The Shade Store Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "The Designers work together to run each showroom and they make decisions as a team(in 24 reviews)

  • "Causal yet professional work environment(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "If the showroom has a lot of foot traffic, a lot of the follow up (work that makes(in 13 reviews)

  • "The work-life balance is not great too(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Great Culture and Team Focus!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Port Chester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Shade Store full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with TSS for less than a year, but have found it to be a thoroughly enjoyable experience. With all of the new showrooms opening and a raise to three weeks of PTO a year the future is bright! With free breakfast, seltzer and snacks daily combined with free lunch on Friday they do lots of little things for the happiness of their employees. Overall I have found the culture to be family oriented and understanding that we all have lives outside of work, which is a huge plus.

    Cons

    Nothing really glaring stands out at me, overall TSS gets an A Grade!

    Continue reading
    The Shade Store2019-10-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "One of the best!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scheduling Coordinator in Port Chester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Shade Store full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive environment, free breakfast and snacks everyday, and free lunch every Friday.

    Cons

    I didn't encounter any negatives during my time here.

    The Shade Store2019-09-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Love/Hate Relationship"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Shade Store full-time

    Pros

    The Shade Store is a growing company. They have a liberal dress code policy. You are able to learn a lot in the industry. In whatever department or field you're in, you will become more skillful and knowledgeable.

    Cons

    During the end of my tenure at The Shade Store, I was not getting enough support on projects and tasks. At times I was doing the amount of work that should been intended for several people. The benefits are mediocre. Family health insurance is not subsidized. There is not enough PTO time. Also they do not have a great work from home policy. The work-life balance is not great too.

    Continue reading
    The Shade Store2020-04-25
  4. "Straight Forward"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Shade Store full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed dress code, and prior to all of this we had several free meals

    Cons

    Benefits could be better, long hours, no real growth except for laterally within most departments

    The Shade Store2020-04-13
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Benefits"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Port Chester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Shade Store full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Close to home and breakfast

    Cons

    No bonus’s, very segmented between lower and upper management, departments not transparent or communicative, little PTO days that they refuse to negotiate, terrible ergonomic HQ office (mice in the office)!!

    Continue reading
    The Shade Store2020-03-20
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Not What They Claim to Be"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design/Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Shade Store full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful showrooms and nice product.

    Cons

    Support team slim making it difficult to get answers, help & customer care support. Production and quality control falling apart. Preach a "family oriented" organization with a unique culture, but you are only a number to them. You don't produce, you are out. Supposed to "Design & Consult", but the DC's are actually project managers, dealing with production, freight, tracking orders, customer care, scheduling installations, etc. All aspects of the business fall on the designer as the company cut all the support, and the "new & improved" layers of management took over, micro-manage and require you to fill out redundant silly spread sheets monthly. There is no coaching. You can be transferred to any location without notice. No balance of personal life.

    Continue reading
    The Shade Store2020-04-10
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Port Chester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Shade Store full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Looking back on what I thought were pros, they aren’t anymore.

    Cons

    Leaving The Shade Store was one of the best decisions I’ve made for my career. I knew something was off during my first week when I was given next to no training and thrown into my role with little guidance however, keeping a positive outlook and being as flexible as possible I persevered. I couldn’t help but notice that a large majority of the employee base all openly talked about how miserable they were at The Shade Store and, were looking elsewhere for employment opportunities. I quickly noticed how much the day to day was just so chaotic, unorganized, nothing was clear from upper management, and full of finger pointing (from department to department, between employees in the same department, from management). Each day was full of putting out fires, instead of putting systems in place to prevent the same exact issues from happening again and again. Time after time I would be given a “high priority” project or task to work on from my manager and, after spending countless hours (and late nights) to complete it, it was never used, or even looked over. There is a huge disconnect between your direct managers/supervisors and upper management/executive team. There is an overwhelming sense that people are disposable, who cares... don’t let the (the revolving) door hit you on the way out.

    Continue reading
    The Shade Store2020-03-22
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Get out while you still can."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Port Chester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Shade Store full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None anymore. They used to be a great company.

    Cons

    They are no longer family oriented and do not care about their employees. The product is garbage. I have never seen so many calls from dissatisfied customers in my 25 years of experience.

    Continue reading
    The Shade Store2020-03-21
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Please avoid this place"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - M&I Pro in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Shade Store full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a company vehicle

    Cons

    Terrible management No organization No raises, numerous people have worked here for 2-3 years with no raise Always micro managed No paid sick days off, they make you use PTO Schedulers have no care for your life outside of work, will have you driving all over the place Poor communication throughout the entire company

    Continue reading
    The Shade Store2020-03-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Nice to place to work overall"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Hardware Engineer in Port Chester, NY
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Shade Store full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to get the work done, company gym, Friday lunches

    Cons

    The benefits were severely lacking. 10 paid days off per year, limited vacation days. The 10 days includes personal, vacation and sick time. This policy has caused many people to leave including myself. Most software dev jobs START at 3 weeks vacation, 3 or 4 personal days, and either unlimited or more than enough sick time per year. This company is not thinking rationally. There is a 401k but when you read into the plan you'll find that it's a very poor plan with very high expense ratios (ie the 401k company keeps more of your money.) Having to use one of my "10 days" because I had to go to a parent teacher conference is just flat out ridiculous.

    Continue reading
    The Shade Store2020-01-25
Found 91 reviews