The Shade Store Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "The Designers work together to run each showroom and they make decisions as a team(in 26 reviews)

  • "Overall, it is a very collaborative work environment where you feel like you have a direct impact on the business and its continued success(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "When you are hired, you are expected to manage your showroom as you would your own business(in 15 reviews)

  • "The work-life balance is not great too(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing company

      Feb 21, 2021 - Design Consultant in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No hard sell which was perfect. Emphasis on customer needs and great company culture!

      Cons

      Can’t think of any at the moment :-)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      The Shadey Store

      May 13, 2021 - Design Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work independently & good attempt at training

      Cons

      No leadership or team-work environment. No collaboration. Sales goals aren’t achievable when the showroom has no foot traffic and everyone else you work with is a veteran and takes all the sales. Easily let go hundreds of employees when covid hit when we could have at least tried to work from home. No severance pay or compassion. They expanded too quickly to impress their investors and it backfired once a crisis hit.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Don't believe the fake reviews

      Jan 6, 2021 - Design Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At one time, about 1 ½ years ago, this was a wonderful company.

      Cons

      They sold out to an investor who has changed the culture and layered incompetent management. The company no longer has a customer care department, it has landed on the design consultant desks. We don't have time to do our actual jobs (as in our contracts!) to design window treatments. The only time to work on projects is at home on our own time. Production and shipping delays due to covid have not been addressed and instead, we still advertise that production is fast. It is not. We are exhausted and stressed without a functioning HR department, our PTO days do not get updated, and taking time off can be a challenge due to workload. We are experiencing stress-related health issues. And there is no support, no one to reach out to. Emails are ignored or responded to a week later. And without warning, our sales goals are increased monthly.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful

      The Shade Store Response

      The Shade Store

      Thank you for your input - as you know we welcome any and all feedback. For starters I am hopeful you are aware there are direct lines of communication to all leaders including ownership. I would encourage you to reach out so we can talk through any and all of your concerns. I would like to address several falsehoods and misinterpretations below. Our culture has in no way been negatively influenced by any investor. In fact, quite the opposite especially this year with all of the Covid-related uncertainty. Their support and advice have helped us successfully navigate this unprecedented time. But rest assured our family continues to be in control on all levels on a daily basis as well as decides upon any and all new leaders. Our customer care department is collectively the largest it’s ever been and we continue to invest heavily in resources to support our customers with any and all assistance they need. That is the backbone of our company for the last 75 years. We continue to react to customers’ needs and how best to serve them, including huge investments in additional people to ensure our customers are all having a great experience. Our HR department is fully functional, available 24/7 and has accomplished more positive change this year than ever before. As per company policy - any and all HR escalations go right to ownership. And PTO is updated in our system; if you ever have a question on that you can contact anyone in HR or on the management team. The idea that you can’t get in touch with anyone is most alarming as you have direct access to any and all leaders (cell phone, desk phone, email…all published and available). That includes me and all other founders. No doubt this has been a challenging year on so many levels and open communication is more important than ever. We appreciate your hard work and focus this past year; department by department, everyone has stepped up. And we are investing even more to hire additional talent and provide additional resources. These are actions, not just words. Many companies—including many of our competitors—are not in a position to make the investments in our people and processes that we have made and continue to make. I look forward to an opportunity to speak to you further on this should you so choose and I hope this at least clears things up a bit.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Shade Store

      Feb 24, 2021 - Sales Associate in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay. Nice store. Product good quality and design.

      Cons

      Days are long. Extreme micro management. CEO that sometimes just flies off the handle and goes on a rant at Friday phone meetings. It feels disrespectful. I just couldn’t get on board here. I left after a couple of months.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Routing

      Apr 13, 2021 - Routing Coordinator in Port Chester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team to work with

      Cons

      Hours are long and stressful

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good first job

      Mar 11, 2021 - Scheduling Coordinator in Port Chester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Breakfast, Friday lunch, clean office

      Cons

      Management is not very transparent

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing Company to Work for!

      Sep 25, 2020 - Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is family owned and run by caring owners who always put the customer first while treating their employees well. It is a great custom product that they stand by 100%. I have been able to see firsthand how the company goes above and beyond to go the extra mile to ensure a great customer experience. Communication is welcome at all levels of the company which lends to a great company culture. Overall, it is a very collaborative work environment where you feel like you have a direct impact on the business and its continued success. Lastly, the company has taken COVID-19 very seriously and ensures that the health of all the employees is always put first. They have made numerous arrangements for a comfortable work environment in both the corporate office and our showrooms nationwide.

      Cons

      No cons that stand out at this time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Pays well

      Feb 8, 2021 - Design Consultant in Costa Mesa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team culture, showroom sales, hours are manageable, everyday there are new opportunities, great for someone who can manage their own projects

      Cons

      Zero room for advancement, management needs more check ins and regular reviews

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      History & Heritage Meets Innovation & Imagination

      Sep 16, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -- Dynamic and entrepreneurial environment that encourages employees to think outside-the-box and find new ways to contribute. -- Founders who have an incredible knowledge of client needs and industry trends; they are involved on a daily basis and care about both the company's and employees' ongoing successes. -- Team members who are supportive and make an effort to be partners. -- A distinctive and innovative business model that is industry-leading. -- A focus on *results* and continuous improvement. -- The opportunity to build a career at a growing and forward-looking company. As an additional note: The company has approached the pandemic with a blend of concern for employees' health and welfare (without boasting about it) as well as the company's continued success. If you want to work in a dynamic, innovative, start-up and entrepreneurial environment where you can have an impact, this is the place for you.

      Cons

      No particular cons about The Shade Store.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company

      Feb 11, 2021 - Design Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family Environment, Great Product, Beautiful environment

      Cons

      I cannot think of any right now

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 117 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Shade Store Job Seekers

    Design Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Luxury Showroom Design Consultant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at The Shade Store? Share Your Experiences

    The Shade Store logo
    or