The Teaching Company Reviews in Chantilly, VA | Glassdoor

The Teaching Company Chantilly Reviews

Updated March 1, 2017
24 reviews

Filter

Filter

Chantilly, VA

2.7
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Paul Suijk
9 Ratings

24 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • A great product that make improves the lives of others--I like working for a company involved in education (in 7 reviews)

  • The product is great and there are some fantastic people who work in Customer Care (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • They don't have a work from home system set up for call center reps, which is too bad (in 5 reviews)

  • Lack of diversity for people of color in frontline management-senior management positions (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chantilly, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chantilly, VA

    Pros

    It was fine, it was run like a startup, but had the feel of a large company

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    I though Management did a good job, I would recommend.

    The Teaching Company Response

    Feb 3, 2017 – The Teaching Company

    Thanks you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time in The Teaching Company. We strive hard to make ourselves a preferred employer.


  2. "Associate Producer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asssocaite Producer in Chantilly, VA
    Former Employee - Asssocaite Producer in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Teaching Company full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Interesting work, good product, you learn a lot on each new subject

    Cons

    Not much training, left to own devices a lot

    Advice to Management

    Manuel needs to be created so Associate Producers can all be on the same page. Many different policies were followed, each different.

    The Teaching Company Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – The Teaching Company

    Thanks for your review and suggestion. TTC is undertaking a lot of new initiatives this year which will focus on closing out the gaps.


  3. Helpful (3)

    "CEO and CBO flushing company down the toilet."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Chantilly, VA
    Current Employee - Marketing in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Teaching Company full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The employees are good people who work hard. They do the best they can to work with a CEO and a CBO who are little more than greedy charlatans who are in way over there head.

    Cons

    TGC's hands are tied because most of their resources are being siphoned by venture capitalists, so they slowly bleed the value out of their employees, the product, and even their customers. The few resources they do have are spent incompetently by a CEO that means well, but can't do the job. He has 100% faith in a CBO that is incapable of understanding the company, the product, or the brand, yet somehow he's in charge of a big part of all these things. Neither of them have the insight, capability, or experience to run a company.

    Advice to Management

    CEO, fire the guy to your left and then quit. The company might stand a chance.

    The Teaching Company Response

    Dec 7, 2016 – The Teaching Company

    We are sorry to hear about your negative experience here at the teaching company. We recognize that we’re not perfect, but we really try to provide a good, collaborative environment. We have been ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Call center rep"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Chantilly, VA
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Teaching Company full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly working environment
    Everyone is willing to help you
    (Obviously free coffee)
    Flexibility with schedule requests for time off
    4 weeks PTO

    Not sure why there are some bad reviews. I can't speak for the other depts but within the call center, the pay is a lot higher than what you'll ever get at other call centers. You also have plenty of opportunity for overtime pay. There are always going to be a few negatives with any company but overall, I had a great experience.

    Cons

    Upsell percentage could be higher. The health benefits could also be a lot better but that's all I can think of right now.

    The Teaching Company Response

    Oct 18, 2016 – Sr. HR Generalist / Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. Yes, our Call Center pay is above competitiors because we value the hard work you all put in to provide our customers with the best service possible. We are very proud to ... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Okay to work at"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relationship Manager in Chantilly, VA
    Former Employee - Customer Relationship Manager in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Teaching Company full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company cooperates with you on hours
    Accommodates with food, drinks, and hotel rooms for their employees when its busy or when it snows to keep employees efficient

    Cons

    Opportunities available for minorities and women are completely nonexistent
    This company pretends that there is room for opportunities and growth for those in the call center but there isn't. Return rate is high in the call center due to the lack of growth in diverse management internally in the call center department and other departments in the company.
    Upsell/Crossell percentage is a TOTAL RIPOFF! People got bills to pay. We're making the company and CEOs rich but those at the front line (Customer Service Representative) who bring revenue in get less of that money

    Advice to Management

    Increase the upsell percentages if you're going to make upselling an important requirement for the Call Center. Stop creating silly upsell initiatives when Reps are not compensated. Representatives are abused and disrespected constantly by customers they should be greatly compensated as opposed to salary based pay.

