KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

The Siemon Company

Is this your company?

The Siemon Company

Add a Review

The Siemon Company Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 of over 55 reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Siemon Company President and CEO Henry Siemon (no image)
Henry Siemon
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Family owned / operated company that encourages employee self-management(in 7 reviews)

  • "The Siemon Company is a great place to work(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It’s a high stress, unsupportive environment(in 4 reviews)

  • "Fast-paced, challenging to achieve a work/life balance(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Supportive, innovative and fun place to work.

      Mar 14, 2019 - Quality Assurance in Watertown, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family owned, owners truly care about ALL employees. Promotion from within, tuition reimbursement, encourages feedback and allows employees to be innovative.

      Cons

      Fast-paced, challenging to achieve a work/life balance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Cheerful and Fun

      Aug 25, 2021 - Mechanical Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company has alot of potential and alot of work. Much of the products need to pass rigorous testing before being displayed to customers

      Cons

      Some management officials do not know the direction or risk associated with certain projects and end up dropping the ball.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good Beginner Company for non-experienced

      Aug 16, 2021 - ElectroMechanical Engineer in Watertown, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast to act on customer needs. Many different projects to peek interest and design of product.

      Cons

      Benefits and salary isn't enough to compensate workload. High turnover and retirements poor management.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Decent company but used to be better

      Jan 8, 2021 - Machine Operator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good vacation and time off

      Cons

      Bad healthcare, high deductible and lack of coverage

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      The Siemon Company

      May 10, 2020 - Systems Analyst in Watertown, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People that work there. Many are genuine and care about doing the right thing the first time

      Cons

      not sure at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      I love my job!

      May 23, 2016 - Vice President in Watertown, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started with The Siemon Company 24 years ago as a mechanical engineer after graduating from the University of New Haven. I have held various positions within the company over the years as I was given the opportunity to learn and grow into my current role as VP of Global Marketing. I have had a successful and satisfying career here and I can honestly say that I love my job! I feel part of a global family and have made several great friendships with my coworkers in Watertown and around the world. I am even part of our own company band called River Mud who has been together for 13 years. Our engineering and vertical manufacturing capabilities from injection molding, metal stamping, sheet metal, tooling and automation right here in the US differentiates us from our competition and allows us to have complete control over quality and customer satisfaction. Our environmental sustainability practices and achievements including a negative 179% carbon footprint are something to be proud of. We are committed to US manufacturing, continuous improvement, our employees, our customers and the IT cabling industry. I plan to stay and retire from this great company and hope that my children also have an interest in working here someday.

      Cons

      I have several friends who work for larger public companies where politics, red tape and quarter to quarter performance hinders productivity and employee opportunities. We don't have such issues here at Siemon as we can make fast decisions based on our private and flat management organization. Siemon has been in business and growing for over 113 years for a reason!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Investigate before you Leap

      Jan 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family owned. Salary and bonus was excellent in a Management position. Globally positioned.

      Cons

      It’s not an environment where you can thrive as a thinker and be innovative in the way a good business leader should. Management style is authoritative and not Leadership style (People who thrive in this environment have accepted their fate to “jump how high”) If you want an environment where you are treated like a robot then this is the company for you. They don’t make policies that are people friendly. Departments are always pointing fingers at one another, this is a result of poor leadership. It truly takes someone who will overlook the shortcomings to succeed. It’s a high stress, unsupportive environment. People who are writing great reviews have been with the company for decades, have their own share of bad experiences, however for fear of losing their jobs just tolerate and count down to retirement; that’s not an engaged workforce.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Design Engineer

      Oct 6, 2017 - Design Engineer in Watertown, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits - 401k match, healthcare,dental,vision, and competitive salary. Co-workers help each other to complete any task (shipping, production, sales, design) The Siemon Company has established a complete doc control and procedure layout for any task (quality, engineering, and purchasing). This system creates a uniform protocol to share/collaborate information with other team members and orgs (Mex,Czech,China).

      Cons

      Facility and test equipment is slightly outdated 1980's, but it works for Ethernet and Fiber transmission testing. Hopefully new equipment will be purchased to test the next generation of high speed signal transmission. Facility renovation would be great, been with the company since 2007 and it still looks the same. At least the data showroom has been a great improvement to showcase the Siemon product lines for customers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good work environment

      May 3, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been employed by the Siemon Company for 10+ years after several years’ at large corporations and small family businesses. I work in a middle management position that is part of operations. For me the Siemon Company offer a great work environment: small enough where you know virtually everyone by name, while also offering a valuable global business experience. The business has a healthy new product development (NPD) process that keeps them relevant. My average day is filled with NPD, manufacturing problem solving and working with many facets of the supply chain. In my 10 years here I feel that the management team has treated me fairly and my opinion matters. What more do you need?

      Cons

      Goals and objectives need to be coordinated between departments for more effective execution

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great atmosphere

      May 4, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Watertown, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family owned / operated company that encourages employee self-management. Employees are awarded accordingly with a generous compensation package. Siemon has been in business since 1903 with a Senior Management staff capable of continually growing and evolving the business. Retention rate is excellent, many employees have 20+ years of service.

      Cons

      None that I could think of at this time. The winters can make commuting a bit of a challenge, but not terrible.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 52 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Siemon Company Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Siemon Company? Share Your Experiences

    The Siemon Company logo
    or