The Shape of Behavior Reviews | Glassdoor

The Shape of Behavior Reviews

Updated Mar 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
20%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Domonique Randall
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team of BCBAs doing their best with oversized caseloads(in 5 reviews)

  • "The therapist are nice and work well together(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not enough PTO, items in the clinic tend to be on the cheaper side, NO OVERTIME(in 15 reviews)

  • "Some staff members don't know what ABA really is(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "LOVE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Shape of Behavior full-time

    Pros

    Great CEO, great staff, amazing patients, a lot of benefits

    Cons

    physically draining at time, but changing the lives of the children.

    Advice to Management

    The Shape of Behavior is a great place to work. Everyone works hard everyday for the children. The leadership team is very helpful with whatever you need. Any time I have spoken to corporate they are very friendly and helpful. I love my job and making the children and families lives a little better each day.

    The Shape of Behavior2017-10-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Everything was great until Bluesprig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RBT in Katy, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Immediate team members and supervisors are phenomenal -Communication with upper level staff and onsite management is great -Easy Hours

    Cons

    -Bluesprig bought The Shape as a company and we there is no communication with that part management -Lowest pay offered in ABA as RBT in the Houston area -No paid holidays off -No days off during XMAS or summer

    Advice to Management

    Onsite management is great. Corporate needs to consider communicating possible changes to staff, shed some hope on pay raises and bonuses.

    The Shape of Behavior2019-02-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Away it wil be a waste of time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - RBT in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the children is the only benefit.

    Cons

    The company schedules your work hours as if you were an independent contractor( which you are not), and you will never get 40 hours a week. Your hours will be based on how many clients they have and you will be scheduled around the client's availability. If a client doesn't make it to the facility for the day, guess what? You won't get paid. They only want you there when the client is there so that the insurance companies...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    NONE

    The Shape of Behavior2019-03-07
  4. "Becareful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - ABA Behavior Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will meet some of the best people there to work with.

    Cons

    Corporate is horrible don't trust them.

    The Shape of Behavior2018-12-04
  5. "Many opportunities for growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transition Specialist in Spring, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, strong team dynamic, promote from within, versatile, continuing education, increased starting wages by 4$

    Cons

    Physically draining, sometimes dangerous, communication breakdowns, inconsistencies across locations, ugly corporate culture at times

    Advice to Management

    Monitor the going-ons of upper management, refocus on families rather than financial gain, better accommodate the needs of employees with wellness incentives. Overall positive experience during a transitional time in my career.

    The Shape of Behavior2018-10-24
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, working in the psych field.

    Cons

    Honestly it was one of the most stressful jobs I have ever had. I had kids run around the room, punch me, kick me, scratch me, and throw poop at me and scratch me with his poopy fingernails because you are NOT allowed to react. Sometimes this would happen for five minutes. Sometimes three hours. It was pure torture standing there and having to control body language while getting bit really hard. The BCBA is super strict...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The nitpicking is what drives out employees.

    The Shape of Behavior2018-10-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Registered Behavioral Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Behavioral Technician in Sugar Land, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The kids are great to work with! You really get to know them and build a strong relationship with them. You have health benefits!

    Cons

    You are constantly being micromanaged. You don't get enough vacation days, and the pay sucks. It is a very emotionally draining job with not enough sick days. Plus you are always getting sick because of the kids. Theres also a cap on pay.

    Advice to Management

    Give more vacation and sick days to keep your turnover rate low. Pay more!

    The Shape of Behavior2018-04-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "RBT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RBT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with the kids can be incredibly rewarding.

    Cons

    You will be micromanaged like you cannot even imagine! Very little incentive to work hard so the people that do work hard are overworked, unappreciated, and ultimately leave the company with poor, lazy employees who don’t care as long as they get paid. The pay is awful, and there are very few opportunities for any sort of career growth. You will either be short staffed or sent to other clinics to help, despite the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leave and let people who are more qualified run this place. Stop hiring from within because everyone who is promoted gets their job based on favoritism.

    The Shape of Behavior2018-05-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Too big of a corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RBT in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rewarding field of work, work hard on the children's goals

    Cons

    Poor communication between corporate and multiple locations Human resources makes rules as they go, there has been so many changes and when you communicate with them about policies, they give you a generic answer and the run around Some staff members don't know what ABA really is Not a one to one environment

    Advice to Management

    Do more to keep your qualified caring staff

    The Shape of Behavior2018-04-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "RBT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kids ,families and co workers

    Cons

    management, CEO, human resource ( joke)

    Advice to Management

    be ethical and professional

    The Shape of Behavior2018-05-14
Found 63 reviews