The Service Companies Reviews | Glassdoor

The Service Companies Reviews

Updated October 10, 2018
66 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Steve Wilson
40 Ratings

66 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Terrible benefits, poor executive leadership, low pay for line level employees" (in 3 reviews)

  • "Can be physically hard work in some of their line level positions, but always in comfortable surroundings" (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Opportunites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Task Force Manager in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - Task Force Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Service Companies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great opportunity for advancement
    Nice work environment in hotels & casinos
    Energetic atmosphere
    Good training when starting new position

    Cons

    Can be physically hard work in some of their line level positions, but always in comfortable surroundings

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing, many wonderful places to work already, hopefully more and more

    The Service Companies Response

    Mar 9, 2018 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for the great feedback!


  2. "Who Knows"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Who Knows in Nashville, TN
    Former Employee - Who Knows in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Service Companies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free food at lunch offered by the hotel.

    Cons

    HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT!! Laughable, I worked for The Service Companies at The Sheraton Hotel in downtown Nashville. The Service Companies are subcontracted to handle the hotel's housekeeping and it was apparent from my SECOND day on the job that these people have no clue. For one, half of the housekeepers don't speak a lick of english, which when I realized that I had never submitted information for my I-9 and no one even asked for copies of my license and social security card, I figured that a lot of the housekeepers (who were Hispanic) had probably not submitted that info either! Second, on my second day on the job, the owner of the hotel shows up with an army of his "staff" and basically tells the managers that they aren't doing their job. The girl that was training me to be a "coordinator" was basically asked to "go inspect rooms." She starts crying. A mess. I contacted someone who I assumed was apart of the human resources department for The Service Companies to explain the sheer incompetence I had witnessed on my first two days on the job and to inform them that I would not be returning, the lady apologized and said that someone from the board of HR would reach out to me. Never happened. Save your energy and apply somewhere else.

    Advice to Management

    Hire housekeepers who don't take 5 hours to clean 4 rooms and that can understand and speak english!!

  3. "Employees are not a priority"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager
    Former Employee - Account Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Service Companies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow fast, but these could be linked to the amount of turnover this company has

    Cons

    Terrible benefits, poor executive leadership, low pay for line level employees


  4. "Great people great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership Development
    Current Employee - Leadership Development
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Service Companies full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Innovative and always striving for excellence Love the intensity and passion

    Cons

    None as with any company you overcome if you want to be successful

    Advice to Management

    Keep providing opportunity for professional growth Love the intensity

    The Service Companies Response

    Dec 28, 2017 – Corporate Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your work and dedication. At The Service Companies, we believe that by fostering a culture of growth and development we are developing sustainable leadership.


  5. "Work is easy, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Service Companies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You'll learn how to do a lot on your own since they cant keep managers at property. You'll have the opportunity to wear many "hats"

    Cons

    Asked to perform multiple positions and not get compensated for or recognition for it.
    No raises.
    High insurance program.
    Room for advancement only if you want to travel and on management terms. Not ideal if you have a family.

    Advice to Management

    Quit moving people from one property to another to "help" all it does is create confusion for the housekeeping staff, they dont know who they're supposed to report to. Task force doesnt know what they're doing, they disappear and dont actually work. Getting rid of employees and replacing with task force is your biggest downfall. Especially the girls on task force who play on their phones the whole time, take selfies, then post to their social media accounts when they should be working. Its a shame you "lay-off" people who actual did their job and were permanent at the property to be replaced for "leaders" like that!

    The Service Companies Response

    Jan 8, 2018 – Corporate Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a comment, we value all feedback provided. At The Service Companies, we know that a strong leadership is essential to our success, any strategic decision is... More


  6. "TSC Shine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeping Executive Assistant in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Housekeeping Executive Assistant in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Service Companies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent oportunity to grow and build a carrer

    Cons

    Nothing for me, in my personal experience everything has been positive

    Advice to Management

    continue his excellent work and thank the trust

    The Service Companies Response

    Dec 8, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for the feedback!


  7. "Public Areas Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Service Companies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    It's a good job and a lot of advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of training they expect you to now everything the different departments instead of helping each other are naming each other saying that your job or his job when it should be that our job as a company

    Advice to Management

    I had a rare boss that helped me all the way but our paths took different turns and now I don't feel that help from the people who are supposedly there to help me

    The Service Companies Response

    Dec 8, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    We love your feedback. Thank you for all you do for The Service Companies!

  8. "Great Company for Advancing Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Service Companies full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Diversity
    Many opportunities available to grow within the Company
    This company is great for the people that want to learn something new and dislike Monotony

    Cons

    Quality can be affected by the Staffing challenges
    Benefits could be a costly

    Advice to Management

    Let's Hire more Leaders (not bosses) that can promote the "Service Culture" more and more and more.

    The Service Companies Response

    Dec 8, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Excellent feedback! Thank you


  9. "Talent Acquisition Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Service Companies full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits
    Great Coworkers
    Flexible, Good training

    Cons

    Communication between Ops and HR
    Low salary compare with the market

    The Service Companies Response

    Dec 8, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to continuous improvement. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors!


  10. "Desorganized Company, do not care about their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    * Traning
    *flexibility
    * Ok benefits
    * Some managers have a human side
    * Efficient and helpful payrol department, with ability to resolved situations really quick

    Cons

    * Desorganaized
    * Expecting employess to work for coins
    * Salaries are not competitive with the market ( underpaid/ over work )
    * unrealistic goals for the amount of money you get paid
    * Treat employees like a robot and do not care about them
    * in case of certain situations there is not any type of investigation
    * Managers would not support you
    * If you are operations you have a better chance

    Advice to Management

    * Improve the lack of organization
    * Improve comunication at all levels managment/ operation/line employees
    * Do not set false expectations
    * Set goals according to demographics
    * Treat everyone the same

    The Service Companies Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – Director of Employee Relations

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We take our employee's concerns very seriously and will use your feedback to address the areas where we missed in delivering a great experience for... More


Showing 66 of 69 reviews
Reset Filters