The Source "cell phone" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Source Employee Reviews about "cell phone"

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
74%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
The Source President Claire Gillies (no image)
Claire Gillies
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Reasonable work environment, potential to make a reasonable paycheck if you are a good salesperson(in 24 reviews)

  • "discounts on some electronics just good for a part time gig(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management can be very pushy for sales(in 21 reviews)

  • "not enough training in cell phone sales to actually sell properly(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cell phone"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales Associate at the Source"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Source part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable work environment, potential to make a reasonable paycheck if you are a good salesperson.

    Cons

    The expectations were a bit unrealistic for sales quotas. must try and sell a cell phone to every person who walks into the store.

    The Source2019-11-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Where management goes to die"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Source full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid pay Good commissions Cheaper cell phone rates

    Cons

    NO WORK LIFE BALANCE! Lack of management training Lack of staff training

    Continue reading
    The Source2019-07-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Retail Sales but tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Salesperson in Whitby, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Source part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome Bell Discount available for Bell services such as cell phone, internet, tv and home phone.

    Cons

    Lots of reviews regarding sales targets now. Hard to move up beyond District Manager.

    Continue reading
    The Source2019-05-17
  4. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Source full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, gained knowledge in many areas including cell phone features and specifications, computers, tablets and troubleshooting problems. Hitting sales targets and focusing on goals.

    Cons

    Very slow at some times of the year. Commissions were good but going months with very little on top of base salary was difficult.

    Continue reading
    The Source2019-03-07
  5. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Source part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discounts on Beats and Bose products Get to wear jeans on the job

    Cons

    The worst management both in-store and in head office you will see in your life Incredible pressure to cell phones, that is actually all they care about and nothing else There is absolutely no room for growth in this company, even if you are a consistent sales performer The commission is only good on phones

    Continue reading
    The Source2019-02-02
  6. "Relaxed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Source full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are a busy store and you know your stuff can pull in good money or anyone at Christmas time.

    Cons

    Slow season feb/March you will make minimal cell phone unless you're a talented wireless salesperson and home services sales (always tough) management will keep asking why endlessly as if that will motivate customers to buy overpriced tv packages.

    Continue reading
    The Source2019-01-18
  7. Helpful (8)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Source full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Recognizable name brand. Lots of employment opportunities due to high staff/management turn over.

    Cons

    Let go of most all of their long term assistant managers last year. Terminated most full time employees and offered them working notice instead of severance so they could have the time to find alternative employment. The store "managers" are not really managers any longer. They have to fill out daily checklists, have zero control over inventory levels, have all the hiring done remotely, and yet are responsible for results. They are now referred to as "sales leaders". Watched inventory levels drop from $500 000 down to $100 000 in a matter of years, and most of that is in the cell phone cage as that is the main focus of the business. Upper/middle Management would ask questions such as "why do our customers not see us as a one stop shop for cell phones?" An answer of "Of the 20 models we carry, we only have accessories for 3 and we have to send people to a competitor to get their case today" got a response of "That is a poor attitude, we can't afford to carry accessories for every model". All managers were brought to a leadership camp for 4 days in 2016. on the afternoon of the last day, things went very dark in atmosphere where we were told that now that we have been given the tools to get results, they would have grounds for dismissal if we didn't start to produce. I watched long term managers get physically ill it was so upsetting and they couldn't eat lunch. I watched what used to a fantastic company to work for take a very ominous turn where fear tactics became common place. We went through a period of that back in 2004/5, and then they realized the immediate results from those tactics were outweighed by the loss of seasoned and knowledgeable people. History was ignored, and therefore repeated after the Bell take over. With the inventory levels, treatment of staff, wanting predominantly part time employees only, and the general treatment of low level management and staff, the writing appears to be on the wall for another struggling retail company. It broke my heart to have to leave, but when I can no longer look after my direct reports, and I have to push out initiatives that fringe on HR/legal ethics, I had no choice but to find alternative employment.

    Continue reading
    The Source2017-10-03
  8. "Working at the source"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Source part-time

    Pros

    Good Co-Workers and manager, Decent commission structure

    Cons

    Bad upper management, too many cell phone sales

    The Source2017-10-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "If this is just a part time job to get through school. It's perfect. Stay clear of making this a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Source full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team. Extremely easy to work with most of them. Being able to demo products. Flexible hours Great commission on cell phone sales

    Cons

    Company constantly changes their vision. The worst communication I have ever witnessed. Contacting 'Store Help' became a mess of people forwarded e-mails, and not responding. Had an issue recently where they took 2.5 months to respond to a question. Upper management doesn't communicate with other reps. DSM will tell us to do one thing, Regional manager will tell us to do another, and then Asset Protection will come in and tell us to do another thing, while simultaneously getting angry at the manager of the store because they changed it. Consistently go to outside hires for promotions. While also not giving key holders, or those who are in charge of the store while the manager is away any kind of compensation. Do not take any extra responsibility unless you enjoy doing double the work of your co-workers and getting paid the same. This goes from opening & closing to being a health & safety rep. Company never protects their employees from customers. Even if the customer is being extremely rude and aggressive, and trying to do something against policy, you over-rule it 'just this time' to make the customer happy, while also making the associate look like they don't know what they're talking about. It's all about 'What have you done for me lately?' vs 'What have you done in past?'. Doesn't matter if you got 5x your quota one month. If you're at 50% of your quota the next month, you're on thin ice. Do not listen to them when they say that they're looking into other job titles or raises for the work you do. It's garbage and they're just dragging you along getting you to stay for hope that your work might pay off.

    Continue reading
    The Source2017-03-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Seasonal Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Nanaimo, BC
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Source for less than a year

    Pros

    Commission, friendly team, relaxed workplace, builds customer communication skills

    Cons

    not enough training in cell phone sales to actually sell properly

    The Source2017-02-08
Found 23 reviews