The Shape of Behavior "bcbas" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Shape of Behavior Employee Reviews about "bcbas"

Updated 13 Oct 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
20%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
The Shape of Behavior CEO Dr. Domonique Randall (no image)
Dr. Domonique Randall
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team of BCBAs doing their best with oversized caseloads(in 5 reviews)

  • "The therapist are nice and work well together(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some staff members don't know what ABA really is(in 9 reviews)

  • "therapy 4:00-4:30 janitorial work(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "bcbas"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "It's a good place to work for ABA work experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Therapist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Shape of Behavior full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get a lot of hands on ABA therapy experience that looks good on a resume. You really start to care about the kids you work with. Most of the other therapists are great people that just want to help kids with special needs. The BCBAs are very knowledgeable and friendly. Hourly rate, while low given the amount of work you do, is the best in the field. Monthly bonuses help a little.

    Cons

    Emotionally/physically draining at times. PTO is hard to come by. Admin doesn't communicate with therapists enough which can make it feel like therapists are not appreciated much.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more and show therapist appreciation more.

    The Shape of Behavior2014-05-04
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, working in the psych field.

    Cons

    Honestly it was one of the most stressful jobs I have ever had. I had kids run around the room, punch me, kick me, scratch me, and throw poop at me and scratch me with his poopy fingernails because you are NOT allowed to react. Sometimes this would happen for five minutes. Sometimes three hours. It was pure torture standing there and having to control body language while getting bit really hard. The BCBA is super... strict and if you slip up once you get a verbal warning, the next time a write up. It really was a stressdul job. And you are NOT allowed to deal with emotions. Its always behavioral. So if these kids are throwing tantrums because they say they are frustrated, we cannot communicate with them or give them talk therapy. It is pure behavioral therapy with no counsoling. Honestly the worst side of psychology I have ever seen. Even psychoanalyst are better than behavioralist. Psychology is about emotions, what goes on in the mind. Not just good/bad behaviors. They dont explore the real reason why they are doing it. They just assume its because you take stuff away from kids, that they throw a fit. There is very little compassion or love at this job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The nitpicking is what drives out employees.

    The Shape of Behavior2018-10-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "RBT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RBT in Spring, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The patients we cared for were the best thing about my job

    Cons

    Management played favorites, Communication was poor at my place, hard work would be criticized rather than rewarded, etc. At my company, they made us work in our building despite the fact that half of it was unusable (falling ceiling tiles and dangling wires). We didn’t have an Readily available BCBA in our location, so half the time we would make up supervision hours just to make the quota. It’s a shady place to... work for. And you don’t get paid for holidays if you don’t show up to work the day before you go on break, or the day after the holiday break. Once, I showed up to work the day after, but I only worked until 1, so I didn’t get paid for the holiday. That is an unfair payment plan and that should be changed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix your business. You may stop getting bad reviews then

    The Shape of Behavior2017-12-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Poorly managed company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RBT in North Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team of BCBAs doing their best with oversized caseloads.

    Cons

    I have loved the idea of working in the field of behavior analysis since I was first introduced to it years ago. I have enjoyed previous experiences working with other companies and increasing my knowledge of the field in school. Unfortunately, The Shape has set a poor example of true ABA by ignoring what is best for each individual patient and establishing standards of practice in which the 'individualized... programs' must fall into. The BCBAs are doing their best with their hands tied behind their backs. As an employee, you are encouraged to give feedback to the company, but later punished if your feedback isn't 100% positive. To be working in a field where professionals have been trained to improve behaviors with positive reinforcement, it feels like you get nothing but negative energy from corporate, management, and coworkers alike. This was a miserable work experience that would have turned me away from ABA had I not been exposed to the field prior to working at TSOB.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to corporate is to stop making improvements at a cost. Moral will not improve until employees feel heard and appreciated. The pay increases were wonderful news, until we realized the added mandatory events, outside of business hours, that we had to attend, as well as the increased job responsibilities. The cost of the pay increase left many employees continuing to feel underpaid. Also, the request for paid... holidays to cover the long Christmas break was met with cutting a much needed and deserved extended vacation. Employees who rarely get any R&R were again punished for voicing their (encouraged) opinion on how to improve their working experience. Additionally, any feedback about the quality of therapy is generally met with some form of a written warning, making it obvious that employees are not heard. Additionally, the frequency of documented warnings and punishments make it obvious the company is establishing a paper trail to dismiss you at any given moment, thus eliminating any sense of job security.

