The Springs Living Reviews | Glassdoor

The Springs Living Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
The Springs Living CEO Fee Stubblefield (no image)
Fee Stubblefield
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Springs Living invests in their employees by offering an abundance of free classes online and monthly training at staff meetings(in 17 reviews)

  • "The Springs offers development opportunities, a family like environment and take excellent care of the resident who live in their communities(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "High Turnover, Limited Public Transportation(in 6 reviews)

  • "The Springs Living is continuing to grow and we are seeing more of those benefits already(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A job that's worth all the hard work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Wilsonville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Springs Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great community (coworkers and residents). Go home feeling rewarded.

    Cons

    Can be emotionally draining. Often understaffed which may require picking up extra hours.

    The Springs Living2019-07-22
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver/Server in Wilsonville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Springs Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very friendly and flexible. Its more than a job, its a real Community!

    Cons

    If there is a miscommunication, it can have impacts to multiple areas.

    Advice to Management

    Keep showing your employees just how much they are valued!!

    The Springs Living2019-07-22

    The Springs Living Response

    July 23, 2019Director of People and Process

    Thanks for your review, I agree one element of miscommunication can impact lots of different departments, people, residents and even families. Wishing you the best, Lisa

  3. "Fun Time in the Kitchen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Wilsonville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Springs Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is flexible with scheduling needs and treats all employees fairly.

    Cons

    Miscommunication between caregiver department and kitchen department head tends to lead to avoidable disputes between caregivers and kitchen staff.

    Advice to Management

    A better chain of communication between Department to staff so that caregivers and kitchen assistance can achieve reaching residents needs efficiently.

    The Springs Living2019-07-22

    The Springs Living Response

    July 23, 2019Director of People and Process

    Thank you for your feedback, sounds like we need to work more on communication between departments - you are the second review mentioning the issue. Great advice - we will work toward a training which will help improve communication.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "I love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Eugene, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Springs Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I come in knowing I'm going to laugh every day, supervisors listen to you

    Cons

    none I can think of!

    Advice to Management

    help out a little bit more when we're busy and we are golden

    The Springs Living2019-06-05

    The Springs Living Response

    July 23, 2019Director of People and Process

    Thanks for your review and I love your approach... laughing does help everything. Great advice - will be sure to share with everyone to keep an eye out for busy times to jump in.

  5. "Best place EVER!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Services Coordinator in Eugene, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Springs Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, amazing teamwork and your coworkers feel more like family than fellow employees

    Cons

    There are no cons, I LOVE IT HERE!

    The Springs Living2019-06-05

    The Springs Living Response

    July 23, 2019Director of People and Process

    Thank you for your review, sounds like you are having a great experience and all is well. If you ever have any feedback feel free to pass it along. Lisa

  6. "Great Place to Work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Springs Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Springs offers development opportunities, a family like environment and take excellent care of the resident who live in their communities. The CEO is genuine and authentic in his approach. I have greatly benefited from the professional growth opportunities offered to me.

    Cons

    Wage for internal employees should be closely looked at. It seems as though employees hired externally receive higher wages. Additionally, as The Springs continues to grow we need to incentivize our current employees with better wage growth opportunities, this includes managerial positions. The home office staff should do a better job of collaborating with community staff when rolling out new systems and... benefits for employees. Community staff should have a voice in changes coming down the pipeline.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go out on the floor and let your staff know you appreciate them.

    The Springs Living2019-06-11

    The Springs Living Response

    July 23, 2019Director of People and Process

    Thank you for your review, we agree compensation (wages and benefits) need to continually be evaluated. Over the next few months salary and benefits are our focus area to create strategies to honor our current and future staff. Also, thank you for the feedback to the Home Office, ...

    Show More
  7. "The Springs of Tan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Server in Hillsboro, OR

    I have been working at The Springs Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working alongside people who are like family.

    Cons

    I have no complaints, they are doing a good job.

    Advice to Management

    You are doing a fantastic job

    The Springs Living2019-05-23

    The Springs Living Response

    July 23, 2019Director of People and Process

    Thanks for your review, sounds like everything is working well for you!

  8. "Feels Like Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Tanasbourne, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Springs Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team to work with and very friendly residents and overall welcoming environment to work with.

