The Scripps Research Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

The Scripps Research Institute Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 302 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Scripps Research Institute CEO Richard A. Gephardt
Richard A. Gephardt
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "highly engaging work environment with access to a lot of excellent seminars(in 20 reviews)

  • "Scripps is a great place to work at(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too much exploitation of postdocs(in 20 reviews)

  • "TSRI has a well organized and established post doctoral association which works to improve the quality of experience for post docs(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "highly recommend and appreciated working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Aide in San Diego, CA

    I worked at The Scripps Research Institute part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very understanding of student schedules

    Cons

    doesnt offer opportunity to grow

    The Scripps Research Institute2019-04-15
  2. "Great overall workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Data Scientist in San Diego, CA

      I have been working at The Scripps Research Institute full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      challenging work on real world problems

      Cons

      none what so ever, very positive

      The Scripps Research Institute2019-07-17
    • "Good place for a balance life"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Associate in La Jolla, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Scripps Research Institute full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very nice weather, good colleagues.

      Cons

      Salary is kind of low.

      The Scripps Research Institute2019-05-13
    • "Research Assistant III"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at The Scripps Research Institute full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Benefits and location are good.

        Cons

        Wages are way too low.

        The Scripps Research Institute2019-04-24
      • "Top tier graduate school for talented students majoring in chemistry and biology"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Graduate Student in La Jolla, CA
        Recommends

        I have been working at The Scripps Research Institute full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        World Class Research Groups. Great working environment. Beautiful view.

        Cons

        Company style management. Lack of diverse culture in the university and college.

        The Scripps Research Institute2019-04-18
      • "Great people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Lab Assistant 

        I worked at The Scripps Research Institute full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good communication and very helpful and understanding

        Cons

        The environment in the lab was nice and there wasn’t any problems or lack of communication but maybe it would be nice to have more happy hours

        The Scripps Research Institute2019-04-13
      • "Great people. Sadly becoming more of a company than a basic science research institute"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Graduate Student in San Diego, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at The Scripps Research Institute full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great colleagues and networking and professional development opportunities

        Cons

        PIs are generally interested in what you can provide and are not interested in your training

        Advice to Management

        Pay us more and care about our training more

        The Scripps Research Institute2019-05-02
      • "very nice"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA

        I have been working at The Scripps Research Institute full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        very nice benefits and working environment

        Cons

        not really but maybe no good cafeteria

        The Scripps Research Institute2019-03-24
      • "Varies by department and lab P.I."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Research Assistant in La Jolla, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at The Scripps Research Institute full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Varies by department and lab P.I. Monthly Happy Hour.

        Cons

        Benefits declining. Institute declining. Politics.

        Advice to Management

        Don't charge anyone for parking. Better retirement.

        The Scripps Research Institute2019-03-16
      • "Highly Productive Environment with Cohesive and Respectful Team"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Managing Editor in La Jolla, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at The Scripps Research Institute part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great boss who gave me a lot of autonomy managing submissions to the journal for which he was editor. Had my own private office and free parking in front of the building. Highly educated staff, faculty, and grad students--all very nice people from diverse backgrounds and everyone got along great (no friction that I was aware of during my two years there). Job was not especially high pressure but somewhat tedious. AND...

        Show More

        Cons

        At the time, their IT support system was a bit weak (no help for Mac users), and their intranet structure was pretty antiquated.

        Advice to Management

        N/A

        The Scripps Research Institute2019-02-05
      Found 302 reviews