    Show More
    The Shape of Behavior2017-01-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Professionalism of Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Shape of Behavior full-time

    Pros

    This job can be very stressful and rewarding at the same time. I work with some wonderful BCBAs, so my particular position is great.

    Cons

    Leadership, from clinic level throughout most of corporate, lacks trained professionals. This company tends to promote from within, which, for some positions, is foolhardy. Those in higher positions should be leaders in THEIR field, not in ABA.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership appears to be broken, disorganized and unprofessional to clinic employees. It should be the MISSION of leadership to be a support to the clinics to streamline programs, reducing stress and increasing retention at the RBT/patient level. You seem to be growing faster than you can keep up. Training costs must be enormous considering therapist turnover.

    The Shape of Behavior2016-07-27
  6. Helpful (6)

    "This company protects their own interest before ANYTHING ELSE!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Behavior Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior

    Pros

    These children do actually show progress. That's mostly because the BCBAs are telling therapist what to do. So if the BCBA doesn't do a good job and the therapist isn't well trained, dedicated and compassionate about what they're doing and management doesn't support the therapist (which 99% of the time they DONT) then the children will not progress as well and can actually regress at times. So the ABA therapy itself... is yes an amazing and hopeful thing for children with autism. I'm not sure that The Shape of Behavior is the right place to obtain this service.

    Show More

    Cons

    Wow where to start. First off, like many other reviews have stated, management is more about favoritism! They DO NOT support their therapist in most cases and, while I've seen the replies from the HR Manager, don't be fooled, had the concerns been brought to her, if the manager at your clinic is out to get you or if you're reporting an injury on the job that requires a worker's comp case to be filed, they will all... strict together to make sure you don't get what by law you're entitled to!! When they open a new clinic, they take a group of applicants all with the same skill set and background/experience pretty much, "train" them for approximately two weeks then tell employees that at the end of training, one will be selected at the site manager and the other will be selected as the lead therapist oh and that the selections will be based on who they see has the most potential during training. That's all a load of bullhockey! They select the trainee that sucks up the best. They didn't select a lead therapist at all in my case. The person they selected at the site where I worked was the person that honestly couldn't stand to be anywhere near the patients and had NO CLUE what she was doing as a manager either. In fact, she often would instruct therapists to do the exact opposite as what they were trained to do during the initial training. When challenged, she then would try to find things to try and get you in trouble with. This includes her having conflicts with the BCBA! Also, we were frequently instructed to falsify information on the insurance progress notes. See if a patient shows too much improvement then the insurance company stops paying for the therapy because they say the child is basically "cured" or no longer needs the therapy. If they show not enough progress, the ins company will stop paying because they'll say that the therapy isn't beneficial enough. Those rules definitely aren't fair BUT, they ARE still THE RULES and to falsify information on ins progress notes is illegal and constitutes FRAUD no matter how you slice it. But, in order to work for them, you MUST sign a contract that you will not disclose their practices and blah blah blah. My contract period has ended already so I don't mind laying their stuff bare now!! There's a lot of fraud going on within this company and someone (maybe even just me) needs to do whatever it takes to get them exposed for it and let the parents know that they're being lied to constantly too!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start properly training new hires, make sure that the managers for new sites are worthy of that title, when one of your employees gets hurt at the clinic chairing after a child that wasn't even assigned to them, honor your obligations and don't let managers railroad the therapists!! Listen to the therapist when they come to you with complaints about site managers. Stop coaching your make managers on how to avoid... worker's comp claims and take care of your therapists!! Also, stop using fraudulent tactics to keep clients there when the ins companies would've already graduated them out of the program and instead maybe offer different levels of therapy so the children can transition out instead of just being considered as "cured" by the ins companies. Help fight legislation that allows ins companies to do these things rather than just committing fraud and addicting to the reason that the ins companies are the way they are to begin with. Finally, do regular anonymous surveys of site management by the other staff members. This would really help you all know when you've got a bad site manager. And please, train new clinic staff better and for longer!! Bottom line, be a more honorable and upstanding company in general!!

