The School District of Lee County, Florida Reviews | Glassdoor

The School District of Lee County, Florida Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
The School District of Lee County, Florida CEO Nancy J. Graham, Ed.D (no image)
Nancy J. Graham, Ed.D
29 Ratings
  1. "Lee County Public Schools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida

    Pros

    Teachers in Lee County are top notch. Some of the best I've ever worked with in my 20 years of teaching.

    Cons

    Salary is one of the lowest in the surrounding areas. Coaches are underpaid and overworked as far as the supervision before and after practices and games.

    Advice to Management

    Increase salaries

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-03-06
  2. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great for teaching, good pay, and good hours and schedule.

    Cons

    The state general knowledge test is a hassle and very expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Adjust the state exam accordingly to the specific teaching positions.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2018-02-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "A Growing District"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    Professional, Enriching, Engaging, Effective, Educational

    Cons

    Limited number of administrators who represent minority groups in a district with a growing number of families from different cultures and languages.

    Advice to Management

    New hires for administrative promotions should be reviewed more carefully to ensure that the selected candidate truly has the best education, experience, and job skills when compared to the pool of other qualified personnel.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-11-25
  5. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The School District of Lee County, Florida

    Pros

    I was pleased with the district and the school I worked for.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-11-16
  6. "Teaching English as a second language"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida

    Pros

    Based curriculum, good kids, pace calendar, good schedule, good and helping partners, good environment, no working extra hours at school but yes at home planning, and but thats all

    Cons

    NO money raise in 10 years, no full retirement salary, no social security, you feel you’re stuck. The department leader is so unaware of our necessities that we are always struggling to “survive”.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-11-20
  7. "Its as good as it gets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    Lee has heart tries to do whats best for its employees and students. They don't always go along with what the State says. I like that we got a raise in the middle of the Great Recession because it was the right thing to do. It's been a great twenty years.

    Cons

    Its public education and teaching is hard to do and under appreciated.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to appreciate everyone who works hard!

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-10-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only pro is that I was able to create new and different opportunities for the students. Having the ability to work with some teachers that truly care about the kids.

    Cons

    Students having more rights then the teachers. Administration that is afraid of standing up for their staff and backing them. Improper use of evaluation system, basing it off personal not professional. A board office that will support administration over educators when administration is proven wrong.

    Advice to Management

    Make changes where they need to be. Look at schools, turnover and performance. It may not be the teachers but administration that is the overall issue.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-11-10
  9. "Full Time Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Cape Coral, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The school and staff are wonderful. Lots of support. It really does feel like working with extended family.

    Cons

    You can't pay your bills working for the Lee County School System. If you are 22 yrs old fresh out of college or teach a vocation such as cosmology, its not bad money. But if you have years of experience or advanced degrees, the District will refuse to recognize them and pay you exactly the same. Even then, you can't live in Cape Coral with what they pay.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of the 1960's. No one is paid this way anymore.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-10-26
  10. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    Supportive co-workers Well kept building Generous time off

    Cons

    Too many students in a class to be effective. Top heavy administration. Poor, non-competitive salary. Hard to move around without inside connections.

    Advice to Management

    Pay teachers competitively and recognize the long hours before and beyond the bell that they work.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-11-07
  11. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    Excellent teachers, great management, care about the students.

    Cons

    Teacher pay is always an issue.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-09-24
Found 106 reviews