The Shape of Behavior "therapy" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Shape of Behavior Employee Reviews about "therapy"

Updated 6 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
20%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
The Shape of Behavior CEO Dr. Domonique Randall (no image)
Dr. Domonique Randall
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team of BCBAs doing their best with oversized caseloads(in 5 reviews)

  • "The therapist are nice and work well together(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some staff members don't know what ABA really is(in 9 reviews)

  • "therapy 4:00-4:30 janitorial work(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "therapy"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Direct Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time

    Pros

    It was gratifying and challenging work. You will see clients make tremendous progress.

    Cons

    Poor management which caused poor morale. Management cared little about the mental health of employees and clients and more about numbers and scheduling. Raises were non-existent. Evaluations were not based off meeting the needs of the clients. They are based off the number of times you perform a specific skill and make few mistakes. Many times, the work seemed unethical. The clients were not able to just be... children. The clients spent 8-9 hours of their day in behavior therapy which is a practice that fails to acknowledge the fact that these clients and their therapists are human beings with emotions that need breaks from therapy. Most employees were burnt out and the turn over was very high. The management was also inconsistent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give raises to the therapists that deserve them. Evaluate therapists based off the quality of their work. Help your therapists when you see that they are in need rather than watching them struggle from the cameras. Understand that you are working with human beings.

    The Shape of Behavior2017-09-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Away it wil be a waste of time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - RBT in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the children is the only benefit.

    Cons

    The company schedules your work hours as if you were an independent contractor( which you are not), and you will never get 40 hours a week. Your hours will be based on how many clients they have and you will be scheduled around the client's availability. If a client doesn't make it to the facility for the day, guess what? You won't get paid. They only want you there when the client is there so that the insurance... companies are paying for your wages and not them. In the beginning you will go through a 2 week training period where you will get 40 hours a week working from 8 to 5 Monday thru Friday with a 1 hour lunch each day, but that will change. Your hours and lunch times will start to vary ( example Monday 9:15-9:30 admin time 9:30-10:30 1:1 therapy (10:30 -11:00 lunch) 11:00 - 2:00 1:1 therapy 2:00 - 4:00 1:1 therapy 4:00-4:30 janitorial work. Tuesday off , Wednesday a half a day etc.) The management is totally unorganized and takes their frustrations out on the RBTs. Management also makes things up as they goalong with no formal meetings about the subject at matter. There is entirely too much to write about so apply at your own risk.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    NONE

    The Shape of Behavior2019-03-07
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, working in the psych field.

    Cons

    Honestly it was one of the most stressful jobs I have ever had. I had kids run around the room, punch me, kick me, scratch me, and throw poop at me and scratch me with his poopy fingernails because you are NOT allowed to react. Sometimes this would happen for five minutes. Sometimes three hours. It was pure torture standing there and having to control body language while getting bit really hard. The BCBA is super... strict and if you slip up once you get a verbal warning, the next time a write up. It really was a stressdul job. And you are NOT allowed to deal with emotions. Its always behavioral. So if these kids are throwing tantrums because they say they are frustrated, we cannot communicate with them or give them talk therapy. It is pure behavioral therapy with no counsoling. Honestly the worst side of psychology I have ever seen. Even psychoanalyst are better than behavioralist. Psychology is about emotions, what goes on in the mind. Not just good/bad behaviors. They dont explore the real reason why they are doing it. They just assume its because you take stuff away from kids, that they throw a fit. There is very little compassion or love at this job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The nitpicking is what drives out employees.

    The Shape of Behavior2018-10-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RBT in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The patients improvement ...that's it.

    Cons

    -RBTs do not have the necessary tools to work with the patient -The patients do NOT receive 40 hours of therapy, at most 15-20 minutes per hour -The buildings are not safe or clean (cleaning crew does not do their job. Exterminator does not do miracles, there are bugs EVERYWHERE and several ANTHILLS where the patients play) -Pay is a joke. RBTs do a lot for little pay -Boss lady needs to stop being cheap if she... had a child with a disability she would not put her own child at TSOB.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so cheap!

    The Shape of Behavior2017-06-19
  5. Helpful (4)

    "ABA Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ABA Therapist/Level II Therapist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are steady hours and its weekdays only. Some small perks and benefits. There are very few to get excited about. Its a decent job if you're just out of school, but think temporary, not long term.

    Cons

    Theres a lot. The pay is low for what you are expected to do (same with majority of clinics in this profession). Management doesn't care at all. They lie to parents by saying therapy is a one on one ABA setting.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to actually care about employees. I worked there for a year and management doesn't care for the well being of therapists. I witnessed it first hand, when after dealing with a patients behaviors and protecting myself from attacks after he ripped apart a table, management came the next take to ensure that the table, not my well being, were ok.

