The Standard Reviews | Glassdoor

The Standard Reviews

Updated April 16, 2018
287 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Standard President & CEO J. Greg Ness
J. Greg Ness
176 Ratings

287 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Upper management pushes process improvement a little too hard (in 20 reviews)

  • The work-life balance is awful, and also uneven (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (5)

    "One of the best places to work in Portland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Standard full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The management team I work with are always open to questions and work to remove any troubles that hinder our ability to complete task/projects. This cooperation starts at the Director to the Senior Director to the VP. All are sincerely open to conversations and genuinely care about the people who work in their area.

    Cons

    It does take time to understand the terminology and acronyms that are used by the business. Many who have been around for years know these but do not realize that everyone is not at the same level of understanding.

    Advice to Management

    Please provide more background into the different business areas, how they interact with each other and a glossary of terms used.

    The Standard Response

    Apr 13, 2018 – The Standard

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m pleased to see you believe your leaders are supportive. Your insight about the challenge to learn new industry terms/acronyms is a good... More


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Working at The Standard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Standard full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lot's of autonomy, respect, and hard work in my department and the departments I often interact with. Flexibility on schedule and working remotely has greatly improved my quality of life.

    Cons

    The same that come with any large corporation and roadblocks that exists in those systems.

    The Standard Response

    Apr 11, 2018 – The Standard

    Thank you for your comments. Your input is appreciated.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company with good values, need more clear direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Remote, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Standard full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Each leader I have worked for has a strong desire to see their employee's succeed. Most empathize with the struggles of their employees and look for ways to assist when possible. They encourage employee's to think creatively to solve issues and often empower them to work through problems.

    This company has strong ethical values including things like 'Do the right thing'. Employee's are encouraged to volunteer their time when possible and an annual employee giving campaign also encourages employees to volunteer their money with company-matching contributions.

    Cons

    In the last few years there has been a shift in focus almost each year on our 5 year plan. This is frustrating to employees as we work toward a goal/focus only to find the next year that goal/focus is no longer part of the 5 year plan.

    The connection between upper/middle management and 'on the ground' is very department-specific with some departments being very connected and others very disconnected.

    Technical support and career opportunities for remote (telecommuting) employees is improving but still lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Decide on a path for our organization and stick to it. Shift marketing needs are one thing but abandoning something that was one of our top focuses 2 years ago is very frustrating for employees, particularly, if you are in the part of the organization most impacted by the shift.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Really enjoyed my time there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Standard full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Strong leaders who care about their people
    The ability to make an impact - the company size is such you can make a difference and carve a path for yourself.
    Trusting and respectful environment
    Good work/life balance
    Some flexiblity to work from home
    Great charitable focus and employee involvement

    Cons

    Bonuses seem a little low compared to other employers

    Advice to Management

    Don't let the negative naysayers on here get you down. Those that can't provide feedback in a constructive way - one has to ask - why are they still working there if they hate it so much?

    The Standard Response

    Apr 12, 2018 – The Standard

    We're glad to see that your employment experience was favorable during your time with us and appreciate your comments.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "It's been good for me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Standard full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Thoughtful and respectful working environment
    People who really want to make a difference
    Supportive and respectful culture
    People around you help you do your best work

    Cons

    With a 100 year old legacy, change and technology is slower than in other organizations but we are moving in the right direction.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus on continuous improvement. The Lean efforts are engaging people and helping us think in new ways.

    The Standard Response

    Apr 12, 2018 – The Standard

    Thank you for sharing your views.


  6. Helpful (5)

    "Laughable IT “Management”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    can’t think of anything positive to say about this place! Good non mangers. Work/life balance is decent. Downtown location is “ok” but getting worse

    Cons

    Worst place I’ve ever worked and got a lot worse after the sale to a foreign company. Just read the recent post titled “Orwellian”. The author really does a great job in summarizing the current state.

    Picture a Roman galley to represent IT: staff rowing the galley into a hurricane and whirlpool and “management” cracking the whip saying “Go faster... go faster!”

    Take your “Velocity” back to Nike.

    Automation efforts are a joke and short-sighted all led by “leaders” who don’t have a clue about managing and developing talent.

    Advice to Management

    I dare someone in upper management or HR to reply to this message!

    Fire IT management and start over. Your rate of attrition is an abomination (despite what VP and above state) and is a testament to an ineffective and unethical HR department and leadership.

    The Standard Response

    Apr 13, 2018 – The Standard

    It’s disappointing to read that your experience here has been less than favorable. I encourage you to reach out to me to discuss your specific feedback. It’s important to me that each one of our IT... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Actuarial Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Standard full-time

    Pros

    We have a flexible work schedule and a nice student program.

    Cons

    Sometimes it takes longer time to solve the technical issues

    The Standard Response

    Apr 11, 2018 – The Standard

    Thank you for your feedback and insight. We are glad to see you are enjoying your employment experience and encourage you to continue to share feedback with your leader on what you think could... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Standard full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Wide range of opportunities to impact outcomes for customers as well as for employees

    Cons

    As a company with a lot of history, change continues to be challenging in some areas.

    The Standard Response

    Apr 11, 2018 – The Standard

    Thank you for sharing. As a newer leader here, we'd appreciate you sharing your insights and thank you for your efforts on helping influence positive change.


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Employee evaluation 1st year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Standard full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great People. Honest Company. Open communication on all levels

    Cons

    New case and case changes to Home Office. Long delays in completion of request.

    Advice to Management

    Retrain employees when necessary. Watch for the details.

    The Standard Response

    Apr 11, 2018 – The Standard

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback. Your comments have been shared and we encourage you to continue to share ideas on how we can improve our processes with your immediate leader.


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Genuine and Supporting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Standard full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Peers are genuinely supportive of others triumphs and struggles, both personal and professional, if shared. True life-work balance is supported by management.

    Cons

    Progress moves slowly and the move to re-integrate IT (from mostly off-shore) a few years ago has been and continues to be painful. The us : them divide between IT and business remains very much in tact. Implementation of Agile IT practices has been inconsistent, undercutting the benefit perception and encouraging a backslide into waterfall.

    Advice to Management

    Create clarity on objectives and priorities from the top down through to the individual contributor. Anything not falling into that list should not be distracting everyone. Align that work around Product teams which own the lifecycle of the solution with both IT and business stake (shared cost of build & maintain) versus projects (where build is funded by biz, maintenance owned by IT) will produce better tools containing the most important functionality. Less waste, more value, minimal offshoring & no knowledge handoffs needed.


Showing 287 of 307 reviews
Reset Filters