    Show More
    The Shape of Behavior2016-06-26
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Direct Therapist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior

    Pros

    People you work with are young and laid back, time off, vacations, sometimes leave early if everything is done.

    Cons

    Manager had favorites, rules only applied to certain people, competitive environment to move up due to everyone else being the same age as you, management don't really care for the therapists. Sometimes BCBAs don't keep up with BIPs which makes it harder on you. Low pay for tedious work. Benefits are only obtainable after completing training and most people quit within that time frame.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees more and offer higher pay

    The Shape of Behavior2015-01-16
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Therapist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Shape of Behavior full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are very few Pros to this company. If you're young and looking to spend 6 months after college somewhere, this may be ok for you. I can see the intentions here but nothing is executed.

    Cons

    Too many to list.... -inadequate training -managers only have experience working at TSOB so they are blind to the unethical procedures and policy -pay is too low for the amount of work expected -managers are the only ones who talk highly of the administration team, ask another employee how it is, they will tell you the truth -parents should know how young and inexperienced the staff really are -tension and... stress is HIGH here daily, reinforcement for good work is rare -you won't be prepared to go to another clinic when you leave with the training you get here -You will never advance here to a management position, they are tight, look out for each other -the BCBAs are groomed to do whatever the CEO wants, there is absolutely no variety in therapeutic approach -turnover is high, which makes the employees that stay carry the burden because so many employees are constantly in their 60 day training period

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They won't read this or change.

    The Shape of Behavior2013-05-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Many staff working together to help our wonderful kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Direct Therapist in Houston, TX

    I have been working at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The majority of the staff are passionate about their jobs and love the patients. There are a few who are clearly just there for any job; some complain about job duties often yet never seem to be looking to go somewhere else. Most of the parents are easy to talk to and really care about working as a team to help their child. The BCaBAs and BCBAs work hard with support staff to develope the best programs for each... child. There is tuition reimbursement for BCaBAs and paid internships for both BCaBAs and BCBAs.

    Show More

    Cons

    Management. No HR manager has lasted more than three months. The business director often fills both rolls. She's extremely hard to get a hold of when you have a problem- like too much taxes or insurance being deducted from pay. I waited over three months to go on direct deposit. Our sight manager is expected to play manager, secretary, therapist, and shopper. When stuff falls through the cracks I'm not surprised... because she's doing the work of two plus people. It's also very difficult to get a raise. You have to ask them for it when your year anniversary comes around. Then you might wait a month or more to get an answer. And the increase will be very very small. Not even 5%. Higher ups are very stingy with money. Supply budget for each kid is $20/ month. That's supposed to be for cleaning supplies, new toys, and program materials. Not realistic at all. Especially considering monthly cost (to insurance or family, whoever is paying) is $6,000.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire one person for each position- even if only part time- instead of expecting one or two people to do the work of four. Get a full time HR manager who makes it their job to know all the employees well. Increase pay for employees who clearly demonstrate commitment to company mission by going above and beyond the call of duty. Get rid of those who have too many strikes against them- even if they've worked there a... few years. Just showing up isn't enough.

    Show More
    The Shape of Behavior2012-07-05
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Bottom line interfering with what's best for the kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior

    Pros

    Some of the people who also work at Shape are kind, compassionate individuals.

    Cons

    I worked for Shape full-time and saw BCBAs stretched beyond their limits. We were understaffed for the majority of the time I was there and I overheard managers bad-mouthing other direct care staff regularly. This is a competitive environment where people who attend more to the managers and admin are rewarded more heavily than those who provide genuine care to the kids.

    The Shape of Behavior2012-12-30
Found 10 reviews