The School District of Lee County, Florida Reviews | Glassdoor

The School District of Lee County, Florida Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
The School District of Lee County, Florida CEO Nancy J. Graham, Ed.D (no image)
Nancy J. Graham, Ed.D
29 Ratings
  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    This is by far the best place I've ever worked.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about the company

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-07-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great schools in the area

    Cons

    Disrespect for teachers; have to work supplemental positions to make ends meet

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-07-07
  3. "Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Secondary Math Teacher in Lehigh Acres, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive administration, staff, and fellow educators; cooperative teaching staff, professional atmosphere; competitive salary; summers off; good continuing education; excellent facilities; cutting-edge technology

    Cons

    The students were often difficult to motivate, and the struggle with electronics was real every day. Absenteeism and tardiness were ongoing problems as well.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-06-14
  4. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    great professional learning opportunities are available

    Cons

    Very political. You really need to "know" someone

    Advice to Management

    Support your teachers and watch out for you principals

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-05-24
  5. "teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    good conditions, and great co-workers

    Cons

    Low salary for time and work and experience needed.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-04-13
  6. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    I have the same schedule as my children.

    Cons

    I work tons of hours for a very low salary.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-04-26
  7. "Overall, too much work for one teacher and low wages!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Science/Chemistry Teacher in North Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very up to date with IT and technical equipment(smartboards,chromebooks for students).

    Cons

    Low wages, too many students.

    Advice to Management

    Up the wages at least $5k a year to start.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-04-19
  8. "Teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    Room for growth and advancement.

    Cons

    It is a very demanding career.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-04-14
  9. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ESE Teacher in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The School District of Lee County, Florida for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice location, laid back lifestyle

    Cons

    This is a horrible place to work, very unfair to employees, from support staff up to management. I developed late onset epilepsy at the age of 40, and they couldn't find a reason to fire me quickly enough. They were completely unsupportive!

    Advice to Management

    Stop the CYA philosophy!

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-05-01
  10. "Used to be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, good kids, easy commute

    Cons

    Too many tests; low pay;

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-03-08
Found 106 reviews