many unethical people in that place!

    Advice to Management

    Clean house. Learn Ethics 101

    The Roanoke Times2018-09-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reel Man in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Roanoke Times full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    was good at the ending

    Cons

    bad at the begining of training

    Advice to Management

    no

    The Roanoke Times2018-05-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A company that is giving up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advertising in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Roanoke Times full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The other employees are amazing and you make good friends.

    Cons

    Everything else. No raises even with a promotion, some of the high ups are degrading, you work your tail off for not even a smile form your supervisor, but instead will give all the credit to their favorite employee.

    Advice to Management

    I hope you find a place to carry on and prosper once this company closes shop. If your straight out of college it's a good start, but don't get sucked in.

    The Roanoke Times2017-07-27
  8. "I learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Majors COORDINATOR in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Roanoke Times full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The employees are like family and I have learned a lot

    Cons

    Revolving door. Advertising cannot keep employees there because of no raises demanding budgets

    The Roanoke Times2017-04-12
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Roanoke Times full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great location downtown. Free parking. Talented staff (when they stay or aren’t laid off). Company policy allows second jobs (so you can, you know, pay your bills).

    Cons

    Where do I begin? Morale is terrible. Employees are worn-down and overworked. Most are openly trying to find a new job. No career advancement opportunities or raises what-so-ever. After eliminating employees, management doesn’t fill those positions. Instead, they require other employees to take on those roles (with no pay raise). Departments are so scarce… Running single-threaded in critical areas. The failing managers...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Obviously the management isn’t going to listen to advice. I think the 1-star rating speaks for itself. Go ahead and continue to upgrade and spend money on the building itself. That seems to be your most valuable asset & the only place you focus on.

    The Roanoke Times2017-05-10
  10. Helpful (4)

    "They will crush your soul."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Roanoke Times full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You can get your 3-5 years of writing, editing and design experience here, and then move on to a career at a place where your talents are valued and you're paid accordingly.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything. I think the worst is that, when BH Media bought the paper from Landmark Communications, there was a staff meeting in which one of the BH bigwigs sat us all down and said they "don't believe in raises." So if you start out at $28,000 a year, you'll still be making $28,000 if you stay five years, or 15 years, or 30 years.

    Advice to Management

    Try valuing your employees and nurturing their skill sets. Who knows, maybe your entire staff won't be looking for other jobs and your turnover will improve?

    The Roanoke Times2017-05-09
Found 44 reviews