The Siegfried Group "fortune 1000 companies" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Siegfried Group Employee Reviews about "fortune 1000 companies"

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
The Siegfried Group CEO Rob Siegfried Jr.
Rob Siegfried Jr.
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "A lot of the time bridging the experience from Big 4 to Industry(in 10 reviews)

  • "Exposure to the large Fortune 1000 companies (across industries as well)(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Having Siegfried on your resume may actually hurt your competitiveness if the next hiring manager you interview with is from the big 4(in 9 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance could be better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fortune 1000 companies"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Strong Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1.) Compensation- based on a fair system and truly tries to incentive everyone to do the right thing (i.e. production hours, travel, BD awards, recruiting, etc.) 2.) Leadership Training- Heavy spend/investment in the people of TSG to build their leadership. 3.) Quality Clients- Work primarily with Fortune 1000 companies. A lot of the time bridging the experience from Big 4 to Industry. 4.) Variety of... Projects-truly understand what type of accounting/finance in industry you are most interested in.

    Show More

    Cons

    1.) Consulting- you need to be okay knowing your desk is going to change quite frequently, as you move from project to project. This is the nature of the business and not everyone is cut out for it!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. There is certainly a vested interest in all professionals at The Siegfried Group! It's a unique place and doesn't go unnoticed.

    The Siegfried Group2019-07-02
  2. Helpful (3)

    "This job/company is a great fit for some people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great culture -Great base pay -Incentives are high (I've made more in bonuses in 8 months than 3 combined years in public accounting) -Clients are mostly fortune 1000 companies -Work out/well being stipend -Networking stipend -Tons of opportunity for growth within the resource ranks and the company internally -Opportunity to travel if you want to

    Cons

    -Most of the cons are matched with an incentive (hours could be 50+ but you are compensated for higher weekly billable hours worked)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be upfront and transparent with professional resources working in the field. This job has been everything that I was told in my interview process. The accounting work, incentives, and everything else has been spot on from what the Market Leaders told me in my interview process.

    The Siegfried Group2019-04-11
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Not a reliable company to work for, doesn't treat employees with respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work at Fortune 1000 company's

    Cons

    Employees are paid to talk up Siegfried as a good place to work, it is not. Many employees are fired, hence a very high turnover I trust management as far as sending me a check once a month, I do not trust them for anything else and neither should you. You will be placed on any client they want you on, you DO NOT get to choose, again don't trust the feel good promises you told at the start. The general... consensus of any professional who has been at Siegfried for more than one year knows the above points are true

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Drain the swamp or as I call it most of management in the many markets

    The Siegfried Group2018-12-18
  4. Helpful (4)

    "My personal opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time

    Pros

    Fair compensation. Your hard work in overtime and willingness to travel are compensated. Engagement primarily focused on Fortune 1000 firms, which offers great exposure and opportunities to build your network. They try hard to build a good team rapport and culture, although at the end as a professional resource , it's pretty much every man for himself and it's up to one personally to prove their worth to the client... (which i think is fair).

    Show More

    Cons

    Your experience largely dependent on your engagement, which could be great or terrible. As much as they would like to find interesting work that will be beneficial to their employees, there are a good amount of less their desirable work to go around. Quite a bit of personal sacrifice if you are want to make the most of your experience, between traveling and overtime, and other firm dedicated initiatives. It's... not really a good fit for people who want more work/life balance. Not a lot is done to train & develop employees beyond on the job training which is preached. If you are not on an interesting job or client, you will find little other reason to stick around which explain the very high turnover. If they offer more developments or better mentorship program, maybe this would help retain some of the younger employees and build them for a longer career within the firm. Especially since they tend to hire younger individuals who are not far in their careers and don't provide too much support. There's much potential there but is wasted and talents leave and with mixed opinions of the firm.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more experienced individuals, have them involved in sales/developments, as well as mentorship of less experienced professionals. Compensation isn't everything and generally can only provide motivations to a certain degree. There seems to be a lot of folks in overhead departments. Trim the fat and reallocate resources strategically beyond social events and parties. Recruit true experts in certain areas of... opportunities to lead and build out better avenues of growth. Selling clients on bringing in a few abled bodies to help backfill a few special projects can only get you so far. If you can build a few special groups that are dedicated to specific disciplines (for example project management, financial reporting, M&A, valuation work, etc.), this would increase salability of resources & the resources will truly gain good experience.