    Cons

    It can be hard when residents you are close with pass on.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to make new employees feel welcomed!

    The Springs Living2019-05-23

    The Springs Living Response

    July 23, 2019Director of People and Process

    Thanks for your review, happy to hear your enjoy the environment!

  9. "Would definitely recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Med Tech in Eugene, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Springs Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Springs at Greer Gardens is overall a great place to work. There are great benefits that most other entry-level healthcare workers don't have. The Springs provides employees (including caregivers) with several unique opportunities such as: 401-K (3% matching) Free chiropractor 1-2 times a month Free virtual doctor for you and your family Access to... their gym, pool, hot tub, and the full salon Paid vacation and paid sick time (for a full-time employee this is a total of 2 weeks a year) Discounted (and yummy) meals for staff Generous Christmas bonuses for all staff donated by the residents (last year some floor staff got $500) The Springs at Greer Gardens is a new community and it's very clean. They have a housekeeping crew that does a great job keeping up and keeping The Springs clean and comfortable for residents and staff. The Springs Living is truly accepting of all gender identities and sexual orientations. We have a colorful arrangement of staff members who identify in varying different ways and it's absolutely wonderful to work with a group of people who are so accepting. Unlike many other communities, The Springs Living has separate housekeeping, cooks, servers, caregivers, med techs, etc. This means that caregivers are not cooking meals, med techs do minimal caregiving, cooks don't serve, etc. Everyone has their own job, and while we all work as a team and help each other out, we do so because we want to, not because we are expected to.

    Show More

    Cons

    The Springs Living does not compensate their employees as well as many of the other communities in town. I took 11.57% pay cut when I started at the Springs. (I had over 3 years experience, and I'm a CNA as well) But, to me, it was worth the pay cut because of how well they treat their employees. There is a very high turnover rate in all healthcare settings and The Springs Living is no exception. There are... constant callouts and people quitting with no notice. This causes floor staff to work short handed or be asked to work over time. I have gone several weeks with 1 day off and working several 16-hour shifts a week. The floor staff gets burnt out from overworking, which creates a perpetual cycle of working short and being stressed. The paperwork system at The Springs is very confusing and needs improvement. My understanding is that upper management knows this is an issue and plans on changing our systems to be more electronic in January. The Springs Living hires Med Techs with no caregiving or healthcare experience and this often sets them up for failure and causes more harm than good.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I believe an incentive program would help minimize the number of call-outs. This would improve staff-retention by reducing burnout. In the end, this would even save the company money! The most driving incentive would be a pay differential. Offer all employees a 50 cent pay increase for a pay period of no call-ins. If you call in, even if it's excused, you don't get the pay increase. Note: this would not an... exponential pay increase. It would be 50 cents added on to your base pay at the end of each pay period, restarting at the beginning of each one. Something needs to be done. The Springs Living is a great place and we should strive to improve staff morale and retention. It needs to be a priority. Improving our staff retention and reducing burnout will set The Springs Living one step above all other care communities.

    Show More
    The Springs Living2019-05-07

    The Springs Living Response

    May 13, 2019Director of People and Process

    Thank you for your review and your thoughtful advice for us to take into consideration. First of all, your review of our benefits is very helpful - we are always looking for feedback to see what benefits really matter to our staff. You have also pointed out some key differences ...

    Show More
  10. "Unprofessional management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Med Tech in Wilsonville, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Springs Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sometimes there's free scraps of food they leave staff in the break room after their meetings.

    Cons

    * Management has become unprofessional over the years to the point where some even bully employees. *Pay is terrible. *Nothing is ever done about problem employees *Overwork staff and are very rude if you are sick. *Uniforms are uncomfortable and cheap *There's nursing patients in an assisted living units and violent and aggressive patients in memory care. *They expect too much from staff, don't fairly... compensate or appreciate them. Sometimes I wonder how these people are so bad at running a business

    Show More
    The Springs Living2019-05-12

    The Springs Living Response

    May 28, 2019Director of People and Process

    Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are sorry you had a bad experience and would be happy to chat more about it. Please feel free to call the Home Office at 503 435-2323 and speak with Lisa or Bridget. Thanks again for your years of service with The Springs Living ...

    Show More
Found 109 reviews