The So Cal Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The So Cal Group Reviews

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
The So Cal Group President Tedford Picha
Tedford Picha
57 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, some weeks more tough than others(in 9 reviews)

  • "You have to walk miles doing door to door sales (ex(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Invaluable Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The So Cal Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is amazing. Very encouraging, uplifting, lots of mentoring and never-ending guidance and support. Gained the best B2B sales and leadership skills that I will carry on with me forever. I would have gone far with this company, but unfortunately had to move out of state for family reasons.

    Cons

    You have to brew your own coffee in the morning, but everything is there to make it.

    The So Cal Group2020-03-10

    The So Cal Group Response

    March 12, 2020HR

    Hi Reviewer! Thanks for the great feedback. We're glad to hear that you gained valuable skills, and enjoyed the team-based atmosphere during your time with us. We wish you continued success and growth in the future.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good resume builder but not worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Torrance, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The So Cal Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The skills you will learn are extremely beneficial. In general, if you like to work hard and party hard you are going to enjoy the culture. You will get paid if you're willing to work hard and if you can make it working here you will succeed in many other places however please see below for the catch.

    Cons

    There is intense favoritism. If you "look sharp" aka that's a code for attractive and young, you are guaranteed a job. Too old, too fat etc. they may "take the risk on a 110" and you might get a job but you will absolutely have a harder uphill battle to any sort of "opportunity". After moving on to another company, I can see clearly how toxic that mentality was. You're better off going to a competitor office because the systems they teach you are all the same.

    Continue reading
    The So Cal Group2019-12-15
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Account Executive within the Leadership Development Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The So Cal Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Excellent Work Environment -Great opportunity for learning -Promotions and compensation fully based on performance -Fun Team Nights every Wednesday

    Cons

    -Gotta be willing to put hard work to achieve your goals

    The So Cal Group2019-10-30

    The So Cal Group Response

    November 17, 2019HR

    Hi Reviewer! Thanks for the great feedback! Wishing you continued success!

    Continue reading
  5. "Invaluable experience with endless opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The So Cal Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The So Cal Group is a family dynamic where you have the opportunity to personally and professionally grow in knowledge, coaching and leadership while maintaining a work life balance. The energy is amazing day in and day out. Every individual thrives off one another’s success. Knowledge gained is relatable to any other profession. Recognition Supportive One on one coaching Travel opportunities In-house Gym Team Night’s (beach volleyball, professional sports games, etc.)

    Cons

    Need to be willing to put forth the work Not the easiest but extremely rewarding

    The So Cal Group2019-09-11

    The So Cal Group Response

    September 14, 2019HR

    Hey Reviewer! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear that you've had such a great experience with us. Wishing you continued success!

    Continue reading
  6. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Torrance, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The So Cal Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great work culture, managers care about you, you have all the tools to succeed

    Cons

    long walking distances, poor territories

    The So Cal Group2019-08-14

    The So Cal Group Response

    August 31, 2019HR

    Hey Reviewer! Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate it. Wishing you success in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "This job is a joke—it’s door to door sales of businesses! Slimy and unnerving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The So Cal Group

    Pros

    Nothing, unless being a 3rd party door to door sales person on the streets is your passion STAY AWAY

    Cons

    Everything, this job is a joke

    Continue reading
    The So Cal Group2019-08-10

    The So Cal Group Response

    March 17, 2020HR

    Hi Reviewer. Thanks for sharing your opinions. While this position might not have been a fit for you, it might be a great fit for others. We're not passionate about direct sales and we don't expect anyone else to be. We are passionate about training and developing our people and making sure anyone who goes through our training program gains additional skills that will benefit them for life. We're sorry to hear that you were unable to complete the two-week entry-level training program. We're happy to compensate anyone who completes the basic training program, and we set that expectation from day one. Again, we thank you for your feedback and hope you were able to find a better fit for the future.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Business Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The So Cal Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a new graduate I was really seeking basic business knowledge and experience. Wanted to get into sales to get myself out of my comfort zone. As an account executive here I was able to better my communication skills as well as network with business owners daily. The leadership development program was beneficial and helped me understand business development as well as a full sales cycle.

    Cons

    Performance based, have to put in what you want to get out.

    Continue reading
    The So Cal Group2019-04-09

    The So Cal Group Response

    April 15, 2019HR

    Hey Reviewer! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate the feedback!

    Continue reading
  9. "Loved It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The So Cal Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a sales professional I wanted to join a company where I could see more return when I did well. As an Account Manager I was able to put in work on my sales and move of the ranks quickly. The opportunity for personally and professional development everyday really helped get me where I want to be with my current career. Loved the active and energetic culture.

    Cons

    I found that there were no Cons

    Continue reading
    The So Cal Group2019-04-09

    The So Cal Group Response

    April 15, 2019HR

    Hi Reviewer! Thanks for your feedback about The So Cal Group. We appreciate it!

    Continue reading
  10. "Good things come to those who work for them!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Trainee in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The So Cal Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The compensation and the growth opportunity are both merit based, which means you earn what you work for. I love that, since that means I don't have to wait around for a raise, and I don't have to wait around for someone to retire to move up the ladder.

    Cons

    This is not a job where you just clock in and out. You aren't micromanaged, so self management is a MUST.

    Continue reading
    The So Cal Group2019-03-05

    The So Cal Group Response

    March 10, 2019HR

    Hi Reviewer! Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave some info about The So Cal Group!

    Continue reading
  11. Helpful (5)

    "Fine if you don't mind door-to-door sales!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Torrance, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The So Cal Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The Team - Everyone is supportive and fun. - Management - They're very encouraging and try to help you improve as a salesman.

    Cons

    - Hours - You have to be there early and leave late for team meetings before and after working in the field. Weekly team outings, while fun, are mandatory. - Compensation - The pay (only commissions) is terrible unless you're making a lot of sales, which they say is achievable with hard work but in all honesty requires that plus a lot of luck. I heard the most successful salesman openly admit to lying to customers to get sales!

    Continue reading
    The So Cal Group2019-03-13

    The So Cal Group Response

    May 30, 2019HR

    Hi Reviewer! Thanks for your feedback. We definitely try to be as upfront as possible during the interview process and online. In the ads, the website, and the Leadership Development Program website, we try to spell out all of the details for anyone to see. We state very clearly that we do direct sales on behalf of our clients and we meet with business owners face-to-face. Our clients are strict about the way we represent them and we definitely do not support anyone misleading customers in order to complete a sale. We are confident that by following the training that we provide, sticking to systems and conducting ourselves with integrity and professionalism, one can definitely succeed. We understand that sales are challenging. We appreciate you taking the time to review us and wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
Found 87 reviews