    The Shape of Behavior2016-06-07
  6. Helpful (6)

    "This company protects their own interest before ANYTHING ELSE!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Behavior Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior

    Pros

    These children do actually show progress. That's mostly because the BCBAs are telling therapist what to do. So if the BCBA doesn't do a good job and the therapist isn't well trained, dedicated and compassionate about what they're doing and management doesn't support the therapist (which 99% of the time they DONT) then the children will not progress as well and can actually regress at times. So the ABA therapy itself... is yes an amazing and hopeful thing for children with autism. I'm not sure that The Shape of Behavior is the right place to obtain this service.

    Show More

    Cons

    Wow where to start. First off, like many other reviews have stated, management is more about favoritism! They DO NOT support their therapist in most cases and, while I've seen the replies from the HR Manager, don't be fooled, had the concerns been brought to her, if the manager at your clinic is out to get you or if you're reporting an injury on the job that requires a worker's comp case to be filed, they will all... strict together to make sure you don't get what by law you're entitled to!! When they open a new clinic, they take a group of applicants all with the same skill set and background/experience pretty much, "train" them for approximately two weeks then tell employees that at the end of training, one will be selected at the site manager and the other will be selected as the lead therapist oh and that the selections will be based on who they see has the most potential during training. That's all a load of bullhockey! They select the trainee that sucks up the best. They didn't select a lead therapist at all in my case. The person they selected at the site where I worked was the person that honestly couldn't stand to be anywhere near the patients and had NO CLUE what she was doing as a manager either. In fact, she often would instruct therapists to do the exact opposite as what they were trained to do during the initial training. When challenged, she then would try to find things to try and get you in trouble with. This includes her having conflicts with the BCBA! Also, we were frequently instructed to falsify information on the insurance progress notes. See if a patient shows too much improvement then the insurance company stops paying for the therapy because they say the child is basically "cured" or no longer needs the therapy. If they show not enough progress, the ins company will stop paying because they'll say that the therapy isn't beneficial enough. Those rules definitely aren't fair BUT, they ARE still THE RULES and to falsify information on ins progress notes is illegal and constitutes FRAUD no matter how you slice it. But, in order to work for them, you MUST sign a contract that you will not disclose their practices and blah blah blah. My contract period has ended already so I don't mind laying their stuff bare now!! There's a lot of fraud going on within this company and someone (maybe even just me) needs to do whatever it takes to get them exposed for it and let the parents know that they're being lied to constantly too!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start properly training new hires, make sure that the managers for new sites are worthy of that title, when one of your employees gets hurt at the clinic chairing after a child that wasn't even assigned to them, honor your obligations and don't let managers railroad the therapists!! Listen to the therapist when they come to you with complaints about site managers. Stop coaching your make managers on how to avoid... worker's comp claims and take care of your therapists!! Also, stop using fraudulent tactics to keep clients there when the ins companies would've already graduated them out of the program and instead maybe offer different levels of therapy so the children can transition out instead of just being considered as "cured" by the ins companies. Help fight legislation that allows ins companies to do these things rather than just committing fraud and addicting to the reason that the ins companies are the way they are to begin with. Finally, do regular anonymous surveys of site management by the other staff members. This would really help you all know when you've got a bad site manager. And please, train new clinic staff better and for longer!! Bottom line, be a more honorable and upstanding company in general!!

    Show More
    The Shape of Behavior2016-06-26
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Direct Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Therapist in Sugar Land, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Shape of Behavior full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being a direct therapist takes a toll on you after a while so when you have other great therapist to work with, the job is a little easier. Some of the client's parents were amazing as well. Seeing your hard work pay off when a child makes an improvement in their behavior, motor skills, language..etc.

    Cons

    I think this goes for all ABA therapy facilities but the pay is nowhere near close to what we should've been getting paid being that we have 10 different jobs in 1 title. I don't recall being a janitor and cleaning up at the end of the day being in my job description. Upper management is very sneaky and deceiving. Depending on the manager, a lot of micro-managing occurred. I don't think having the stress of the job... in itself on top of being hovered over by upper management was very encouraging. A lot of the time, us as therapist felt overlooked. We'd give suggestions to make for a better environment and company but ideas would never be implemented or taken seriously. You receive 2 weeks off for Christmas break but don't get paid a penny. All while the company is still making money by robbing these clients of their money. They are crooks that truly lack the ethics and compassion to truly care about these children. Now, having over what? 10 locations now but still paying your employees an hourly fee that we could get at Whole Foods. Not to mention, the owner rolling up in her Porsche to check in every now and then. I don't think anyone felt accomplished there just because we received no motivation. They would put together little things to say "thank you" but it didn't feel genuine. Just something to do to make it seem like they cared. Yeah, right.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    LISTEN to your employees. STOP being greedy and money hungry. Take care of your employees and your employees will take care of you. Treat your employees with respect and you won't have to worry about them doing their full complete job on a day to day basis. Hire managers who are TEAM PLAYERS.

    The Shape of Behavior2016-01-12
Found 7 reviews