    The Teaching Company Response

    Oct 25, 2016 – The Teaching Company

    Thank you for your review. As mentioned in another response, we focus on equality at The Teaching Company and work hard to develop a culture full of opportunities for all of our associates. We have ... More


  7. Helpful (6)

    "Smart, Data Driven Marketers"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics Manager in Chantilly, VA
    Current Employee - Analytics Manager in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Teaching Company full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    As an Analytics Manager I'm so happy to work at a company that so highly respects the use of data. Almost all important decisions, from new products to campaign planning, are made after careful and responsible use of customer driven data. I've learned more here than I have at any of my previous jobs combined! If you've read and enjoyed Freakonomics - then you understand how this company thinks!

    Cons

    Hours can be long, but it's not forced on us. Just a lot of work to be done! Hardware and analytics software could use some upgrades.

    Advice to Management

    Office could use a nicer kitchen or common area as well as a more reliable elevator.

    The Teaching Company Response

    Mar 8, 2016 – TheGreatCourses.com

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We value the Analytics team and the "always relevant" information your team provides the company on a day to day basis. The Great Courses prides itself ... More


  8. "So Sad to Have to Leave!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Chantilly, VA
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Teaching Company full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The team at the Teaching Company was so customer friendly! It was relieving and eye opening to work for a company who really went out of their way to make any customer that called in happy, even if it cost the company extra. I find that very rare this day for a company selling products, and it make the work environment fun and easy going.
    The team I worked closely with was great - very fun environment and I made a lot of close friends that I'll have for a long time.

    Cons

    The customer service team felt understaffed during my time there, which led to a lot of requests for extra hours. The cubicles we had to sit it felt small too, which made the area loud and a bit chaotic at times. They don't have a work from home system set up for call center reps, which is too bad. I had to move away due to a job my husband took, but I would have loved to continue to work for their call center from home.

    Advice to Management

    Update technology to allow call center reps to work from home from time to time, and hire some more good reps to go with the ones you already have. More space would be great for the reps too!

    The Teaching Company Response

    Oct 25, 2016 – The Teaching Company

    We thank you for your review and are glad that you had a positive experience with us. We take great pride in our culture and work hard to make our associates feel valued. This year, we have filled ... More


  9. Helpful (6)

    "Antiquated Mindset- Lack of Innovation"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chantilly, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Teaching Company full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Product and great customer base.

    Cons

    Promotions are based on nepotism, tenure, and being white instead of educational background, experience
    For an organization that promotes courses for well known professors - several members of the management staff lack advanced degrees - which contributes to poor quality service, accurate forecasting ,and marketing of new product.
    Lack of accountability -violation of confidentiality regarding personal records.
    Lack of diversity for people of color in frontline management-senior management positions.
    Pay is lacking for the many hats they like to place on you.
    Management staff writes there reviews- if you are the right color this is the perfect job for you, if you are a well educated minority- brace your self for unnecessary challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Stop making excusing and promote people of color beyond entry level positions. EEOC means all opportunity to advance within your organization based on experience and educational background. The best player on the team not the person who has been there the longest- your customers deserve it. Please stop posting your own reviews- your organization has cultural problems that should have already been addressed-no more lies and or excused about change coming- make it already! Teach your staff how to address differences of opinions without taking things personally -again lack of education and or experience in cultural diversity is the underlining cause of most of TGC issues. Have an outside legal counsel and EEOC representative review your hiring and promotion practices and updated accordingly

    The Teaching Company Response

    Oct 25, 2016 – The Teaching Company

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. This is not how The Teaching Company prides itself as an employer, and we're sorry if this was your experience. We take our work place ... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Hostile work environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chantilly, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Teaching Company full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great product. Great idea. Great customers. Great courses.
    Great place to work if you come in at executive-level.

    Cons

    - Executives and senior management are actively trying to fleece the company and repeatedly say they wish for a big payday and to retire.
    - Benefits have been repeatedly cut and are now sub-standard (good luck if you like the dentist!).
    - HR is useless and often replies with "it is what it is, you don't like it, leave"
    - The "old boys club" of management is now so large that most "managers" have only one direct report, and about 1/3 of managers have none. If you aren't in this "elite" group who does none of the actual work then you are not even seen as human.
    - Long work hours. Most employees work avg of 2500 - 3000 hours per year with no paid overtime (1800 is full-time)

    Advice to Management

    Advice to Management: Quit. All of you. The company was better off before you came

    The Teaching Company Response

    Oct 25, 2016 – The Teaching Company

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. This is not how The Teaching Company prides itself as an employer, and we're sorry if this was your experience. We take our work place ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Creative Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chantilly, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Teaching Company (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Colleagues are some of the best

    Cons

    Communication is only top down


Showing 24 of 51 reviews
Reset Filters