The School District of Lee County, Florida Reviews | Glassdoor

The School District of Lee County, Florida Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
The School District of Lee County, Florida CEO Nancy J. Graham, Ed.D (no image)
Nancy J. Graham, Ed.D
29 Ratings
  1. "Good district overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent enough starting salary. Support from admin at school.

    Cons

    Tons of testing, use of student data for raises. Not a clearly defined career path in district for teachers.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-09-03
  2. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Secondary School in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Interaction with students and seeing them grow emotionally and intellectually -Working with some of the best educators in the state

    Cons

    -growing class sizes -low pay

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-08-17
  3. "Management is not focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits. There is around 20 vacation days per year is nice. Having two weeks off for Christmas is nice.

    Cons

    Lack of focus from management. Lack of focus from project owners. No clear direction on what to do so you have to guess. And then when you guess and get it wrong they give a little more detail. Rinse, repeat. Management will ask for suggestions on projects and then ignore your suggestion and go with what they had in mind anyway. Innovation is punished by having you start from scratch and doing it the way they want... it done, which is usually worse. Any concerns you have are brushed under the rug and ignored.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employee's concerns and take action accordingly. It will boost morale and productivity. Stop forcing people to do things your way.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-09-01
  4. "ESE Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Leadership opportunity and professional development opportunities.

    Cons

    Low income ratio to living expenses.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-07-20
  5. "Great place for career educators"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    Large employer; good benefits; good state retirement plan. Successful people are noticed and promoted. Conscientious, ethical, and thoughtful leadership is the norm. Jobs exist all over the large school district and transfers are relatively easy. Good opportunities for professional training and growth.

    Cons

    Most jobs are less than 12 month.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-07-06
  6. "STEM Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    Administrators worked hard to provide resources and training to their teachers.

    Cons

    High student turnover rate that directly affected class cohesiveness.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working hard for your teachers.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-05-25
  7. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at The School District of Lee County, Florida

    Pros

    Family type atmosphe real life experiences.

    Cons

    You can end up working late and weekends

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-05-16
  8. "Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time

    Pros

    Weekends off, calendar is set in advance

    Cons

    Leadership roles difficult to obtain

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-05-14
  9. "School Bus Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - School Bus Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours. Concerned Supervisors.

    Cons

    No wages during summer months.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-04-21
  10. "Lee County School District/Speech-Language Pathologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Speech Language Pathologist in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The School District of Lee County, Florida full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great medical and retirement benefits!

    Cons

    Great medical benefits, but under the current annual contract system, SLPs don't seem to have much opportunity for advancement unless they would like to obtain a degree in Educational Leadership. Although our position in the schools requires a master's degree, the little bit of extra pay doesn't not begin to cover the cost of student loans. Our base pay is that of a teacher, with a small additional stipend because... we are SLPs. We earn considerably less than SlPs in a hospital, clinic, home health or SNF. Working at least part time elsewhere is necessary to make ends meet, if you are single.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I've been lucky to have one school with a decent caseload, but I know many SLPs are overwhelmed with large caseloads and see several schools. This is a problem across the USA, not just here.

    The School District of Lee County, Florida2017-05-02
Found 106 reviews