    Show More
    The Siegfried Group2017-04-27
  5. "More than I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incentives Transparency of Corporate Growth opportunities Able to complete your resume Variety of industries and clients Fortune 1000 companies Travel opportunities What frustrated me the most coming from 5 years in public accounting was working so hard to only receive the same raise and bonus as those that worked significantly less. At TSG, if you have an entrepreneurial attitude, this firm will do... wonders for you. I have been able to travel while earning great incentives that helped me buy a house. I have also been able to work with two Fortune 100 companies in less than two years at TSG.

    Show More

    Cons

    Having to roll-off a client after establishing a relationship with co-workers (nature of the business)

    Advice to Management

    Everything has been great working with both in-market and out-market leadership teams.

    The Siegfried Group2013-09-24
  6. "Rewarding, the best entrepreneurial firm in the business!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Siegfried Group offers many interesting and challenging opportunities working with high profile Fortune 1000 companies. My engagements were aligned with my interests and helped propel my career in the right direction. The firm's leadership is extremely supportive and truly cared about my own personal development along with the success of each engagement. The firm has deep entrepreneurial roots and it feeds... into all employees at the firm. In addition to providing consultative services to clients, the firm encourages all employees to remain involved in business development, recruiting and other firm initiatives which are all creatively tied to incentive compensation. Involvement in these firm activities helps development the intangibles that accompany all highly successful business people.

    Show More

    Cons

    Participating in firm activities outside of the client service work can be time consuming but it helps you become a more well rounded business person.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    The Siegfried Group2013-09-30
  7. "Accelerated my career through interesting and challenging projects!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am a current employee and have had such a positive experience in my three years at the firm. I came from public accounting, and was looking for variety. I wasn't sure what I wanted to be when I grew up, but I had worked out that it wasn't an auditor. I liked the business model in that I would get to see many Fortune 1000 clients, work in and learn different systems (like SAP, Hyperion etc), meet a ton of new... people, and try out different kinds of groups - internal audit, financial & SEC reporting, month end close, work on transactions such as IPO's and carveouts. The average project length is 6-9 months, so if found out I didn't care for a particular role, it was going to come to an end, and I would get to try something different (verses being "stuck" in an industry job). I liked that if I was going to spend 5 years here, I would see probably 10-12 roles, or more. The incentives here have been great! I feel that I have really got my career back on track, and grown a lot. Another thing I like is that we have connection events with the office, where we get together and do fun events - Panthers game, dinner, hockey games, go to River Jam at the Whitewater Center, go karting, etc. That, in addition to staying connected to your Team Leader and other members of leadership, make you feel connected even though you are out at clients locations. And I have never felt like a "contractor" out on jobs. My clients have taken me in as one of there own, which is awesome. The Siegfried Group has been a great career move for me.

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't found too many downsides. About the only one I can think of is if you aren't open to any travel, than you will be limiting yourself to what one market or city can provide, which may or may not give you the variety you were looking for. We have four travel designations you can set, from no travel, all the way up to Road Warrior, which you can set each year. As you move up in your travel flexibility, you... are able to earn more and more incentives for those out of market projects. Definetly a benefit over public - I didn't earn incentives in public for all the travel that I did.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Our firm is growing a lot, and it is an exciting time to work here.

    The Siegfried Group2013-09-05
  8. "Siegfried Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get a great deal of appreciation and attention from management. (Management puts a lot of care into who they hire, the opportunities that they present folks to, and what is in the best interest of the employee.) Exposure to the large Fortune 1000 companies (across industries as well). The incentives are exceptional. The incentives do reward everyone for going above and beyond. Its a great place to learn... and build skills. (These skills are certainly in accounting but also presentation, communication, and project management skills are built as you move from client to client.) You work alongside the best and brightest in the accounting field.

    Show More

    Cons

    The benefits are average as compared to other companies.

    The Siegfried Group2012-09-21
Found 8 reviews